HELP! Think I messed up my droid!!

Discussion in 'Android General Discussions' started by jrl9851, Jan 1, 2010.

  1. jrl9851
    Offline

    jrl9851 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2009
    Messages:
    709
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I had 6 updates available in the market so I started downloaded them one after another instead of waiting for one to finish. Well, the phone froze so I had to shut it down and turn it back off. Now when I turn the phone back on it is still really slow and I get an error telling me to force close "activity home." Now I can't do anything. I keep restarting the phone and same thing!
  2. Redls1bird
    Offline

    Redls1bird New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2009
    Messages:
    67
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    see if you can get to your settings screen, and manage apps. remove the apps that you updated and restart. re-install them one by one. hopefully that works. If you cant do that, i would suggest googling for droid in safe mode. You could remove the apps that way if needed.
  3. huskur
    Offline

    huskur Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2009
    Messages:
    1,868
    Likes Received:
    31
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Lower Delaware
    worst case scenario all you have to do is a hard reset to factory setting and start over
  4. jrl9851
    Offline

    jrl9851 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2009
    Messages:
    709
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0

    That seems to have fixed it! Thanks!

    Question: What does "cache" mean? When I went into the manage apps it had the option to clear cache on each app I opened and it started running faster when I cleared it. Is there anyway to keep cache cleared all the time?
  5. rayswift
    Offline

    rayswift New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2009
    Messages:
    52
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I had the exact same problem. U have that antivirus app? If so uninstall it. I did and everythings fine. Don't format!
  6. Guchi
    Offline

    Guchi New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2009
    Messages:
    1,074
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    when in doubt do a battery pull then if that dosnt work uninstall apps in question and re-install. like huskur said worst case you start from scratch
  7. jrl9851
    Offline

    jrl9851 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2009
    Messages:
    709
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0

    Haha that's funny because I think the antivirus app was giving me the problem!
  8. Redls1bird
    Offline

    Redls1bird New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2009
    Messages:
    67
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    A cache is "stored information" . It could be any information that is stored for faster loading of apps/pictures, or it could be previously entered text. Clearing it would save space, but unless your in short supply, i would just leave it alone.
  9. charrry
    Offline

    charrry New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2009
    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    Can I ask why should we uninstall the antivirus App? Do you know for a fact that it slows the phone down? And is it safe not to have it? Thanks
  10. SuGaR
    Offline

    SuGaR New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2009
    Messages:
    85
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    Based on the reactions I have seen from 25+ members about the anti virus, it is defiantly the anti virus that is causing the problems. Personally I think you will be fine without the antivirus, but just like the internet on the computer, watch there you navigate to and what emails you open. Just use caution till they get a fix for the anti virus.
  11. windstrings
    Offline

    windstrings New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2009
    Messages:
    1,332
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Central Texas
    If it ain't broke don't fix it.... until you start seeing reports of virus's on the Droid.... why put something on that micromanages every movement......?...... I see that as tons of potential for error.
  12. jrl9851
    Offline

    jrl9851 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2009
    Messages:
    709
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    My phone runs a LOT faster since I uninstalled that antivirus program.
  13. rayswift
    Offline

    rayswift New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2009
    Messages:
    52
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    according to the verizon tech that posts on here, there is no need for an anti virus program for the droid.
  14. Martin030908
    Offline

    Martin030908 DF Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2009
    Messages:
    8,805
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I do not believe that there are even any known viruses on the Android platform.
  15. bllarkin
    Offline

    bllarkin New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2009
    Messages:
    220
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Phoenix, AZ
    Because of the Linux base (much like Mac OS X with it's Unix base), it is tougher to infect an OS like Android. Antivirus programs will always slow down the machine they are on because every time a file is accessed, the antivirus program scans it before the OS does whatever action it was going to do.
  16. Atook
    Offline

    Atook New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    71
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    which antivirus?

    I was running into some weirdness that cleared up after I uninstalled Lookout Mobile Security
  17. jgmarto
    Offline

    jgmarto New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009
    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    I also had a lot of problems with Anti-Virus. Once I uninstalled it, my droid ran fine. :motdroidvert:
  18. Laurence5905
    Offline

    Laurence5905 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2009
    Messages:
    324
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Mableton, Georgia, USA
    This is 100% correct. The Droid is basically a Linux computer. All Android phones are. Virus protection is really not needed because of the way administrative tasks are handled by the OS. If you haven't rooted your phone, there's almost zero chance of you getting a virus. Even a rooted Droid has far less chance of being infected than your Windows PC does.

    About the only way I can see getting a virus of any sort is deliberately downloading malicious software from the Market -- and the Market, as open as it is, is still secured enough to keep malware away. And even if malware did slip through, it wouldn't be long before it was discovered by the users and reported.
  19. SandsUSA
    Offline

    SandsUSA New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2009
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I don't know a lot about linux, but is an AV product even effective without being installed as a root process? Same with virus's (or probably more likely, a worm)?
Search tags for this page

android hornyworm

,
does lookout mess up your phone
,
droid razor saft mode mean?
,

i think the app queep messed my phone up

,
lookout app meesed up my phone
,
lookout messed up android
,

what does safe mode mean on my android phone

,
what kind of apps can i uninstall without messing my android up