Help rooting Droid Razr 4.1.2?

Discussion in 'Droid RAZR Hacks' started by CarrierX, Dec 26, 2012.

  1. YelloEye

    YelloEye Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2012
    Messages:
    65
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +4
    Device offline if I try to push there.

    I'm running CMD as admin and have ADB set to always run as admin so I don't think it's on the Windows end. Also if I try to push su to /sdcard/ from the command prompt I get a copy failed: Permission denied message.

    Currently have USB debugging on and connected as mass storage.

    I can LS all day around the file system, even checked /system/bin/ to look for SU, wasn't there. But I get the device offline if I try to push anything.

    That mount command gives me an operation not permitted error.
     
    #25 YelloEye, Dec 29, 2012
    Last edited: Dec 29, 2012
  2. enkryptik

    enkryptik Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    66
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    one more thing, as i was having trial and error. i tried orignally to root via droidrazr utility 1.82 and it did the several reboots but still had no root. then i tried those commands. i think maybe it could've given su over adb which may have allowed me to continue further. Problem is that I tried a million things til I finally got it working. I do seem to recall way back in early droid days that you could have su over adb but not on the device itself.
     
  3. YelloEye

    YelloEye Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2012
    Messages:
    65
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +4
    I'll wait to see what you guys figure out over the next couple of days, I won't have my laptop until Tuesday. Don't want to weigh down my girlfriend's machine anymore.
     
  4. FoxKat

    FoxKat Premium Member
    Premium Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2010
    Messages:
    14,841
    Likes Received:
    4,770
    Trophy Points:
    838
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    Ratings:
    +5,309
    Current Phone Model:
    Droid Turbo 2 & Galaxy S7
    enkryptik and I are going to give it another try on my PC, but right now I have multiple instances of ADB and they keep fighting for control. Can't push anything. I am trying to get rid of them and start clean.
     
  5. YelloEye

    YelloEye Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2012
    Messages:
    65
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +4
    Anxiously awaiting your results.
     
  6. enkryptik

    enkryptik Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    66
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    This process isn't going well. We followed same steps exactly to get jb which was stock ics, ics root, ota rootkeeper, protect root. jb update. Neither one of us did the temp unroot.
    Somehow mine is rooted after this and we cannot seem to reproduce this on FoxKat's atm.
     
  7. YelloEye

    YelloEye Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2012
    Messages:
    65
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +4
  8. enkryptik

    enkryptik Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    66
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Unless there is something that I did and completely forgot about which I don't think that's the case...I am stumped and this is driving me crazy.
     
  9. trishb

    trishb New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2012
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Wow! Thank you guys, so much.

    I've got a RAZR MAXX and was running .215 (from instruction here). Somehow I managed to cobble together the instructions (from here, again) on backing down to stock via the utility, and then I was able to load 4.1.2 while keeping root. Heck, I created an account to specifically thank you and everyone else for the instructions. So very sorry that yours got messed up!

    TrishB; okay with Windoze troubleshooting since 3.0, but Android, not so much.
     
  10. blakeslee14

    blakeslee14 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2010
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    i really hope you guys can figure this out. i have a similar issue. rootkeeper would not restore root after jb update. i have like a half rooted phone right now. super user is there but no root.

    that or someone comes out with an easy root method :) here's to hoping
     
  11. enkryptik

    enkryptik Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    66
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Wait, instructions from this exact thread? Because it worked for me but so far, haven't seen work for anyone else lol. I see that this thread's been viewed a lot and i got likes from it but no confirmation that it worked for them. I really am confused on what the problem is. :(
     
  12. enkryptik

    enkryptik Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    66
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    so you tried restore root from ota rootkeeper but no root?
    maybe try to update your superuser.apk from within the actual app which it should fail....
    adb shell
    su

    does it deny you su?
     
Search tags for this page
droid razr root 4.1.2
,

how to root droid razr 4.1.2

,
how to root droid razr maxx 4.1.2
,
how to root motorola razr 4.1.2
,
how to root razr maxx 4.1.2
,
motomizer
,
root 4.1.2 razr
,

root droid razr 4.1.2

,
root files for razr 4.1.2
,

root razr 4.1.2