Help rooting Droid Razr 4.1.2?

Discussion in 'Droid RAZR Hacks' started by CarrierX, Dec 26, 2012.

  1. enkryptik
    Offline

    enkryptik Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    66
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Push works outside of adb shell though. At least did for myself and foxkat. Device offline is within adb shell

    Sent from my DROID RAZR using Tapatalk 2
     
  2. YelloEye
    Offline

    YelloEye Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2012
    Messages:
    65
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +4
    Not sure how to remount as RW. Something I just noticed, my /sdcard/ and /sdcard-ext/ are empty when connected. Thinking it has something to do with being connected as mass storage. Does it need to be in a different mode?

    Pushing SU outside of shell gets me a permission denied error.

    Here's what I have on the phone now. SU binary is 3.0.3.2, updating it now.Fails to gain root.
    [​IMG][​IMG]

    Did these commands
    Code:
    adb shell "su -c 'cp /system/bin/su /system/xbin/su'"
    adb shell "su -c 'chmod 6755 /system/xbin/su'"
    adb shell "su -c 'chmod 644 /system/app/Superuser.apk'"
    Didn't help any, at this point I'm just punching in commands blindly. I sort of understand what the above commands will do. The next command in that utility calls for SU to be deleted out of /system/bin, thought that was odd. If I reboot and do a SU ID command it returns with a 0 but I still can't update my SU binary or any other actual root commands.

    Going to lunch, I'll think more after I eat something.
     
    Last edited: Dec 30, 2012
  3. enkryptik
    Offline

    enkryptik Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    66
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Yeah I don't think you want mass storage mode. You should be able to push to SD card, not to system. One in adb shell, mount as read write with commands in this thread then cp from sdcard to system areas.

    Sent from my DROID RAZR using Tapatalk 2
     
  4. YelloEye
    Offline

    YelloEye Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2012
    Messages:
    65
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +4
    Got it. Turns out you can't be in Mass Storage mode when running the root fixer. http://www.batakang.com/ftp/DROID_RAZR/RestoreRoot.zip

    Switched to MTP and ran FixRoot, problem solved!

    Another question though, it installed SuperSU 0.99 instead of 3.1.1 regular SU. Should I keep SuperSU or the regular one? I'm not even sure about the difference.

    entitlement_check for hotspot is value 66 now.
     
    Last edited: Dec 30, 2012
  5. enkryptik
    Offline

    enkryptik Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    66
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Not 66 on mine. And yes mass storage disconnects storage from phone while connected. Used to be a dual mount app awhile back. Not sure if it still works.

    As far as su, unless something isn't working correctly, don't really need to change.

    Sent from my DROID RAZR using Tapatalk 2
     
  6. lilmc1428
    Offline

    lilmc1428 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2012
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Pittston,PA
    Ratings:
    +0
    I just tried the instructions and they worked perfectly for me.i finally have root again.THANK YOU!!!!!!
     
  7. enkryptik
    Offline

    enkryptik Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    66
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    I assume you used Matt's batch? Cuz seems like my method doesn't work for everyone or perhaps I got lucky with mine.


    Sent from my DROID RAZR using Tapatalk 2
     
  8. lilmc1428
    Offline

    lilmc1428 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2012
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Pittston,PA
    Ratings:
    +0
    I used the commands listed by enkryptic on page 2 I think it was.i couldn't get matt's batch to run for some reason
     
  9. lilmc1428
    Offline

    lilmc1428 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2012
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Pittston,PA
    Ratings:
    +0
    sorry I wasn't paying attention.i used your intructions
     
  10. Just4sc
    Offline

    Just4sc New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2011
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    SoCal
    Ratings:
    +0
    I got root by using the files you listed but running a slightly different set of commands. I initially thought that I did not have the su-backup file but while poking around I found it in the system folder (this is the most important piece!). I looked at Matt's script and stripped out the things that worked for me. I had thought earlier that even if you had a copy of the su-backup you still needed root to get it to work. I was wrong. Looking at the permission settings of su-backup in the system folder I noticed that the backup file has the same rights as the su file. So here are the commands that I used from Matt's script (some may not be needed but...) (fyi - I'm on Windows 7 Ultimate and ran Windows command prompt with administrator privileges: (for all instances of /system/su-backup you'll need to substitute where your copy of su-backup is - IE. if it's in /system/usr/ you'll use /system/usr/su-backup instead

    adb kill-server > nul
    adb start-server > nul
    ping 1.1.1.1 -n 1 -w 500 > nul
    adb wait-for-device devices > nul
    adb shell "/system/su-backup -c 'mount -o rw,remount -t ext4 /dev/block/system /system'"
    adb shell "/system/su-backup -c 'cp /system/su-backup /system/bin/su'"
    adb shell "/system/su-backup -c 'chmod 6755 /system/bin/su'"

    I then tested to see if I have su rights by going into adb shell and running "su":

    adb shell
    su

    If you do not get any errors and just the shell prompt then that should mean that you have su rights. Then I did the following:

    su -c 'cp /sdcard/su /system/xbin/su'
    su -c 'cp /sdcard/Superuser.apk /system/app/Superuser.apk'
    su -c 'chmod 6755 /system/xbin/su'
    su -c 'chmod 644 /system/app/Superuser.apk' <----- I didn't do this but probably should
    su -c 'rm /system/bin/su' <----- I didn't do this but probably should - some with more knowledge please let me know why this should be done - thx!
    exit
    exit
    adb reboot

    Or you can do it in the Windows Command line (dos prompt):

    adb shell "su -c 'cp /sdcard/su /system/xbin/su'"
    adb shell "su -c 'cp /sdcard/Superuser.apk /system/app/Superuser.apk'"
    adb shell "su -c 'chmod 6755 /system/xbin/su'"
    adb shell "su -c 'chmod 644 /system/app/Superuser.apk'"
    adb shell "su -c 'rm /system/bin/su'"
    adb reboot


    After rebooting I ran my voodoo OTA and it asked for superuser rights and in voodoo it says that I have root and root privileges.

    Hope this helps!!!

    EDIT: Forgot to add that I copied the files su and Superuser.apk using ES Explorer to the root of my internal sdcard. Oh, and "Thanks" Matt!!!
     
    Last edited: Jan 4, 2013
  11. spc_hicks09
    Offline

    spc_hicks09 Premium Member Premium Member Developer

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2010
    Messages:
    1,157
    Likes Received:
    34
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Marion, OH
    Ratings:
    +34
    Current Phone Model:
    Samsung Galaxy S3
    Twitter:
    spc_hicks09
  12. Just4sc
    Offline

    Just4sc New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2011
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    SoCal
    Ratings:
    +0
    If you read through some of the posts you'll find that we did but it didn't work. However, using pieces of his scripts does fix the issue so that's why we've stripped out only the commands that worked for us - along with slight modifications when needed.
     
  13. spc_hicks09
    Offline

    spc_hicks09 Premium Member Premium Member Developer

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2010
    Messages:
    1,157
    Likes Received:
    34
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Marion, OH
    Ratings:
    +34
    Current Phone Model:
    Samsung Galaxy S3
    Twitter:
    spc_hicks09
    Ah gotchya, didn't read all that.
     
  14. lilmc1428
    Offline

    lilmc1428 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2012
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Pittston,PA
    Ratings:
    +0
    the only thing I did was download the superuser.apk and su to desktop and move them to the folder adb is in.Then ran the commands
    adb shell
    su if you don't get the # sign here it will not work.
    exit
    exit
    adb push su /sdcard/
    adb push superuser.apk /sdcard/
    adb shell
    su
    cp /sdcard/su /system/bin/
    cp /sdcard/superuser.apk /system/app/
    then rebooted, ran voodoo and it asked for su permissions.then ran root check to make sure and all was good.
    I'm not sure if this will work for anyone else.That's just what I did,but all apps that need root permissions are working and android tether is working.
     
    Last edited: Jan 2, 2013
  15. djnolo
    Offline

    djnolo Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2011
    Messages:
    50
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Will the Windows version of RestoreRoot work even if I wiped my Root when I tried to Fastboot Restore 6.16.211 again in Droid RAZR Utility 1.82? I was 1/2 rooted after I flashed JB but now no Root at all!!:angry:
     
Search tags for this page
droid razr root 4.1.2
,

how to root droid razr 4.1.2

,
how to root droid razr maxx 4.1.2
,
how to root motorola razr 4.1.2
,
how to root razr maxx 4.1.2
,
motomizer
,
root 4.1.2 razr
,

root droid razr 4.1.2

,
root files for razr 4.1.2
,

root razr 4.1.2