Help Rooting Droid 1 for wi fi

Discussion in 'Android Hacks and Help' started by dmaz481, Mar 8, 2011.

  1. dmaz481
    Offline

    dmaz481 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2011
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I have never "rooted" anything before. I recently got an ipad and would like to use its internet. How can i easily root this droid? It is the very first droid. I would like something simple and not complicated.
  2. gnychis
    Offline

    gnychis New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2011
    Messages:
    42
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    some people make the rooting list of instructions way too long and complicated, I think it's quite simple for the Droid1.

    1. Enable USB debugging
    2. Download rageagainstthecage
    3. adb push rageagainstthecage /sdcard
    4. adb shell
    5. cd /sdcard
    6. chmod 0775 rageagainstthecage
    7. ./rageagainstthecage (then wait for it to kick you out of the shell)
    8. adb shell (if you get a '#' prompt, you win! exit the shell now)
    9. Download superuser.apk
    10. adb install superuser.apk
  3. dmaz481
    Offline

    dmaz481 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2011
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    oh forgot to mention i am using a mac. Does it make a difference?
    what is abd?
  4. gnychis
    Offline

    gnychis New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2011
    Messages:
    42
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
  5. gnychis
    Offline

    gnychis New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2011
    Messages:
    42
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    btw - you could actually help me out a significant amount, if after you get 'adb' running you could run a command and give me the output. I have another thread on this asking for help. So if you could let me know when you get adb working, I would love your help in return :)
  6. dmaz481
    Offline

    dmaz481 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2011
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    isnt their some thing i can download that will do this all automatic.. i dont know how to do the adb stuff
  7. gnychis
    Offline

    gnychis New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2011
    Messages:
    42
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
  8. dmaz481
    Offline

    dmaz481 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2011
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    lol no.. i dont even know what the terminal is
  9. jeffv2
    Offline

    jeffv2 Developer Developer

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2010
    Messages:
    1,240
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    south jersey
    im going to stop you right here.. before people tell you how to root, why don't you go read about it and learn what terminal is..

    trust me don't go rooting your phone when you don't even know what terminal is.
  10. gnychis
    Offline

    gnychis New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2011
    Messages:
    42
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    woops, debugging
  11. dmaz481
    Offline

    dmaz481 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2011
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Is there any simple solution to root the droid.. something i can download ect..
  12. joshoid
    Offline

    joshoid New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2010
    Messages:
    191
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Ohio
  13. dmaz481
    Offline

    dmaz481 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2011
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    that is very complicated! I have never done anything like this before. Is there a simple way to do this? Does anyone know any kind of app or something to download on a pc or anything that will do all of this pretty much automatically? I really want to root the droid so i can use it as a wife hotspot! Some one pleaseeeee Help me!
  14. guidot
    Offline

    guidot Developer Relations Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2010
    Messages:
    7,352
    Likes Received:
    274
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    Massachusetts
    Yes. Root is difficult. If you can't "do" that, then rooting isn't for you.
    Besides, to do it with a Mac you need to run a VM running windows or Linux. If you don't know how to do that, then it can't be done.

    Google killed "one click root" apps on the D1 3 updates ago.

    Sent from my Droid using Tapatalk