HELP SS 4.3 no work for me.

Discussion in 'ChevyNo1' started by hrdnhvy, Jul 2, 2010.

  1. hrdnhvy
    Offline

    hrdnhvy New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2010
    Messages:
    613
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    WI
    Ive always had great luck with chevy kernels so decided to come over from bb froyo to ss froyo, using rom manager, wiped data & cache, everything seemed to dwnload ok but when ph goes to final rebot it gets stuck looping back & forth between droid logo & fancy blue boot animation, just keeps looping between the two....any ideas?
  2. Tornado Rex
    Offline

    Tornado Rex New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2010
    Messages:
    118
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Which kernel are you using?
  3. JBPruitt
    Offline

    JBPruitt New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2010
    Messages:
    144
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Spokane, WA
    Sounds like the kernel to me...

    I had a little hickup on one of my coworkers phones once... all I did was change the kernel from a 1.0GHz to the 1.2GHz... it still ran at 1.0... but for some reason his phone liked the other kernel better...

    I would try changing the kernel either to a different frequency kernel, or a different voltage...

    most likely the voltage is the culprit
  4. hrdnhvy
    Offline

    hrdnhvy New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2010
    Messages:
    613
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    WI
    kernel

    I believe i selected chevys low voltage 800mhz....Ill give it a shot with the med v kernel.
  5. hrdnhvy
    Offline

    hrdnhvy New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2010
    Messages:
    613
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    WI
    No Luck

    Still no luck, tried low & med voltage chevy kernels & one of jdlfg kernels, still boot loops between droid logo & blue boot animation....thank god for nandroid...
  6. JBPruitt
    Offline

    JBPruitt New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2010
    Messages:
    144
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Spokane, WA
    I would erase all of your newly downloaded roms, patches, and themes (if you have them) off of the root of your sd card and re-download them...

    then retry the update, and see what that does...

    You might also try flashing between spr and clockwork if that's what you're doing just to get a good flash on there of your recovery...

    I had gotten for some reason a corrupted flash one time that put me in a spot kind of like yours... but i think it's an unrelated issue...

    Hope this helps :)
  7. hrdnhvy
    Offline

    hrdnhvy New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2010
    Messages:
    613
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    WI
    Thanks

    Thanks for the ideas to try, its late now & Im off to bed, will try more troubleshooting tomorrow.
  8. FSRBIKER
    Offline

    FSRBIKER New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2009
    Messages:
    645
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Oak Ridge, NJ
    Happened to me as well with the boot loops, I booted into recovery myself and then clicked install zip from SD card. Go to clockwork, downloads and look for a folder blue.macleod.... and choose to install the zip file inside.
  9. Larry_ThaGr81
    Offline

    Larry_ThaGr81 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2010
    Messages:
    1,030
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Hesperia
    I wish I could go to sleep with my phone not running the way I want it to. I don't know how he is able to do it, especially going into the weekend.
  10. Fulle
    Offline

    Fulle New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2010
    Messages:
    66
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Hey OP, you said you were trying multiple kernels, but didn't say what the lows are on em'. Chevy's ROMs will allow a 125MHz low, but that's unstable for some people. If it works, it means you get amazing idle battery life, but some people's phones just can't do it.... If you're running 800MHz 7 slot kernels, a lot of devs have those w/ 125MHz lows, and that might be the problem.

    As a suggestion, try something like Chevy's 1GHz low voltage kernel.
    Last edited: Jul 4, 2010
  11. Fulle
    Offline

    Fulle New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2010
    Messages:
    66
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    @Larry

    True that man, I can't sleep if I know my theme didn't skin everything correctly, if I was in a boot loop, I'd have nightmares if I didn't fix it first!
  12. razgueado
    Offline

    razgueado New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2010
    Messages:
    56
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Are you sure it's truly looping? I've loaded 4.3 half a dozen times now, and almost every time, I think it's in a loop on first boot. I've learned to give it more time, and it's always booted eventually and run fine after that.

    Another thing to try is to fully load 4.3 with it's stock kernel before flashing another kernel. In other words,don't try to do the ROM and a kernel, or anything else, at the same time. Do the ROM, make sure it's working, then flash the other stuff.



    Sent from my 'Simply Stunning' Droid using Tapatalk
  13. dr0idg0d23
    Offline

    dr0idg0d23 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2010
    Messages:
    296
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Akron, Ohio
  14. Coolsaber57
    Offline

    Coolsaber57 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2010
    Messages:
    347
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
  15. dr0idg0d23
    Offline

    dr0idg0d23 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2010
    Messages:
    296
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Akron, Ohio
    Its not spamming the thread stupid. I posted a link to an already stable nandroid backup of 4.3 and if you werent a moron you would notice that in the thread I linked to, there is a link to chevy's original thread. Some opinions you should keep to yourself. But its nice to see a junior droid that wants to try and start trouble. I can't believe you used one of your whole 13 posts to try and start trouble with someone, maybe you should do a little research into my past posts before you judge.
  16. cereal killer
    Offline

    cereal killer DF Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2009
    Messages:
    11,073
    Likes Received:
    707
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    come on guys..get along.

    don't make me put on my riot gear and toss tear gas in here.

    Thanks
  17. dr0idg0d23
    Offline

    dr0idg0d23 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2010
    Messages:
    296
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Akron, Ohio
    Sorry, it just irritates me when someone new to the forum decides to bad mouth me without having a clue but, whatever he wants to say now he can no need for me to have a rebuttal, I think I've gotten my point across.
  18. Coolsaber57
    Offline

    Coolsaber57 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2010
    Messages:
    347
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Wow, grow up. Post count doesn't mean anything. Take a look at who joined this forum first ;)

    Sorry, I'll behave :)

    The only person I see that bad mouthed anyone here is you. I was called "stupid" and "a moron". My "newness" to the forum has no bearing on my experience with modding my phone or anything else.
  19. frankieg22x
    Offline

    frankieg22x New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2009
    Messages:
    287
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Why do you have a paypal link in your sig for people to donate to you??

    Especially when its highlighted as SS4.3...
  20. dr0idg0d23
    Offline

    dr0idg0d23 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2010
    Messages:
    296
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Akron, Ohio
    I had a paypal link there before and when I deleted it and replaced it with what I'm using on my phone for some reason that part turned into the paypal link. I didnt even notice until you pointed it out and I clicked on it to verify. All fixed now