1. DroidForums.net is currently undergoing a major software upgrade. If you are experiencing any problems logging in please: Contact Us

HELP! Might have bricked my Droid X

Discussion in 'Android Tech Support' started by rathzil, Sep 16, 2010.

  1. rathzil
    Offline

    rathzil New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2010
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Okay, so I held off on jumping on the leaked 2.2 bandwagon, and then when a new version got leaked, I said what the hell, and got kous bootstrap and went into recovery and installed it and... got stuck in a bootloop (I can't get past the M logo... not even to the droid eye).

    So, here is what I have tried (I have spent all night reading various methods and trying to troubleshoot).

    I've gone into recovery mode and done a factory wipe (both data and cache)

    I've gotten The_Gift and installed the drivers (I'm running windows XP 32 bit SP 3, .net framework 3.5, and used the 32 bit drivers) and installed RSD lite 4.7 and copied the flash.ini file over and overwrote the one in the RSD directory.

    When I turn on my droid X and put it into the bootloader 29.01 (camera button, vol down, and power buttons) and my DX doesn't show up.

    I have tried using the drivers that come with the_gift. I have tried using the newest drivers. I have tried using 4.6 instead of 4.7. I have tried using 4.6 with the 4.7 patch. I have tried different USB ports, I have tried using it on my roommates 32 bit vista laptop (using 4.7 and the drivers that come in the_gift). On the vista computer, I've done the shift+right click thing to run it as an administrator.

    I have rebooted my phone numerous times, rebooted my entire PC still no changes. Still can't get it to show up in RSD.

    Any suggestions? I've scoured countless forums and everyone else seems to have simply been fixed with one of those small fixes, but none of them have done it for me. Does anyone have any other ideas?

    Thanks
  2. Abe21599
    Offline

    Abe21599 Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2009
    Messages:
    6,345
    Likes Received:
    29
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Ohio
    have you done file>device id and changing that option?
  3. rathzil
    Offline

    rathzil New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2010
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ah, yes I have also done that. I've done so many things I was wondering what I would forget to mention trying.
  4. Abe21599
    Offline

    Abe21599 Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2009
    Messages:
    6,345
    Likes Received:
    29
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Ohio
    ive also seem sometimes that the phone wont show up but it will still flash. load the sbf and connect the phone and try to press start. does it seem to do anything?
  5. rathzil
    Offline

    rathzil New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2010
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I've tried just clicking start after loading up the .sbf file too, that doesn't do anything.
  6. Abe21599
    Offline

    Abe21599 Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2009
    Messages:
    6,345
    Likes Received:
    29
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Ohio
    what does the bootloader screen say? youve pretty much gone thru all the fixes i have when a phone isnt recognized..
  7. rathzil
    Offline

    rathzil New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2010
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Bootloader 29.01


    Battery OK
    OK to Program
    Transfer Mode:
    USB


    Or, when unplugged the last two lines are
    Connect USB
    Data Cable

    I know some of that is prolly obvious but I'm including EVERYTHING.
  8. Abe21599
    Offline

    Abe21599 Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2009
    Messages:
    6,345
    Likes Received:
    29
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Ohio
    try maybe restarting the computer or using a different usb port?
  9. rathzil
    Offline

    rathzil New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2010
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Yeah, already tried both of those.
  10. Abe21599
    Offline

    Abe21599 Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2009
    Messages:
    6,345
    Likes Received:
    29
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Ohio
    try it without the patch?
  11. rathzil
    Offline

    rathzil New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2010
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Tried that too, got real excited when I ran into that suggestion and had missed it the first round, but fixing it didn't help.
  12. Sydman
    Offline

    Sydman Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2010
    Messages:
    3,417
    Likes Received:
    202
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Austin, Tx
    When you have your phone plugged in what mode is it on? Pc mode? You have usb debugging on right?
  13. Sydman
    Offline

    Sydman Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2010
    Messages:
    3,417
    Likes Received:
    202
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Austin, Tx
    If you have it on Pc mode and have debugging on and it's still not seeing it, try putting your phone on pc media sync mode.
  14. rathzil
    Offline

    rathzil New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2010
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    The last time my phone was booted up it was on PC mode with debugging on, but my entire problem is that I can't boot up, so I can't change things like PC mode.
  15. Sydman
    Offline

    Sydman Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2010
    Messages:
    3,417
    Likes Received:
    202
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Austin, Tx
    Man, if you could get in to change that to Pc media mode I bet that would fix it for you. Did you have USB debugging on when you first installed drivers for the phone?
  16. Abe21599
    Offline

    Abe21599 Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2009
    Messages:
    6,345
    Likes Received:
    29
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Ohio
    theres gotta be something else bc i never use PC mode and ive successfully done sbf flashes before
  17. rathzil
    Offline

    rathzil New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2010
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I did have USB Debugging on.

    Is it even possible to get in and change it to PC media mode? Does that even make a difference if the phone isn't even booting up?
  18. Sydman
    Offline

    Sydman Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2010
    Messages:
    3,417
    Likes Received:
    202
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Austin, Tx
    Yeah if you have USB debugging on and try to install the drivers it won't work. The first time you install drivers you need that off then you can go back into it. Normally it woudn't matter cause you could change to pc media sync cause those are different drivers. But since you can't even boot up that is your problem.
  19. rathzil
    Offline

    rathzil New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2010
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I'm not sure how USB debugging makes a difference, as I don't think I even had my phone plugged into my computer when I installed the drivers.
  20. Abe21599
    Offline

    Abe21599 Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2009
    Messages:
    6,345
    Likes Received:
    29
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Ohio
    may i suggest uninstalling everything, even deleting the gift, and starting fresh?