1. You want that $100.00 in your pocket or an Amazon Fire TV don't you? Well here's the deal. With our new updated look we are in desperate need of an updated logo. The 'old' one has certainly served us well, but it's time. Find all the details here: bit.ly/1q0k6Wa
  2. DroidForums.net is currently undergoing a major software upgrade. If you are experiencing any problems logging in please: Contact Us

Help removing milestone browser.apk

Discussion in 'Android Hacks and Help' started by stepp24, Feb 8, 2010.

  1. stepp24
    Offline

    stepp24 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2010
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I did the most basic root, no busy box or anything, nothing is in the superuser app. i swaped out the original Browser.apk with the multitouch Browser.apk. I am trying to get back to stock. I found the original Browser.apk and swaped back(verified no multitouch) however I couldnt find a libmtwebcore.so file to swap back? after that I deleted superuser.apk file no more su access. followed by loading the OTA 2.0.1 update.zip when i try to apply i get this:
    Verifying current system...
    assert faild: apply_patch_check("/system/app/Browser.apk", "9829a1999fbc52a3fb299afd8be6a24720870c80", "6bca0a3d091bba8f250a11585491f7baafece8d0"
    E:Error in /sdcard/update.zip
    (Status 7)
    Installation aborted.

    Please advise. I want to be back to stock 2.0.1 so I can get the 2.1 update I have been doing this for hours trying to read and search for the answers but I am unsure what this means and what this leaves me with for the current state of my phone for recieving OTA updates.
    Thanks
  2. ashkev843
    Offline

    ashkev843 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2009
    Messages:
    321
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    unless you changed you otacerts files you should get the update regardless of being rooted.
  3. natediddy1120
    Offline

    natediddy1120 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2010
    Messages:
    3,183
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    ???
    Yes but the OTA might have trouble installing just as the original 2.0.1 update did on his phone...this is because the Browser app is not EXACTLY as it should be like it was default...I've heard that official updates might have trouble if you mess with the default apps prior to the update
  4. HMJB
    Offline

    HMJB New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2009
    Messages:
    276
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    New York
    If you don't mind doing a data reset, you can just wipe and restore from a clean 2.01 file
  5. natediddy1120
    Offline

    natediddy1120 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2010
    Messages:
    3,183
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    ???
    Well, a data reset will only wipe user data, he would also have to wipe the /system and then restore a nandroid backup of a clean 2.0.1
  6. stepp24
    Offline

    stepp24 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2010
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Do I need to re root the phone get a nandroid back up and restore? I didn't use nandroid before sine I was only doing the one thing(mistake, I should havw backed up). My wife has a stock droid can I copy files from that to solve this? Or root her phone back it up then unroot hers and put her back up on mine then unroot?
  7. ashkev843
    Offline

    ashkev843 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2009
    Messages:
    321
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    i would re-root yours and get a clean 2.01 nandroid back up and put it on yours. Then you should be good from there.
  8. stepp24
    Offline

    stepp24 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2010
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Could you help point me to a clean nandroid back up. Finding these files has been difficult.
  9. HMJB
    Offline

    HMJB New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2009
    Messages:
    276
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    New York
    sholes.info

    get the app, it'll do it all for you real quick lol jeez I have been telling people to use this app.. lot easier than posting instructions on doing it manually ;-)
  10. ashkev843
    Offline

    ashkev843 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2009
    Messages:
    321
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
  11. stepp24
    Offline

    stepp24 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2010
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I tried them earlier the downloads were broken. I haven't checked them recently
  12. HMJB
    Offline

    HMJB New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2009
    Messages:
    276
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    New York
    Its fine now :)
  13. stepp24
    Offline

    stepp24 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2010
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    thanks for the info so far I will try these and report back tomorrow.
    thanks a lot!
  14. stepp24
    Offline

    stepp24 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2010
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Thanks everyone for the help, I ended using the sholes.info SMupdater super easy. I wish the site had been up when I came across it. Ill have to make a donation to help keep it up. After SMupdater did all the work I pushed the 2.0.1 from google on the phone to make sure it was error free and everything works perfect.
    Thanks everyone
Search tags for this page

browser.apx milestone 3