HELP! :( Tried flashing my first ROM, now screwed.

Discussion in 'Android Tech Support' started by dtboos, Aug 11, 2010.

  1. dtboos

    dtboos Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2009
    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Ok so I've been rooted for a few days, and only really did it for the ability to do backups (nandroid) and take screenshots.

    Well I decided to try a Cyanogen mod ROM today, and well it didn't go too well. I used ROM Manager, and went and created a Nandroid backup and all that good stuff before hand just in case.

    Well the ROM flash didn't go well it wont boot up (wont even do the boot animation). And on top of that I have no nandroid option in my recovery anylonger so I am starting to lose it. This is my business phone so I really hope somebody can help me here.

    I need to figure out how to get a different recovery loaded so I can load my Nandroid backup. OR I need to figure out how to flash something else, preferably stock android which ships with the N1 so I can at least boot the phone, and then run backups after that.

    The phone in question is a Nexus One, which was rooted via the UniversalAndroot one click method which supposedly does not unlock the boot loader.

    Any help would be greatly appreciated.

    Thanks

    *edit*
    oh yah, and I have the official Froyo update, but when trying to load it I get a status 7 error. AAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAA /calm
     
    #1 dtboos, Aug 11, 2010
    Last edited: Aug 11, 2010
  2. cereal killer

    cereal killer Administrator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2009
    Messages:
    11,397
    Likes Received:
    1,280
    Trophy Points:
    558
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    Ratings:
    +1,427
    Current Phone Model:
    Nokia Lumia Icon
    moved to the Rescue Squad area

    These guys are pro's and will get you on your feet.
     
  3. dtboos

    dtboos Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2009
    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Very frustrating. I have my nandroid & titanium backups but no way of installing / restoring them. Is my phone screwed? I cannot be without my phone so if its done for I will need to go buy one of ATT's crappy ass phones to make due.
     
  4. eliassami5

    eliassami5 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2009
    Messages:
    774
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Bay Area, Cali
    Ratings:
    +0
  5. dtboos

    dtboos Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2009
    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Was really hoping this would work. However, I notice this is all Verizon & Droid referenced. Will I have issues doing this on my N1?

    Tried this up until getting my phone into bootloader, and running the RSD Lite with the downloaded file. Nothing happens, and it looks like nothing is showing up below meaning my phone wont connect to this software.
     
    #5 dtboos, Aug 12, 2010
    Last edited: Aug 12, 2010
  6. dtboos

    dtboos Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2009
    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Ok so I have managed to flash RA recovery using superboot. From there, I was not able to load my backups which were made using the clockwork Rom Manager.

    However! I was able to unlock my boot loader (didnt want to have to do that but oh well), and install my cyanogen mod ROM successfully.

    So now I'm hoping I can restore things from here (really hoping I can reflash stock froyo). I'll keep you posted, and thank you for the attempts as I know its hard to do from somebody's descriptions.
     
  7. dtboos

    dtboos Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2009
    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    YAAAAAAHHHHHHHHH!!!!!

    Ok so I was able to find the clockwork ROM Manager online and emailed it to myself so I could install it on my phone which had no marketplace.

    Installed it and restored my backup. Its like I never did anything.

    That was nerve racking lol.