HELP THIS NOBE who lost his maps

Discussion in 'Android Hacks and Help' started by dfarrell151, Mar 2, 2010.

  1. dfarrell151

    dfarrell151 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2010
    Messages:
    70
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Shrewsbury Pa
    Ratings:
    +0
    HELP CAPTION NOBE LEG who lost his maps and needs to fined treasure

    HI i recently put droid mod 1.0 on my droid,some hoe i uninstall ed my maps and cant get them back from the market im pretty freaked.i recently used enta utility and then i had issues with my maps the market says i have them but i cant open them or download them,if any one could help[ me id appreciated it i figured i try the easy mod first to root
     
    #1 dfarrell151, Mar 2, 2010
    Last edited: Mar 2, 2010
  2. dfarrell151

    dfarrell151 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2010
    Messages:
    70
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Shrewsbury Pa
    Ratings:
    +0
    Also i wasa going to try to use dm updater and re flash but it says it do error cach/recovery/comand...file dose not exist
     
  3. dfarrell151

    dfarrell151 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2010
    Messages:
    70
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Shrewsbury Pa
    Ratings:
    +0
    help nobe fined his maps

    first sorry for posting in 2 places but im freaking out im using droid mod 1.0 and coustomeized it with metamorph with high res blue,black mod, and glasssesque,i love the look thanks to the guys who made it happen and the how to witch i read and reserched i even figured how to get the theme and the phone design i wanted, any way back to the matter at hand when i used ta utilaty to put some cach on sd card my map forced closed i red on the market to uninstall the maps clear the catch and reinstall. well i cant get it back! futhermore when i made a mistake in the past in the options to include in droid mod one i re flashed and fixed them then i did the whole theme if i wer to re flash would my theme still be there? and it wont allow me to reflash if i use dm updater to re flash and start over it says

    sh; line /cache/recovery/comand; no such file or directory
    i usulay reserch first but no luck,the reason i was going to re flash was there was an option if you r having map fc.
     
  4. Backnblack

    Backnblack Premium Member
    Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    11,261
    Likes Received:
    24
    Trophy Points:
    453
    Ratings:
    +24
    Current Phone Model:
    iPhone 7+ 256gb
    Please Don't Cross Post....

    Sounds like time for a Hard Reset and starting over....
    I personally would stay away from the cache to sdcard apps unless you have a class 6 sdcard.
     
  5. dfarrell151

    dfarrell151 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2010
    Messages:
    70
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Shrewsbury Pa
    Ratings:
    +0
    is that the only way? what if i re downloaded droid mod and take the old file out of my sd card?then try to re flash i belive it had maps in it how ever i could be wrong
     
  6. christim

    christim Super Moderator
    Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2010
    Messages:
    5,100
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    153
    Location:
    New England
    Ratings:
    +2
    dmupdater is supposed to be the easiest fastest way to root your phone and apply a rom. A couple of clicks and 10 minutes later you are done. You already have he tool just go and apply it. From your first post until now....you'd be done.

    If you can take the droid mod rom file and open it up and take out the exact file you need and add it to your current rom with he correct permissions and not hose something else then you are braver than I.

    You also can wait for a few more folks to wake up. Give it a couple of hours to see what sorts of responses you get to your OP. Good luck!
     
  7. dfarrell151

    dfarrell151 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2010
    Messages:
    70
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Shrewsbury Pa
    Ratings:
    +0
    k thanks ill see if any one had this prob b4 this was the first rom and it was easy i guese i got greedy with out knowalage and this is what i get, but thanks for the reply
     
  8. dfarrell151

    dfarrell151 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2010
    Messages:
    70
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Shrewsbury Pa
    Ratings:
    +0
    dmupdater wont let me re apply the rom should i download it agen? i dont think i should
     
  9. Froodychick

    Froodychick Member

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2009
    Messages:
    45
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    PA
    Ratings:
    +0
    Backnblack gives good advice, I'd go for the hard reset.
     
  10. dfarrell151

    dfarrell151 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2010
    Messages:
    70
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Shrewsbury Pa
    Ratings:
    +0
    ya thats what im going to do backed some apps up with astro or do u think that is a bad idea could a croupt file attach it self? so it the hard reset the factory reset wipe catch clean in spr recoyery? should i un root first? im better if some one holds my hand like the a** i am un till i learn just dont wana f my phone i thamk you for all yore help and concern on my issue with out treating me like im stupid and i now i need to reserch i wanted to root the reg way and i understand the concept just some people hav diffrent methodes i get confused im not the type to ask 4 help unless i relly need it i think my confidence is lost how do u lose ure map,embarsing if aney one can lend futher insight into hard reset (im preaty sure and im going to reserch) but i wana have every thing done be fore my son gets off school cuz i got a couple hrs then off i go
    sorry so long
     
    #10 dfarrell151, Mar 2, 2010
    Last edited: Mar 2, 2010
  11. jstafford1

    jstafford1 Super Moderator
    Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2009
    Messages:
    11,336
    Likes Received:
    1,667
    Trophy Points:
    573
    Location:
    Hebron, Oh.
    Ratings:
    +1,809
    Twitter:
    jstaff79
    Try this....power off phone, open keyboard press and hold "x" and press and hold power button until "m" logo comes up. This boots you into sprecovery. Highlight backup/restore...hit camera button...highlight advanced nandroid restore...hit camera button...choose backup...then you will pick one called preinstalledBDS(something or other) click that, then perform restore...when that's done hit power button until you can choose reboot. This will take you to before you applied DM 1.0. You are rooted still. Then try running dmupdater again. This time no cache to sdcard apps. See if this help. You will have to retheme it, but don't be affraid to make a mistake. With a nandroid backup you can always go back. Let us know how things go.
     
  12. dfarrell151

    dfarrell151 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2010
    Messages:
    70
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Shrewsbury Pa
    Ratings:
    +0
    fixed and no hard reset when un root my maps where their i took the rom out of my sd card downloaded and re root no maps went back to stock maps then i selected fc issues while installing the rom there was the answer i miss read it -menu-settings-applications-manage apps-filter-all-then while holding the phone in landscape i saw what had to be uninstalled to let me re install maps com. google.(something).maps uninstalled went to market and it let me install Google maps!!!!!