Help rooting Droid Razr 4.1.2?

Discussion in 'Droid RAZR Hacks' started by CarrierX, Dec 26, 2012.

  1. YelloEye
    Offline

    YelloEye Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2012
    Messages:
    65
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +4
    Strange.
     
  2. enkryptik
    Offline

    enkryptik Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    66
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Unless there is something that I did and completely forgot about which I don't think that's the case...I am stumped and this is driving me crazy.
     
  3. trishb
    Offline

    trishb New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2012
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Wow! Thank you guys, so much.

    I've got a RAZR MAXX and was running .215 (from instruction here). Somehow I managed to cobble together the instructions (from here, again) on backing down to stock via the utility, and then I was able to load 4.1.2 while keeping root. Heck, I created an account to specifically thank you and everyone else for the instructions. So very sorry that yours got messed up!

    TrishB; okay with Windoze troubleshooting since 3.0, but Android, not so much.
     
  4. blakeslee14
    Offline

    blakeslee14 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2010
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    i really hope you guys can figure this out. i have a similar issue. rootkeeper would not restore root after jb update. i have like a half rooted phone right now. super user is there but no root.

    that or someone comes out with an easy root method :) here's to hoping
     
  5. enkryptik
    Offline

    enkryptik Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    66
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Wait, instructions from this exact thread? Because it worked for me but so far, haven't seen work for anyone else lol. I see that this thread's been viewed a lot and i got likes from it but no confirmation that it worked for them. I really am confused on what the problem is. :(
     
  6. enkryptik
    Offline

    enkryptik Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    66
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    so you tried restore root from ota rootkeeper but no root?
    maybe try to update your superuser.apk from within the actual app which it should fail....
    adb shell
    su

    does it deny you su?
     
  7. blakeslee14
    Offline

    blakeslee14 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2010
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    it does fail trying to update.....

    after i type adb shell... i get shell@cdma_spyder.....i type su.... and i get shell@cdma_spyder... again

    not sure what that means....
     
  8. enkryptik
    Offline

    enkryptik Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    66
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Does it have a $ or # after you type su?

    Sent from my DROID RAZR using Tapatalk 2
     
  9. blakeslee14
    Offline

    blakeslee14 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2010
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    It is $
     
  10. YelloEye
    Offline

    YelloEye Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2012
    Messages:
    65
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +4
    Found su-backup, sitting in /system/usr/we-need-root. No idea what to do from here.
     
  11. trishb
    Offline

    trishb New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2012
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    If you're replying to me, nope, not this exact thread, but between the .215 classroom thread and another one in this forum. Shoot, the other was the one where Foxcat (I think) mentioned doing the root/unroot/save thing multiple times with Voodoo before proceeding with the jellybean install? Yeah, like I said I'm lame with Android.
     
  12. blakeslee14
    Offline

    blakeslee14 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2010
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    well i was just screwing around last night trying to fix my phone which was "half" rooted, as i forgot to update the binaries.

    i downloaded this restore root for jelly bean program. i plugged my phone in, clicked the batch file, it started automatically. The program rebooted my phone once and presto it was fixed. It may be just more dumb luck than anything else. but oh well!
     
  13. enkryptik
    Offline

    enkryptik Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    66
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    That's odd that nothing is consistent. Glad you have root though.

    Sent from my DROID RAZR using Tapatalk 2
     
  14. YelloEye
    Offline

    YelloEye Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2012
    Messages:
    65
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +4
    Any luck last night?

    So here's my process, I can gain SU, I picked apart Matt's FixRoot batch file and used the commands one at a time to see what works, here's what I have so far:
    Code:
    adb kill-server > nul
    adb start-server > nul
    ping 1.1.1.1 -n 1 -w 500 > nul
    adb wait-for-device devices > nul
    adb shell "/system/usr/we-need-root/su-backup -c 'mount -o rw,remount -t ext4 /dev/block/system /system'" > nul
    adb shell "/system/usr/we-need-root/su-backup -c 'cp /system/usr/we-need-root/su-backup /system/bin/su'" > nul
    adb shell "/system/usr/we-need-root/su-backup -c 'chmod 6755 /system/bin/su'" > nul
    adb shell "/system/usr/we-need-root/su-backup -c 'rm /system/usr/we-need-root/su-backup'" > nul
    adb shell "su -c 'mount -o rw,remount -t ext4 /dev/block/system /system'"
    
    At this point in the batch file it calls for
    Code:
    adb push su /sdcard/su
    I still get a device offline error. If I "adb shell" I can run SU and get #root privileges but still can't get the device to be "online". Bit out of my depth at this point.
     
    Last edited: Dec 30, 2012
  15. enkryptik
    Offline

    enkryptik Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    66
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    His batch goes beyond what I did including different file system it appears. If you get root privilege you should be able to remount system as read write though.

    Sent from my DROID RAZR using Tapatalk 2
     
Search tags for this page
droid razr root 4.1.2
,

how to root droid razr 4.1.2

,
how to root droid razr maxx 4.1.2
,
how to root motorola razr 4.1.2
,
how to root razr maxx 4.1.2
,
motomizer
,
root 4.1.2 razr
,

root droid razr 4.1.2

,
root files for razr 4.1.2
,

root razr 4.1.2