Help rooting Droid Razr 4.1.2?

Discussion in 'Droid RAZR Hacks' started by CarrierX, Dec 26, 2012.

  1. YelloEye

    YelloEye Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2012
    Messages:
    65
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +4
    I'll have to make sure I do this when I get root back.
     
  2. nastybynature

    nastybynature New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Vancouver, WA
    Ratings:
    +0
    I need Wifi tether to get internet access on my Nexus 7. Can't USB tether with my tablet or I would use pdanet.
     
  3. enkryptik

    enkryptik Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    66
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    yeah but pdanet requires a program to be installed on pc and it also creates a strange network type. Wifi tether works straight out of the box with the wifi tether for root. I'd still change the entitlement check to 0 on that one though.
     
  4. nastybynature

    nastybynature New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Vancouver, WA
    Ratings:
    +0
    If I do this to get root, will I be able to revert back to bone stock in case I need to warranty replace my phone?
     
  5. Krenzy

    Krenzy Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2012
    Messages:
    264
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +5
    You can go back to stock but they will be able to tell it was rooted.
     
  6. FoxKat

    FoxKat Premium Member
    Premium Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2010
    Messages:
    14,808
    Likes Received:
    4,748
    Trophy Points:
    838
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    Ratings:
    +5,287
    Current Phone Model:
    Droid Turbo 2 & Galaxy S7
    This is great info and I am going to give it a run now! Thanks SOOOOO Much for posting this. You make this community that much better with your exploration and generosity. I'll let you know how it goes. Wish me luck! :biggrin:

    Update: I ran Command and ADB'd in. It found the Spyder, then I tried the Mount command, but it failed "Operation not permitted". How do I run Command in Admin mode>?

    Tried push su, ended with "error: device offline".
     
    #18 FoxKat, Dec 29, 2012
    Last edited: Dec 29, 2012
  7. enkryptik

    enkryptik Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    66
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Right click and goto properties. Somewhere should have run as admin box.
    When you enter su does it deny you?
     
  8. FoxKat

    FoxKat Premium Member
    Premium Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2010
    Messages:
    14,808
    Likes Received:
    4,748
    Trophy Points:
    838
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    Ratings:
    +5,287
    Current Phone Model:
    Droid Turbo 2 & Galaxy S7
    SU not found.
     
  9. YelloEye

    YelloEye Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2012
    Messages:
    65
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +4
    Perhaps something he did earlier setup something for root?
     
  10. enkryptik

    enkryptik Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    66
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    I had device offline before running as admin. I've verified that I had no su prior to doing this
     
  11. YelloEye

    YelloEye Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2012
    Messages:
    65
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +4
    I just tried his instructions as well, mine fails at the 2nd step with
    Code:
    /system/bin/sh: su: not found
    Won't let me push su anywhere giving me a
    Code:
    error: device offline
     
  12. enkryptik

    enkryptik Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    66
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    You should be able to at least push it to \sdcard\ as that's not a protected area.
     
Search tags for this page
droid razr root 4.1.2
,

how to root droid razr 4.1.2

,
how to root droid razr maxx 4.1.2
,
how to root motorola razr 4.1.2
,
how to root razr maxx 4.1.2
,
motomizer
,
root 4.1.2 razr
,

root droid razr 4.1.2

,
root files for razr 4.1.2
,

root razr 4.1.2