HELP: Overclocking Droid to 800mhz

Discussion in 'Android Hacks and Help' started by savioAMG, Jan 26, 2010.

  1. savioAMG
    Offline

    savioAMG Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2009
    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Los Angeles, CA
    Ratings:
    +0
    If anyone could write or has a step by step on how to do this, it would be super appreciated. I've searched and I've gone through the thread at alldroid and I've tried over and over but I just don't know what I'm doing. Any help at all would be super appreciated.
    Thanks in advance.
     
  2. crdnilfan
    Offline

    crdnilfan Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2009
    Messages:
    207
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Please search
     
  3. savioAMG
    Offline

    savioAMG Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2009
    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Los Angeles, CA
    Ratings:
    +0
    Read the bold.
     
  4. necr0
    Offline

    necr0 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009
    Messages:
    84
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    California
    Ratings:
    +0
    Is your phone rooted?
     
  5. savioAMG
    Offline

    savioAMG Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2009
    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Los Angeles, CA
    Ratings:
    +0
    Yes, been rooted for a little bit now.
     
  6. necr0
    Offline

    necr0 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009
    Messages:
    84
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    California
    Ratings:
    +0
    Use this guide to install recovery-0.99.2b and nandroid, if you dont have them already. You need SetCPU too. Then follow the instructions at Alldroid. Dont mean to sound like a smartass but you have to be more specific on what you have tried already =)
     
  7. savioAMG
    Offline

    savioAMG Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2009
    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Los Angeles, CA
    Ratings:
    +0
    Sorry about that. I'm just a little tired of this at this point. Didn't mean to be so lacking. I did try all the instructions at AllDroid but missed the first thread you gave me. I'll try that out now and then I'll try out Alldroid. Thanks a ton! :):)
     
  8. necr0
    Offline

    necr0 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009
    Messages:
    84
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    California
    Ratings:
    +0
    No problem man.
    Oh, the Sholes ROM (.tgz) has been updated, so when you follow the guide, go here for the updated one and then continue with the guide.
     
  9. Aaron636r
    Offline

    Aaron636r Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2009
    Messages:
    402
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    So California
    Ratings:
    +0
    Using Sholes newest ROM and 800mhz image. Working well....
     
  10. savioAMG
    Offline

    savioAMG Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2009
    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Los Angeles, CA
    Ratings:
    +0
    So I downloaded the evilboot9.img and I'm confused with these steps:

    To install the boot.img files above:

    1. Reboot phone into recovery console (this CANNOT be done using a terminal emulator while running)
    2. Run 'adb shell su' (all directions provided with single quotes should be run without including them). If you don't know how to do this step comfortably, there is lots of good info on AllDroid starting here: AllDroid - View topic - Important Droid Threads.
    3. You must have flash_image available then run 'flash_image boot targetBootImage.img' where targetBootImage.img is the boot image you want to flash.
    4. Reboot and enjoy. If your WiFi isn't working, look for more directions below on how to correct that.
    I'm not too sure what to do. I've tried following instructions, but I'm still stuck.
     
  11. necr0
    Offline

    necr0 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009
    Messages:
    84
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    California
    Ratings:
    +0
    If you sucsessfully installed recovery-0.99.2b, you should have nandroid. So, instead of following the instructions you just posted, skip them and follow the next set of instructions in that page that talk about using nandroid for installing via nandroid restore. I will confuse you even more if I try to explain how to install ADB lol. I can do it but, just warning you ;)
     
  12. Ace Benjamin
    Offline

    Ace Benjamin New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2010
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hello fellow member:

    Easiest way to do this is,

    First thing to do is make sure your image is in the sdcard root folder
    ( sdcard/evilboot9.img )

    Then just follow these steps:

    1. make sure you have flash_image installed like this /system/xbin/flash_image
    (if you don't know how to do that, the easiest way is to download DroidRootHelper
    from the market. All of this up to number two can be done right within DroidRootHelper.
    Choose top 'Mount System' button, next 'Install and chmod busybox', next 'Install and chmod flash_image', next 'Unmount System', next 'sync', and lastly 'Reboot recovery)
    2. reboot to recovery mode
    3. make sure phone is plugged into computer (no mount)
    4. use your sdk tools (e.g. C:\android-sdk-windows\tools )
    (if you don't have that ready, then you must do that before continuing the rest of this process)
    5. type 'adb shell' without the qoutes
    6. type 'flash_image boot /sdcard/evilboot9.img' without quotes
    7. reboot phone
    8. go to SetCPU program and click menu
    9. click on the bottom "autodetect"
    10. adjust to 800Mhz
    11. Enjoy !!

    Hope I helped... I chose evilboot8.img and it runs fast enough for me. Let me know later how 9 works for you please. Good luck!

    Edited: the following two pics show what works best for me.
     

    Attached Files:

  13. maxoc
    Offline

    maxoc New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2010
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
  14. gee1785
    Offline

    gee1785 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2009
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Ace do you need to mount the sdcard and system in the recovery mode before you flash? Thanks for the help.
     
  15. Ace Benjamin
    Offline

    Ace Benjamin New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2010
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Negative... no mount on anything. Just plug into computer with USB and type the two commands into command prompt. Of course, after changing directory to where your sdk tools are

    mine is C:\android-sdk-windows\tools