Help rooting Droid Razr 4.1.2?

Discussion in 'Droid RAZR Hacks' started by CarrierX, Dec 26, 2012.

  1. Just4sc

    Just4sc New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2011
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    SoCal
    Ratings:
    +0
    I think if you FB Restored 211 all you need to run is the Root ICS 4.0.4 menu item since you are still on the ICS ROM. You might want to try 1.80 of the Droid RAZR Utility if 1.82 isn't working (rootingwise). I read in another forum/post that the 1.8 roots better. Don't know why. That's what I used to get back to rooted stock 211 before I OTA'd to JB.
     
    Last edited: Jan 2, 2013
  2. djnolo

    djnolo Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2011
    Messages:
    50
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    The problem is is that when I FB to restored 211 I power off then reboot but my MAXX shows the Red "M" and then goes black. I probably could work backwards to a root if I can get it to boot up in ICS 211.
     
  3. Just4sc

    Just4sc New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2011
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    SoCal
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hmmm...at this point I think you have nothing to lose and just try FB 211 Restore again but with the 1.80 version of the Utility...at least that's what I would do. Good luck!
     
  4. lilmc1428

    lilmc1428 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2012
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Pittston,PA
    Ratings:
    +0
    Did you FB from 4.1.2 to 4.0.4?
     
  5. Just4sc

    Just4sc New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2011
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    SoCal
    Ratings:
    +0
    Wait...so you were in JB but then tried FB 211 Restore? So it was booting up in JB before you FB 211 Restore? I didn't think the FB 211 Restore would even take if you were in JB. Did you do a hard reset (PWR+VOL_DWN) after the blank screen?
     
  6. lilmc1428

    lilmc1428 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2012
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Pittston,PA
    Ratings:
    +0
    that's what I was thinking.if that is what he did.he may be stuck for now.i don't think you can go back to ics after installing this leak
     
  7. Just4sc

    Just4sc New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2011
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    SoCal
    Ratings:
    +0
    Yeah...there's no going back to ICS from JB..just like you can't go back to GB from ICS. So, he/she just need to try what you and I have been posting...only if he/she is able to boot back into JB....
     
  8. lilmc1428

    lilmc1428 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2012
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Pittston,PA
    Ratings:
    +0
    That's what I took from the first post. not sure if it's correct or not,but it sounds to me like that is what he/she did(forgot the she last time.My bad)
     
  9. lilmc1428

    lilmc1428 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2012
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Pittston,PA
    Ratings:
    +0
    Maybe if you can get into the stock recovery you can try to re-install JB
     
  10. Just4sc

    Just4sc New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2011
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    SoCal
    Ratings:
    +0
    That would be worth a try. If he/she is seeing the M logo I think the stock recovery (PWR+VOL_UP+VOL_DWN) should be available.
     
  11. lilmc1428

    lilmc1428 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2012
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Pittston,PA
    Ratings:
    +0
    I think you're right.it should be available.I know I've bricked before and got the same results and was able to access the bootloader,but I can't remember if I tried to get into the stock recovery.
     
  12. djnolo

    djnolo Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2011
    Messages:
    50
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Yeah I tried to go back to ics using utility 1.80 also. I think I'm just stuck in jb with no root for now.
     
  13. lilmc1428

    lilmc1428 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2012
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Pittston,PA
    Ratings:
    +0
    At least you have a working phone. Probably won't be too long until they come up with the JB root

    Sent from my DROID RAZR using my thumbs
     
  14. djnolo

    djnolo Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2011
    Messages:
    50
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Yeah I'm gambling on that. I read other forums about the same issue, and many other RAZR owners did not back up the SU binary correctly and lost their root capabilities. So I guess I have to wait and search for other help forums and updates.

    No MAXXation without representation!
     
  15. Just4sc

    Just4sc New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2011
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    SoCal
    Ratings:
    +0
    If you are somewhat familiar with the Linux/Android command line I would suggest that you go into ADB Shell and snoop around and see if you can find a copy of su-backup somewhere in the systems folder. Check the permissions and if it's 7XX then I would try Matt's script manually as I had done (mentioned in my previous post, #55 - I think). Nothing wasted except a little time...and you may be pleasantly surprised. Good luck!
     
Search tags for this page
droid razr root 4.1.2
,

how to root droid razr 4.1.2

,
how to root droid razr maxx 4.1.2
,
how to root motorola razr 4.1.2
,
how to root razr maxx 4.1.2
,
motomizer
,
root 4.1.2 razr
,

root droid razr 4.1.2

,
root files for razr 4.1.2
,

root razr 4.1.2