Help - Problem flashing custom ROM

Discussion in 'Android Hacks and Help' started by Chipo, Oct 27, 2010.

1. Chipo

Chipo New Member

Ratings:
    +0
    On Droid 1 running 2.2. I've been lingering in the background as a Guest for several months reading posts. You could find me somewhere between being a noob and being almost minimally good. I like to think I'm just good enough to cause a lot of damage. Right now I'm trying to reverse damage. I took the plunge and rooted my phone. Now I'm having some problems loading a custom ROM.

I used Titanium Backup to backup apps and settings.

I then used ROM Manager to flash a recovery. Then using RM, I downloaded the latest Bugless Beast ROM. I renamed the ROM to "update.zip" (careful to not have the .zip.zip or lack of ext. problems others before have had.) Using ROM Manager I clicked "Install ROM from SD Card". I'm given a list of files and I choose update.zip at the bottom of the list. A window then pops up asking me if I want to "Backup Existing Rom" and "Wipe Data and Cache". Selecting both options, I click OK.

Here are the problems- The phone reboots. The screen with the exclamation mark standing over the droid appears. The phone does nothing (and I waited a long time to be sure). I press the volume up and camera button to enter recovery. Choosing the load update.zip fails. I chose wipe data (thinking it was required). Wiped data and the update.zip still fails to load.

What am I missing?