Help rooting DX (2.2 Update) and ROM's

skyfire322

Reaction score
Before I get into detail, I want to let you know that I am a noob. So if I'm in the wrong section, my apologies.

First, I have been thinking about rooting my DX (it has the Froyo 2.2 update). I'm quite hesitant about because I've heard many horror stories about the phone bricking. I did notice that there is an app for one touch rooting.
droid-x-root.jpg

Has anyone used this and been successful? Note: I would like to overclock my phone and tether it.

My other question is what are ROM's? The only ROM's I know of are for video game emulators heh heh.

mwhartman

Super Moderator/RS
Premium Member
Reaction score
I have rooted Droid so I'm unable to comment so I'll try to get your post to the X hacking section where other X users will view and comment.

Mike

Last edited:

luv2increase

Reaction score
Before I get into detail, I want to let you know that I am a noob. So if I'm in the wrong section, my apologies.

First, I have been thinking about rooting my DX (it has the Froyo 2.2 update). I'm quite hesitant about because I've heard many horror stories about the phone bricking. I did notice that there is an app for one touch rooting.
droid-x-root.jpg

Has anyone used this and been successful? Note: I would like to overclock my phone and tether it.

My other question is what are ROM's? The only ROM's I know of are for video game emulators heh heh.

Hmmm... Horror stories of the X bricking from rooting? I think you've been reading some tall tales I'm afraid.

We now have a full 2.2 OTA SBF. I don't believe there is a way for the DX to even be bricked at all whatsoever.

You would have to of damaged the hardware or something "physically" for it to be bricked anymore :icon_eek: