HELP! no 3G symbol, no connection, no email, etc

eao76

Reaction score
For the past 24hrs I have had no Internet service on my Droid Motorola phone (no 3G symbol, no connection, no email, etc). I have tried toggling on /off airplane mode, I have turned phone on / off, * 228 option 2 & taken battery out/ in with no changes. The only thing that worked is I turned on /off data enabled. After that I had a connection for about 5 minutes and then POOF gone again. I am in a major metropolitan area and service is not an issue. My husband has the same phone and his is working just fine. I have not run any updates recently (there are no update notifications currently either), I have not added any new apps, & Wi-Fi is off (I don't ever use it). I have had my phone 6+ months with no issues until now. Can anyone suggest anything to solve this problem?

PS I am not tech savvy so keep that in mind when answering, thank you in advance!

jstafford1

Super Moderator
Rescue Squad
Reaction score
Twitter
jstaff79
To be honest. Either your antenna is going bad or there's something stuck somewhere. Have you tried a Factory data reset...or running it in safe mode?

Safe mode is enabled by powering off. Then slide open the keyboard, hold the menu key down while powering on. Safe mode runs the phone with only system apps working.

OP
E

eao76

Reaction score
I just tried safe mode like you explained and now I have my 3G symbol & connection (well see if it lasts). Since this seems to be working right now what would that indicate?

PS How would I know if I am in safe mode? Does it say "safe mode activated" on the phone somewhere? Because right now I don't see any difference in the phone. I guess I just want reassurance that I actually put the phone in safe mode correctly & this is just not a fluke.
Thanks again!

teddyearp

Reaction score
Current Phone Model
Motorola Razr 5g Rooted
:welcome: