Help rooting Droid Razr 4.1.2?

Discussion in 'Droid RAZR Hacks' started by CarrierX, Dec 26, 2012.

  1. blakeslee14

    blakeslee14 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2010
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    it does fail trying to update.....

    after i type adb shell... i get shell@cdma_spyder.....i type su.... and i get shell@cdma_spyder... again

    not sure what that means....
     
  2. enkryptik

    enkryptik Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    66
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Does it have a $ or # after you type su?

    Sent from my DROID RAZR using Tapatalk 2
     
  3. blakeslee14

    blakeslee14 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2010
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    It is $
     
  4. YelloEye

    YelloEye Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2012
    Messages:
    65
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +4
    Found su-backup, sitting in /system/usr/we-need-root. No idea what to do from here.
     
  5. trishb

    trishb New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2012
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    If you're replying to me, nope, not this exact thread, but between the .215 classroom thread and another one in this forum. Shoot, the other was the one where Foxcat (I think) mentioned doing the root/unroot/save thing multiple times with Voodoo before proceeding with the jellybean install? Yeah, like I said I'm lame with Android.
     
  6. blakeslee14

    blakeslee14 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2010
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    well i was just screwing around last night trying to fix my phone which was "half" rooted, as i forgot to update the binaries.

    i downloaded this restore root for jelly bean program. i plugged my phone in, clicked the batch file, it started automatically. The program rebooted my phone once and presto it was fixed. It may be just more dumb luck than anything else. but oh well!
     
  7. enkryptik

    enkryptik Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    66
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    That's odd that nothing is consistent. Glad you have root though.

    Sent from my DROID RAZR using Tapatalk 2
     
  8. YelloEye

    YelloEye Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2012
    Messages:
    65
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +4
    Any luck last night?

    So here's my process, I can gain SU, I picked apart Matt's FixRoot batch file and used the commands one at a time to see what works, here's what I have so far:
    Code:
    adb kill-server > nul
    adb start-server > nul
    ping 1.1.1.1 -n 1 -w 500 > nul
    adb wait-for-device devices > nul
    adb shell "/system/usr/we-need-root/su-backup -c 'mount -o rw,remount -t ext4 /dev/block/system /system'" > nul
    adb shell "/system/usr/we-need-root/su-backup -c 'cp /system/usr/we-need-root/su-backup /system/bin/su'" > nul
    adb shell "/system/usr/we-need-root/su-backup -c 'chmod 6755 /system/bin/su'" > nul
    adb shell "/system/usr/we-need-root/su-backup -c 'rm /system/usr/we-need-root/su-backup'" > nul
    adb shell "su -c 'mount -o rw,remount -t ext4 /dev/block/system /system'"
    
    At this point in the batch file it calls for
    Code:
    adb push su /sdcard/su
    I still get a device offline error. If I "adb shell" I can run SU and get #root privileges but still can't get the device to be "online". Bit out of my depth at this point.
     
    Last edited: Dec 30, 2012
  9. enkryptik

    enkryptik Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    66
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    His batch goes beyond what I did including different file system it appears. If you get root privilege you should be able to remount system as read write though.

    Sent from my DROID RAZR using Tapatalk 2
     
  10. enkryptik

    enkryptik Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    66
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Push works outside of adb shell though. At least did for myself and foxkat. Device offline is within adb shell

    Sent from my DROID RAZR using Tapatalk 2
     
  11. YelloEye

    YelloEye Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2012
    Messages:
    65
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +4
    Not sure how to remount as RW. Something I just noticed, my /sdcard/ and /sdcard-ext/ are empty when connected. Thinking it has something to do with being connected as mass storage. Does it need to be in a different mode?

    Pushing SU outside of shell gets me a permission denied error.

    Here's what I have on the phone now. SU binary is 3.0.3.2, updating it now.Fails to gain root.
    [​IMG][​IMG]

    Did these commands
    Code:
    adb shell "su -c 'cp /system/bin/su /system/xbin/su'"
    adb shell "su -c 'chmod 6755 /system/xbin/su'"
    adb shell "su -c 'chmod 644 /system/app/Superuser.apk'"
    Didn't help any, at this point I'm just punching in commands blindly. I sort of understand what the above commands will do. The next command in that utility calls for SU to be deleted out of /system/bin, thought that was odd. If I reboot and do a SU ID command it returns with a 0 but I still can't update my SU binary or any other actual root commands.

    Going to lunch, I'll think more after I eat something.
     
    Last edited: Dec 30, 2012
  12. enkryptik

    enkryptik Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    66
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Yeah I don't think you want mass storage mode. You should be able to push to SD card, not to system. One in adb shell, mount as read write with commands in this thread then cp from sdcard to system areas.

    Sent from my DROID RAZR using Tapatalk 2
     
Search tags for this page
droid razr root 4.1.2
,

how to root droid razr 4.1.2

,
how to root droid razr maxx 4.1.2
,
how to root motorola razr 4.1.2
,
how to root razr maxx 4.1.2
,
motomizer
,
root 4.1.2 razr
,

root droid razr 4.1.2

,
root files for razr 4.1.2
,

root razr 4.1.2