Help!!! Need step by step instructions on how to instal AmonRa Recovery!!!

Discussion in 'HTC Rezound Development' started by fobpartisan, Feb 11, 2012.

  1. Jessesmith888

    Jessesmith888 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2010
    Messages:
    119
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    It should do that. Now use command prompt to push the new recovery image

    Rootzound
     
  2. fobpartisan

    fobpartisan Member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2010
    Messages:
    57
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    Seattle WA
    Ratings:
    +3
    Its been on <waiting for device> for the last 20 minutes.
     
  3. mjh68

    mjh68 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2010
    Messages:
    414
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    If properly in fastboot and connected..it should say white letters a redbox fastbootusb , that means your correctly connected to the computer and in fastboot.If it doesn't you need to volume down to fastboot , select it with the power on button..once it says fastbootusb , then rerun the command.

    Back up ...

    So after unlocking.. did you pull battery, put battery back in and hold volume up and press power on at the same time to get into hboot ? once in hboot plug the phone in and select fastboot ..it should then say fastbootusb.. once it says that rerun the previous command. That should say sending recovery .. give you a time and bam it should be done. Then just select reboot and the phone should boot up normally, download quick boot from the market and then select the reboot to recovery to see if you reboot into amon ra.
     
  4. fobpartisan

    fobpartisan Member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2010
    Messages:
    57
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    Seattle WA
    Ratings:
    +3
    The whole problem was my htc usb driver. Had to reinstall it. Dam it. Thank you all for your help. My phone is finally rooted.
     
  5. Jessesmith888

    Jessesmith888 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2010
    Messages:
    119
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Nice! Lol wish it worked right away for ya

    Rootzound
     
  6. fobpartisan

    fobpartisan Member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2010
    Messages:
    57
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    Seattle WA
    Ratings:
    +3
    Me too, but it worked. Installed Scotts ICs rom and not really liking the ics.
     
  7. alpinewil81

    alpinewil81 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2012
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Location:
    Wyoming
    Ratings:
    +1
    This is the forum I needed, a real and accurate how to. Thanks and thumbs up on this one! Worked first try!
     
  8. McClellan

    McClellan New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2012
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    So I have followed this step by step and it isn't working for me i'm already rooted I installed clockworkmod recovery thru the app it doesn't work correctly, so I am trying to install this instead I keep getting this,"error: cannot load 'recovery-ra-vigor-3.13-gnm.img" I have uninstalled and reinstalled drivers, rebooted the computer and phone. So I don't know what I am doing wrong I am really frustrated and all I really want is to update to the latest firmware without losing root can anyone help me please ?
     
  9. MrSmith317

    MrSmith317 Moderator
    Premium Member

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2010
    Messages:
    1,578
    Likes Received:
    31
    Trophy Points:
    78
    Location:
    Philadelphia
    Ratings:
    +31
    What exactly are you trying? looks like "fastboot flash boot recovery-ra-vigor-3.13-gnm.img" did you make sure that the recovery image was in the same directory? Even if you lose root(which you will with the OTA), you can always re-root via AmonRa.
     
  10. McClellan

    McClellan New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2012
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I am trying to install amon ra so I can reinstall root after I update. Yes all the files are in the right directories.
     
  11. fobpartisan

    fobpartisan Member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2010
    Messages:
    57
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    Seattle WA
    Ratings:
    +3
    I was getting the same error message because the .img file was written incorrect. Go back to page two n copy n paste exactly how it is written. Also make sure your htc sync drivers are updated.
     
    #35 fobpartisan, Feb 18, 2012
    Last edited: Feb 18, 2012
  12. Ja5on L

    Ja5on L Member

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2011
    Messages:
    51
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +1
    I have updated the drivers and done everything else in this thread and all I get is cannot load "recovery-ra-vigor-3.13-gnm.img"

    ****Unlocked****
    Vigor PVT Ship

    Fastboot USB is showing

    I get the same damn error every time.
     
Search tags for this page
amon ra 2.0
,

amon ra recovery

,
amon ra recovery download
,
amon-ra recovery
,
amonra 2.0.1 download
,
amonra recovery
,
amonra recovery download
,
download amonra 2.0.1
,
fastboot exe flash recovery recovery img waiting for device
,
htc rezound not recognized in fastboot mode