Help! Please!

Discussion in 'Android Support' started by Foreverrr, Jun 7, 2010.

  1. Foreverrr

    Foreverrr Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2010
    Messages:
    165
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Ok so i just got my droid replacement phone today in the mail, and i got it all activated and all but i don't have contacts or applications. I went to downloads in the app market and the only ones that were there were the ones that i have purchased, which i have re downloaded.

    how do i get all my apps/contacts back exactly?
     
  2. Taegost

    Taegost Member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2010
    Messages:
    687
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Tampa Bay, Fl
    Ratings:
    +1
    If you set it to auto-sync, it should pull all that data down automagically, but it may take it a while... It usually takes about 30-45 minutes before everything appears on my phone.
     
  3. Foreverrr

    Foreverrr Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2010
    Messages:
    165
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    But isn't there supposed to be like a sync icon on the notification bar? how do i enable that?
     
  4. Taegost

    Taegost Member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2010
    Messages:
    687
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Tampa Bay, Fl
    Ratings:
    +1
    Yeah there is. If you're on the Home screen, hit the Menu button and choose Settings.
    Click 'Accounts & Sync' and make sure "Backgrond data" and "auto-sync" are both checked.
    Then, click on your gmail account, make sure those three options are checked as well.
    Last, hit the Menu button and choose 'Sync now'
     
  5. Foreverrr

    Foreverrr Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2010
    Messages:
    165
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0

    I just did that, but i still have no sync icon at the top and still have no applications. I turned my new phone on and got everything set almost 2 hours ago now...still no apps
     
  6. dlwhtrose

    dlwhtrose Super Moderator
    Rescue Squad Premium Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2009
    Messages:
    2,821
    Likes Received:
    32
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    God forsaken desert, wishing to be back in Dixie
    Ratings:
    +33
    If you have a computer available to you go to google>gmail and check to see if you see all your contacts. If you do then try to do a factory reset and re-sync your phone with your google account. They should push through. Make sure that your google information is correct. If it still does not sync, you may have to visit Verizon and have them check it out for you.
     
  7. Foreverrr

    Foreverrr Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2010
    Messages:
    165
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    I have all my contacts/photos, all i need is all my apps...
     
  8. Foreverrr

    Foreverrr Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2010
    Messages:
    165
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Helllppppppppppp ahhhh

    Ok so i just got my droid replacement phone today in the mail, and i got it all activated and all but i don't have contacts or applications. I went to downloads in the app market and the only ones that were there were the ones that i have purchased, which i have re downloaded.

    how do i get all my apps/contacts back exactly?

    EDIT: I have all my contacts, and photos, but i do NOT have any applications that i downloaded on my last phone...how can i get them on here? i thought they were supposed to be linked to my google account?
     
  9. Sam

    Sam Premium Member
    Premium Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2009
    Messages:
    3,467
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Location:
    dirty dirty
    Ratings:
    +1
    just download them again.. unless you backed them up with something like astro?
     
  10. Sam

    Sam Premium Member
    Premium Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2009
    Messages:
    3,467
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Location:
    dirty dirty
    Ratings:
    +1
    merged your threads
     
  11. Foreverrr

    Foreverrr Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2010
    Messages:
    165
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    i don't remember backing them up with astro, but i would rather have them just sync somehow like people said they do. I had probably 40-50 apps, and it would take awhile to find them all in market and download them, plus change the settings to whatever they were set at on my last phone.
     
  12. Sam

    Sam Premium Member
    Premium Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2009
    Messages:
    3,467
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Location:
    dirty dirty
    Ratings:
    +1
    just noticed this is a replacement phone.. none of the app data will be there. that was on your original phone, not saved in the cloud. and i'm pretty sure you have to have some separate app to back up your apps like astro or titanium backup, i dunno.. never done it. and every time i clear cache/data, i have to download apps again