HELP please n00b trying to use 928 blackglass

Discussion in 'Android Hacks and Help' started by scbeck2, Nov 6, 2010.

  1. scbeck2

    scbeck2 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2010
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Ok - so I downloaded the 928blackglass deodexEER zip, but sine I am on a mac it automatically decompressed it so I had to re-compress it back into a zip file. I think copied it onto my sd card, rebooted into clock work recovery move and selected to install that .zip file (there were 7 NO options and 1 'yes install...' option which I thought was odd). It then went to Installing package and froze there. I turned the phone off after quite awhile and everything booted up just fine, just without the theme. Can someone help as to why Clockwork froze on me? I am a n00b at this so I probably screwed up somewhere and just need someone to point it out. Thanks.
     
  2. scbeck2

    scbeck2 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2010
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Can anyone help? I was trying to do this tonight.
     
  3. Abe21599

    Abe21599 Super Moderator
    Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2009
    Messages:
    6,334
    Likes Received:
    31
    Trophy Points:
    163
    Location:
    Ohio
    Ratings:
    +31
    try redownloading it again and making sure your computer doesnt decompress it.

    did you install it in the stock recovery or custom?
     
  4. scbeck2

    scbeck2 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2010
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I don't know how to make a Mac not decompress it automatically. But yeah I rebooted into cleckwork recovery from rom manager.
     
  5. Abe21599

    Abe21599 Super Moderator
    Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2009
    Messages:
    6,334
    Likes Received:
    31
    Trophy Points:
    163
    Location:
    Ohio
    Ratings:
    +31
    idk i use firefox on my macbook pro and it downloads into a .zip file.. do you use any other interfaces that run alongside that might be doing it? maybe a plugin?
     
  6. xkape

    xkape Premium Member
    Theme Developer Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2010
    Messages:
    3,883
    Likes Received:
    37
    Trophy Points:
    163
    Location:
    OH-IO
    Ratings:
    +37
    eh.. you could always navigate to the download spot on your phone nd get it. Thus avoiding the MAC entirely. the 7 no's and 1 yes are there as a caution so you don't accidentally do something you didn't mean to.
     
  7. mwhartman

    mwhartman Super Moderator/RS
    Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2010
    Messages:
    10,737
    Likes Received:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    453
    Location:
    South FL
    Ratings:
    +12
    OP, I use a Mac and I am able to download the update.zip files without any issues. If you are unable to keep as a zip then double click the file and compress then double click the compressed file click get info and rename to update.zip then copy to the root of your SD card.

    I'm unclear. You mentioned ClockWork so I'm guessing that you are using Rom Manager. If that is the case then download the file with RM then install.

    Mike
     
  8. scbeck2

    scbeck2 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2010
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I did try to re-compress it and it did work so i wasn't sure why it didn't work. Ill try downloading it through rom manager, i thought you could only download roms through it not themes thanks for letting me know.

    One thing that confuses me though is when you say copy it to the root of your phone. I just put it on the SD card, not any specific spot. Do i have to partition it or something? Sorry for the noob questions I've been on the internet forever today haha
     
  9. Abe21599

    Abe21599 Super Moderator
    Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2009
    Messages:
    6,334
    Likes Received:
    31
    Trophy Points:
    163
    Location:
    Ohio
    Ratings:
    +31
    root of ur sdcard is just not in any folders on the sdcard. just /sdcard, not /sdcard/downloads or similar.
     
  10. mwhartman

    mwhartman Super Moderator/RS
    Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2010
    Messages:
    10,737
    Likes Received:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    453
    Location:
    South FL
    Ratings:
    +12

    What you wrote is correct. Next time, mount your phone and when you see the icon on your desk top the represents the SD card simply drag and drop the file to the icon. That will add it to the root of the card.

    Mike
     
Search tags for this page

baixar cleckworks