Help ME !!!

Discussion in 'Android Tech Support' started by Roland B., May 31, 2010.

  1. Roland B.
    Offline

    Roland B. New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2010
    Messages:
    100
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Kanab, Utah
    I need some help on fixing my droid. My menu button all of a sudden quit working? all the of the other buttons work fine.
  2. pc747
    Online

    pc747 DF Administrator Staff Member Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2009
    Messages:
    17,759
    Likes Received:
    1,193
    Trophy Points:
    113
    did you just install a rom
  3. gixxerboy
    Offline

    gixxerboy New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2010
    Messages:
    169
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    sounds like you got a dead spot
  4. pc747
    Online

    pc747 DF Administrator Staff Member Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2009
    Messages:
    17,759
    Likes Received:
    1,193
    Trophy Points:
    113
    I have had my home button not work when I flash a rom. Reboot into recovery wipe data and cache reboot.
  5. Roland B.
    Offline

    Roland B. New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2010
    Messages:
    100
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Kanab, Utah
    DL the latest CM 5.0.7.1 a couple days ago and all of a sudden the menu button stop working? i'll give ur method a try and respond back in a few, thanks for the quick responce.
  6. Roland B.
    Offline

    Roland B. New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2010
    Messages:
    100
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Kanab, Utah
    just wiped data and cache ..... rebooted..... everything looks normal....uuuggghhh, no dice!!!
  7. pc747
    Online

    pc747 DF Administrator Staff Member Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2009
    Messages:
    17,759
    Likes Received:
    1,193
    Trophy Points:
    113
    THe second suggestion is to unroot. the reason why ..this will allow you to determine if it is the rom or the device. I am going to paste a file that is pretty much stock (with sprecovery).
  8. pc747
    Online

    pc747 DF Administrator Staff Member Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2009
    Messages:
    17,759
    Likes Received:
    1,193
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Go into Rom manager and flash alternate recovery.
    reboot into recovery.
    install that file ese81update.zip (you will have to rename it as stated below), wipe cache, wipe data factory reset, reboot
    Root 2.1 by using SPRecovery

    1. Download ESE81update.zip
    thanks to Pete of Bugless Beast for creating this file
    2. rename the downloaded file to update.zip
    3. mount Droid to computer
    4. copy file from computer to root of sdcard
    5. unmount card from computer
    6. hold X while rebooting until SPRecovery screen comes up
    7. wipe data factory reset
    8. install
    9. allow update.zip
    10. install /sdcard/update.zip (depreciated)

    Credit to video at droid-life.com

    You now have the stock 2.1 rom with root access and can play with Metamorph, apply themes, add a kernel for overclocking and more.
  9. Roland B.
    Offline

    Roland B. New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2010
    Messages:
    100
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Kanab, Utah
    thank you once again, well try soon, im off to work..... thanks again for ur quick response
  10. pc747
    Online

    pc747 DF Administrator Staff Member Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2009
    Messages:
    17,759
    Likes Received:
    1,193
    Trophy Points:
    113
    let us know. i will put this thread on alert
  11. dmacleo
    Offline

    dmacleo Premium Member Rescue Squad Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2010
    Messages:
    1,479
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Etna,ME
    also wondering if there is a button mapping app installed that might be interfering.
    over last 3 days I've installed/uninstalled this rom 5 times testing some stuff and this has never happened. twice I did full wipe and other times I did not.
Similar Threads
  1. zepster
    Replies:
    0
    Views:
    497
  2. NickZ71
    Replies:
    6
    Views:
    759
  3. khsolX
    Replies:
    0
    Views:
    636
  4. smallmouth
    Replies:
    1
    Views:
    465
Loading...