1. DroidForums.net is currently undergoing a major software upgrade. If you are experiencing any problems logging in please: Contact Us

Help overclocking on rooted stock 2.1

Discussion in 'Android Hacks and Help' started by Phreaker47, Apr 19, 2010.

  1. Phreaker47
    Offline

    Phreaker47 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2010
    Messages:
    755
    Likes Received:
    20
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Well, I had a scary moment. I just tried this guide here: Overclocking the Droid | Root Your Droid

    ... and almost bricked my phone. Was hung on the initial motorola bootup logo after rebooting. I had to pull the battery. Fortunately I had made a backup just before, and was able to restore it (whew).

    So before I screw that up again, is there a safe way to get the overclocking ability flashed on my phone... which is stock 2.1 with root access?
  2. Phreaker47
    Offline

    Phreaker47 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2010
    Messages:
    755
    Likes Received:
    20
    Trophy Points:
    18
    I'm guessing now that what I tried was intended for 2.0.1?

    Of course, I could flash a whole new custom ROM (If I want to bother reinstalling all apps again, etc), but I was wondering if there was just a quick way to inject the O/C ability for ESE81 rooted?
  3. JCo352
    Offline

    JCo352 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2010
    Messages:
    1,829
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Texas
    What method did you choose? Have you tried one of chevy's low voltage kernels?
  4. Phreaker47
    Offline

    Phreaker47 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2010
    Messages:
    755
    Likes Received:
    20
    Trophy Points:
    18
    I did the method outlined in the link I gave.

    Do chevy's kernels require me to wipe and reinstall everything?
  5. JCo352
    Offline

    JCo352 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2010
    Messages:
    1,829
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Texas
  6. JCo352
    Offline

    JCo352 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2010
    Messages:
    1,829
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Texas
    I suggest the LV 5 slot 1 ghz just to feel out your droid, if it is stable for 1 ghz and you want to push your droid go for higher.
    I dont know if it is recommended to wipe it but i dont
  7. Phreaker47
    Offline

    Phreaker47 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2010
    Messages:
    755
    Likes Received:
    20
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Just did this, thanks. It appears to be working. I'll just be happy to get a bit of a boost. I don't want to cook this thing or make it unstable.
  8. holeshot
    Offline

    holeshot New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2010
    Messages:
    86
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Wisconsin
    Running lv5 and it works great.