HELP PLEASE!! After OTA update phone powers off

Discussion in 'Samsung Galaxy S3' started by droidummie, Sep 24, 2012.

  1. droidummie

    droidummie Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2012
    Messages:
    33
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +1
    HELP! Ever since the new OTA update... My galaxy s3 will power off on its own and it will not restart by holding down the power button.
    I have to ALWAYS pull out the battery like a hard reset for my phone to come on. Anyone else have this problem? What can I do to prevent this from happening?
    *thank you*
     
  2. Roget83

    Roget83 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2012
    Messages:
    50
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +4
    It has happened to me three times since that OTA update. I don't know how to fix it. I just have to pull the battery.
     
  3. Roget83

    Roget83 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2012
    Messages:
    50
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +4
    Is there a anyway to remove the update?
     
  4. droidummie

    droidummie Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2012
    Messages:
    33
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +1
    I want to remove the update too! Someone please tell me how!! It's so annoying
     
  5. k1ngr4t

    k1ngr4t Senior Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2011
    Messages:
    1,347
    Likes Received:
    33
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Ratings:
    +33
    Wow now I'm kinda glad the OTA won't install on my phone. As far as I know the only way to uninstall it would be to flash back to an older version with an .ruu or something...
     
  6. DroidBoardr

    DroidBoardr Member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2012
    Messages:
    377
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +1
    I had the update forced onto my phone while i was sleeping. I said no to it at least three times, but alas. I have had no issues with it so far. Possibly getting a better signal, i almost never used to have 4g in my office, and since the update i haven't seen it switch to 3g at all.
    I'm not sure if you can remove the update unless you figure out how to flash back with a leaked .ruu like K1ng said. I did it with the HTC Rezound, but I haven't seen anything about that for the S3. Might try a factory reset to see if it fixes the problem. I saw that as a solution to many Rezound problems after the official ICS came out for it. I know that isn't an attractive option because you will loose any data on your phone, but good luck.
     
  7. CaptainSS

    CaptainSS Silver Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2011
    Messages:
    681
    Likes Received:
    232
    Trophy Points:
    143
    Location:
    Pocono Mountains, In the Woods
    Ratings:
    +256
    FDR (Factory Data Reset) fixes glitches the majority of the time.