Help!!! Trying to unlock bootloader

Discussion in 'HTC Rezound Development' started by jchammer123, Jan 13, 2012.

  1. jchammer123
    Offline

    jchammer123 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2010
    Messages:
    940
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Houston
    Ok, so I go through all the steps on HTCdev.com. Once I get to the part where I type the command>fastboot oem get_identifier_token, its just sits there saying waiting on device. Does anyone know what I'm doing wrong????
  2. MrSmith317
    Offline

    MrSmith317 Moderator Premium Member

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2010
    Messages:
    1,577
    Likes Received:
    31
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Philadelphia
    Looks like you're coming from an X too...Well welcome to the dark side. Have a cookie.

    To your problem, do you have USB Debugging enabled, the phone in charge only mode and HTC sync disabled/removed on your PC? These are the most common ways to get that "waiting for device" message. If you have all of the above, unplug and re-plug in the phone.
  3. jchammer123
    Offline

    jchammer123 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2010
    Messages:
    940
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Houston
    I thought I was supposed to have HTC Sync installed for this to work?
  4. jchammer123
    Offline

    jchammer123 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2010
    Messages:
    940
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Houston
    Well, I tried all the things suggested above and still keep getting the waiting on device message. It's hard to find any other information on why I would be getting this message.
  5. macpro88
    Offline

    macpro88 DF Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2011
    Messages:
    1,400
    Likes Received:
    83
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Ohio
    Uninstall HTC Sync, there should be two entries in the applications window, one for the drivers and one for the sync, uninstall just the sync. and like Smith said, make sure you have USB debugging mode enabled.
  6. jchammer123
    Offline

    jchammer123 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2010
    Messages:
    940
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Houston
    You guys are awesome!!! I started the whole process over on my laptop instead and uninstalled sync only and that made all the difference. Thank you, now onto rooting this bad mamajama!
  7. macpro88
    Offline

    macpro88 DF Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2011
    Messages:
    1,400
    Likes Received:
    83
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Ohio
    Awesome! Glad you got it working!
  8. jchammer123
    Offline

    jchammer123 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2010
    Messages:
    940
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Houston
    Yup, and rooted. The rooting part was extremely simple!!!!!
  9. macpro88
    Offline

    macpro88 DF Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2011
    Messages:
    1,400
    Likes Received:
    83
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Ohio
    Simple when you don't have sync installed lol that also is a problem when sync is installed for some reason.
  10. jchammer123
    Offline

    jchammer123 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2010
    Messages:
    940
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Houston
    Exactly!!! Now to get this bloatware out of face.



    Sent from my ADR6425LVW using DroidForums
  11. macpro88
    Offline

    macpro88 DF Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2011
    Messages:
    1,400
    Likes Received:
    83
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Ohio
    HAHA, yeah, the bloat is a bit overboard, but hey, that's what ROOT and ROMs are for! Might I suggest first making a nandroid before touching anything just to tuck away for safe keeping. And there are some great ROM's that are still very much stock, but minus the bloat (or make it easier to remove more) and with their own tweaks makes the phone fast and snappy.
  12. jacrushar
    Offline

    jacrushar New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2012
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I am having the same problem with unlocking the bootloader on my Rezound and I have tried everything that has been said here so far at least twice. Anyone have anymore advice?
  13. MrSmith317
    Offline

    MrSmith317 Moderator Premium Member

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2010
    Messages:
    1,577
    Likes Received:
    31
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Philadelphia
    Where are you stuck?
  14. jacrushar
    Offline

    jacrushar New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2012
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Right after I type "fastboot oem get_identifier_token" into the command prompt, it just says <waiting for device> I have tried this with the phone on the white fastboot screen, as well as on with USB debugging on. I have uninstalled and reinstalled htc syc and the drivers to make sure they were installed correctly and then uninstalled just htc sync by itself and still no luck.
  15. MrSmith317
    Offline

    MrSmith317 Moderator Premium Member

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2010
    Messages:
    1,577
    Likes Received:
    31
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Philadelphia
    This has to be done on the fastboot screen. Make sure the screen says "Fastboot USB" Also check your device manager(If you're on windows). Sometimes the device doesn't show up properly. You should see it as an HTC ADB Device.
  16. jacrushar
    Offline

    jacrushar New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2012
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    The device manager says Android ADB interface under Android Phone. Gave it another go on the fastboot screen, still <Waiting for device>. Sorry in advance if there is something stupid I am missing.
  17. MrSmith317
    Offline

    MrSmith317 Moderator Premium Member

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2010
    Messages:
    1,577
    Likes Received:
    31
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Philadelphia
    Only other thing I can think of is if HTC sync is running on your PC. Depending on which USB drivers you installed you may have HTC sync. If you do, you can either uninstall it or kill it. Check your system tray for HTC Sync.
  18. jacrushar
    Offline

    jacrushar New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2012
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I have done the process both with htc sync installed but having it killed in the system tray, and again after uninstalling it. This thing just won't give up the identifier token.
  19. MrSmith317
    Offline

    MrSmith317 Moderator Premium Member

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2010
    Messages:
    1,577
    Likes Received:
    31
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Philadelphia
    Are you unplugging the phone in between attempts? This really could come down to whether or not the proper drivers are being utilized.
  20. jacrushar
    Offline

    jacrushar New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2012
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    yes I am. I have gone through and uninstalled htc sync and all the driver, reinstalled them all again and then uninstalled just htc sync again and made attempts inbetween each time unplugging the phone each time. Maybe it has something to do with the files?
Search tags for this page

fastboot oem get identifier token

,
fastboot oem get identifier token failed
,
fastboot oem get identifier token waiting
,

fastboot oem get identifier token waiting for device

,
fastboot oem get identifier token waiting on device
,
fastboot oem get identifier token.
,
fastboot oem get identifier token. waiting for device
,
get identifier token
,
get identifier token waiting for device
,
htc unlock bootloader waiting for device
,
oem get identifier token
,
unlock bootloader waiting for device