Help please...

Discussion in 'Android Tech Support' started by hodgewdm, Aug 3, 2010.

  1. hodgewdm

    hodgewdm Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2010
    Messages:
    70
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Iowa
    Ratings:
    +0
    Okay I made the mistake of flashing sprecovery a couple of weeks ago thinking I was going to root. I tried to use the unroot guides here with no luck. RSD LITE no luck. I restored a nandroid backup and it took me back to android 2.01 with root access. I used the update zip to get to stock 2.1, but it says I still have superuser permissions(ninja is there)..When I receive the 2.2 update will this go away, do I need to do anything special to get the 2.2 update?
     
  2. Backnblack

    Backnblack Premium Member
    Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    11,261
    Likes Received:
    24
    Trophy Points:
    453
    Ratings:
    +24
    Current Phone Model:
    iPhone 7+ 256gb
    Moved you to where the experts hangout....
     
  3. mwhartman

    mwhartman Super Moderator/RS
    Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2010
    Messages:
    10,737
    Likes Received:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    453
    Location:
    South FL
    Ratings:
    +12
  4. hodgewdm

    hodgewdm Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2010
    Messages:
    70
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Iowa
    Ratings:
    +0
    Okay so I get RSD going and click on the 2.01 stock file and click start and it say internal error while programming phone
     
  5. Tallica

    Tallica Premium Member
    Rescue Squad Premium Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2010
    Messages:
    3,259
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    101
    Location:
    Middleboro, MA
    Ratings:
    +1
    Do you have the right drivers installed (from the thread mhartman linked)?
     
  6. hodgewdm

    hodgewdm Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2010
    Messages:
    70
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Iowa
    Ratings:
    +0
    Yep. I unistalled the drivers and reinstalled from the post. downloaded the 2.01 stock file sbf and I still get internal error while programming phone.
     
  7. mwhartman

    mwhartman Super Moderator/RS
    Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2010
    Messages:
    10,737
    Likes Received:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    453
    Location:
    South FL
    Ratings:
    +12
    Perhaps I'm wrong but I believe you are not approaching this incorrectly.

    In you OP you indicated that you installed SPRecovery. If that is still on your phone and you are able to boot into recovery follow these steps:


    Download 2.01 stock update.zip (found in the link in box 3 above "Ok, I can't get RSD Lite to work. where you can download the stock 2.0.1"
    rename the downloaded file to update.zip (if you don't see the .zip in the downloaded filename don't add it because the file extensions are hidden from you.)
    mount Droid to computer
    rename or remove any existing update.zip file(s)
    copy file (renamed update.zip)from computer to root of sdcard
    unmount card from computer
    hold X while rebooting until SPRecovery screen comes up
    install
    allow update.zip
    install /sdcard/update.zip (depreciated)
    reboot

    You now are on stock 2.01. None of your data or market apps from your previous installation have been removed. (setcpu, root manager, etc will still exist)

    Let us know if this resolves your issue.
    Mike
     
  8. hodgewdm

    hodgewdm Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2010
    Messages:
    70
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Iowa
    Ratings:
    +0
    Should i even mess with it? I mean everything is working ok. I have 2.1 update1 running, its just that I have superuser permission with this. Supposedly stock update. Will I get 2.2 OTA still?
    When i go to recovery(x/power on) I get the trianlge with exclaimation mark. I need to press volume up and camera to go past this screen
     
  9. mwhartman

    mwhartman Super Moderator/RS
    Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2010
    Messages:
    10,737
    Likes Received:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    453
    Location:
    South FL
    Ratings:
    +12
    If your comfortable as is then let everything stand. You can always reroot if you are unhappy with the OTA.

    Mike
     
  10. hodgewdm

    hodgewdm Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2010
    Messages:
    70
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Iowa
    Ratings:
    +0
    Sorry to be a pain but am I actually rooted right now with the ninja showing? I didn't think 2.1 could be rooted per say just roms that let you have root access? As long as I will still get the 2.2 update I'm ok as-is...
     
  11. mwhartman

    mwhartman Super Moderator/RS
    Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2010
    Messages:
    10,737
    Likes Received:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    453
    Location:
    South FL
    Ratings:
    +12
  12. hodgewdm

    hodgewdm Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2010
    Messages:
    70
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Iowa
    Ratings:
    +0
    Okay so I just manually updated to 2.2 and I still have the superuser ninja in the app drawer. What does this mean? Do I want to get rid of him? Is it useful?