help rooting 2.1 on macbook

Discussion in 'Android Hacks and Help' started by cnix11, Apr 17, 2010.

  1. cnix11

    cnix11 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2010
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    how do you root the 2.1. using a macbook
     
  2. OneTenderRebel

    OneTenderRebel Silver Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2010
    Messages:
    3,327
    Likes Received:
    63
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Hampton Falls, NH
    Ratings:
    +63
    well you need rsdlite to flash the sbf and mac doesn't support it so unless you have boot camp set up with a copy of windows, if you already updated to 2.1 you really can't do anything. You can always use a friends computer or something. There are ways to get rsd on your mac but like I said you need boot camp or you need to buy VMware or Parallels.
     
  3. christim

    christim DF Super Moderator Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2010
    Messages:
    5,100
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    153
    Location:
    New England
    Ratings:
    +2
    Sorry, you bring your phone over to your buddy's house that owns a windows based machine. sbf requires windows drivers to be installed on the computer.
     
  4. cnix11

    cnix11 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2010
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    alright thanks
     
  5. mwhartman

    mwhartman Super Moderator/RS Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2010
    Messages:
    10,737
    Likes Received:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    153
    Location:
    South FL
    Ratings:
    +12
    cnix11, I have a Mac and I have been trying to find a way to use RSD. As of this writing, my efforts have not been successful. I've contacted Motorola who informed me that "at this time they do not have anything in the works for Mac's and RSD.

    I've contacted some former colleague who are researching this issue. Initially, they recommended a tool called Ubuntu. I've not spend any time researching.

    Another forum member reported that one may be able to use a trial copy of Windows with boot camp and run RSD.

    I'm sure this is not the answer you want to hear.

    Mike
     
  6. OneTenderRebel

    OneTenderRebel Silver Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2010
    Messages:
    3,327
    Likes Received:
    63
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Hampton Falls, NH
    Ratings:
    +63
    I am very seriously contemplating buying a copy of windows xpsp3 to try out my boot camp with rsd. If it works I will definitely report back to you guys.
     
  7. mwhartman

    mwhartman Super Moderator/RS Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2010
    Messages:
    10,737
    Likes Received:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    153
    Location:
    South FL
    Ratings:
    +12

    Thanks! I'm fairly sure it will work. I have two concerns:

    First, many Mac users are reluctant to install Windows and do the necessary updates. Second, is the added cost of a Windows Licenses and or a Licenses for VMWare or Parallels which could cost well over $100.

    In my opinion, Motorola is not covering their bases by not provided solutions for all platforms

    Mike
     
  8. voydas

    voydas Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2010
    Messages:
    117
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    would using rsdlite in vmware work? I'm having some trouble getting it to work with VMware
     
  9. mwhartman

    mwhartman Super Moderator/RS Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2010
    Messages:
    10,737
    Likes Received:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    153
    Location:
    South FL
    Ratings:
    +12
    I have not tried, however, colleagues of mine who, have greater technical experience than me, tell me it is doable.

    If you provide me information on what you have done and what errors or issues you are having, I will pass them forward.

    Mike