HELP! No signal after screen replacement?!

Discussion in 'Droid Incredible Tech Support' started by RyanPm40, Mar 20, 2011.

  1. RyanPm40

    RyanPm40 Active Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2010
    Messages:
    701
    Likes Received:
    32
    Trophy Points:
    43
    Ratings:
    +46
    I replaced my screen a few days ago. Worked out fine. Today, I noticed some dust inside. Took it apart to clean it. Put it back together, and there is NO cell signal at all on my phone. It's even asking me to pick what time zone I'm in because it can't figure it out. What can I do? I took it apart AGAIN, unhooked and then rehooked in the ribbon cables, but still no signal :\ where in the phone is the antenna? Please help!
     
    Last edited: Mar 20, 2011
  2. mwhartman

    mwhartman Super Moderator/RS Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2010
    Messages:
    10,737
    Likes Received:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    153
    Location:
    South FL
    Ratings:
    +12
    Did you have a signal after you initially replaced the screen? If so, my sense is the you have a connection crossed or crimped.
     
  3. RyanPm40

    RyanPm40 Active Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2010
    Messages:
    701
    Likes Received:
    32
    Trophy Points:
    43
    Ratings:
    +46
    Yeah, I had signal up until I just cleaned the screen and reconnected it... do you know which ribbon cable or connector is for the antenna? Where the antenna is? I mean I pulled the connections again and hooked them back in a second time and still nothing.. WiFi and everything else on the phone works fine

    Sent from my ADR6300 using DroidForums App
     
  4. mwhartman

    mwhartman Super Moderator/RS Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2010
    Messages:
    10,737
    Likes Received:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    153
    Location:
    South FL
    Ratings:
    +12
    Sorry, I do not know what ribbon is the antenna. My sense is you have something crossed or not fully connected
     
  5. RyanPm40

    RyanPm40 Active Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2010
    Messages:
    701
    Likes Received:
    32
    Trophy Points:
    43
    Ratings:
    +46
    What do you mean by crossed? Like plugged into the wrong connector?
     
  6. mwhartman

    mwhartman Super Moderator/RS Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2010
    Messages:
    10,737
    Likes Received:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    153
    Location:
    South FL
    Ratings:
    +12

    Yes! Do you have a schematic
     
  7. RyanPm40

    RyanPm40 Active Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2010
    Messages:
    701
    Likes Received:
    32
    Trophy Points:
    43
    Ratings:
    +46
    I was following how-to videos on youtube before. It's pretty straight-forward, there are only 3 ribbon cables to attach besides the one in the trackpad. Everything on the phone works perfectly fine besides the signal so I don't think it's that :\. Soft-buttons work, touch screen works, wifi, battery, track pad. I just took it apart and reconnected things 2 more times, still no dice!
     
  8. RyanPm40

    RyanPm40 Active Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2010
    Messages:
    701
    Likes Received:
    32
    Trophy Points:
    43
    Ratings:
    +46
    Maybe it's a ROM issue, I'm gonna try to restore an old backup in ROM Manager
     
  9. RyanPm40

    RyanPm40 Active Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2010
    Messages:
    701
    Likes Received:
    32
    Trophy Points:
    43
    Ratings:
    +46
    Well that wasn't it... Looking like I really messed up my phone and my contract isnt up till 2012..

    EDIT

    Could fingerprints on the ribbon cable play a part? I definitely had my grimey fingers allover them.. Could cleaning them with rubbing alcohol be a decent idea?
     
    Last edited: Mar 20, 2011
  10. RyanPm40

    RyanPm40 Active Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2010
    Messages:
    701
    Likes Received:
    32
    Trophy Points:
    43
    Ratings:
    +46
    Nope, didn't work either. Well, crap
     
  11. mwhartman

    mwhartman Super Moderator/RS Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2010
    Messages:
    10,737
    Likes Received:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    153
    Location:
    South FL
    Ratings:
    +12
    I do not have any ideas, sorry.

    My addiction Droid Forums
     
  12. RyanPm40

    RyanPm40 Active Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2010
    Messages:
    701
    Likes Received:
    32
    Trophy Points:
    43
    Ratings:
    +46
    Looks like I'm ordering a thunderbolt xD. Better phone but after spending 30 bucks on a replacement screen for my incredible, it's quite frustrating!
     
Search tags for this page
after screen replacement no signal
,
i took my htc apart and now i have no service
,
iphone 4 no service after screen replacement
,

iphone 4s no signal after screen replacement

,
iphone 4s poor signal after screen replacement
,
no service after screen replacement iphone 5
,
no service on samsung after screen changed
,
replaced glass on incredible now no service
,
took iphone 5 apart now no service
,

verizon iphone 4 no service after screen replacement