Help... My apps launch button is gone....

Discussion in 'Motorola Droid X' started by ScoobyBlue, Jun 3, 2011.

  1. ScoobyBlue

    ScoobyBlue New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2011
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Don't laugh too hard. My DroidX updated to the latest version last night and now the button I would use to launch my apps is gone. I can go in to Manage Apps but can't open them from there. Only way to get to the app I wanted was to create a shortcut to it. I want to be able to see my app list and hit it go. Where did they hide it in the new version?
     
  2. Beka27

    Beka27 Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2010
    Messages:
    1,458
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Cleveland Ohio
    Ratings:
    +6
    When I first upgraded, it was automatically moved to the far right of the dock bar. Did you look there?

    I'm on GO launcher, but going thru settings, can you select what you want the home key to do. On "Go" there's an option that one press takes you to Homescreen, a second press takes you to the app drawer.
     
  3. FreyGrimrod

    FreyGrimrod Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2009
    Messages:
    152
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    just to the right of text messaging on the dock
     
  4. ScoobyBlue

    ScoobyBlue New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2011
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Maybe it's my view that's whacked. When I hit the button in the lower right corner, I can see google search, manage apps and my 2 email accounts. When I hit the options I can do a search and type in the app I want and it loads. I want to be able to view the entire list and launch from the list like I use to. Does that make sense? I appreciate your help! I'm pretty new to Android and now it's just changed on me again. :>) yes, I'm a rookie.
     
  5. cece5702

    cece5702 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2011
    Messages:
    909
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +8
    I use Go Launcher too and I love it. It has really nice features. It's constantly improving with updates and I like that. It seems to run faster than the Home Launcher to me.
     
  6. FreyGrimrod

    FreyGrimrod Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2009
    Messages:
    152
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    The button on the screen not the hardware search button?
     
  7. Beka27

    Beka27 Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2010
    Messages:
    1,458
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Cleveland Ohio
    Ratings:
    +6


    Absolutely! I used to use Launcher Pro Plus but it was getting screwy and kept force closing. My brother recommended Go and it's been nearly flawless for months. Not bad for a FREE launcher!

    I used the stock launcher for about 5 minutes until I remembered how badly it sucks, then installed my back-up of Go. Lol :)


    For the OP, what options do you have under settings? I'm not on the stock launcher, so maybe someone who is can walk you thru the settings.
     
  8. ScoobyBlue

    ScoobyBlue New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2011
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I'm sorry guys. I'm a rookie. I don't understand what this means.
     
  9. ScoobyBlue

    ScoobyBlue New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2011
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Please don't give up on me. When I go to the button to the right of Text, what should I see? Can I access the apps list from there and launch? Now that I have accessed one app it's showing cause it's recent.
     
  10. Beka27

    Beka27 Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2010
    Messages:
    1,458
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Cleveland Ohio
    Ratings:
    +6
    Have you tried long pressing on one of the dock icons and seeing if you have the option to change the activity?
     
  11. FreyGrimrod

    FreyGrimrod Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2009
    Messages:
    152
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    ah your group view for the new launcher changed to only show recent apps

    top left in that screen should be a square inside a rounded square where you can change the group view back to all

    does this fix it for you?
     
  12. FreyGrimrod

    FreyGrimrod Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2009
    Messages:
    152
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    sorry under recent view top left should be a little clock rather than the square
     
  13. ScoobyBlue

    ScoobyBlue New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2011
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I have an option to add to dock and I can see all my apps.
     
  14. ColinZack

    ColinZack Member

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2010
    Messages:
    102
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
  15. ScoobyBlue

    ScoobyBlue New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2011
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    On the middle I have a round circle with an L in it. There is a little arrow pointing down under it. Beside it, its says Recent. When I press either of thes I get a window that says Add to Home. Only other button is one that takes me to the market on that middle row.
     
Search tags for this page
android app list button disapeared
,
app access button disappeared
,
help my app launch button is missing
,
my all apps button went away on my surface
,
my app button is gone
,

my apps button is gone

,
my apps button is gone on my home screen
,
my internet launcher has gone from my homescreen
,
where did my app button go
,
where is launcher button on droid