Help installing Busybox and MetaMorph on Droid

Discussion in 'Android Hacks and Help' started by liamjbman10, Jan 2, 2010.

  1. liamjbman10
    Offline

    liamjbman10 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2010
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Just to get this out there --- I AM ROOTED and NANDROID IS INSTALLED:motdroidvert:

    Okay, so rooted my droid and im on 2.0.1 and would like to install and have MetaMorph working cause i found alot of themes i like. I listen to some intructions on that i need to install busybox before i can use MetaMorph. so i get this thing called "DroidrootHelper" (which i used to get nandroid) and i get it up and running with root. I mount System block 4 and press "install chmod busybox" and then unmount it, do a quick restart and no difference. Still get the error on launch of MetaMorph that Busybox isnt installed and that there is not enough space to unzip. Anybody got any sugestions on what to do??:cus: or am i a complete noob?

    **i have looked into using "su
    ln -s/system/bin/busybox/system/bin/cp"

    but that doesnt do any help to me.:cus:
  2. ninoedgar
    Offline

    ninoedgar New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2009
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    i think that's wrong... there is supposed to be a space between busybox and /system... just throwing it out that might be your problem...lol

    ln -s/system/bin/busybox /system/bin/cp
  3. liamjbman10
    Offline

    liamjbman10 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2010
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Good point! Says no such file or directory still.
  4. ninoedgar
    Offline

    ninoedgar New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2009
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    i just notice there is another space missing... between -s and /system...lol....

    ln -s /system/bin/busybox /system/bin/cp
  5. jesusishere
    Offline

    jesusishere New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2010
    Messages:
    99
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    So-Cal
    Yeah I have been trying this as well. All the variations. I cannot seem to get it to work it cannot find it... ever.
  6. Dandroid247
    Offline

    Dandroid247 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2009
    Messages:
    86
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Theres a thread for this somewhere, I wish I could point you in the right direction because I had the same problem when I first put metamorph on my phone. Your sd card isn't mounted when you're trying to run the cmnd by chance is it? Have you checked the files on your phone using AndExplorer to make sure that busybox has been installed in the right place?
  7. Dandroid247
    Offline

    Dandroid247 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2009
    Messages:
    86
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
  8. jesusishere
    Offline

    jesusishere New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2010
    Messages:
    99
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    So-Cal
    Hmm thanks that seemed to help, it took me a while to really understand the steps so I will clarify for other people.

    After Rooting the device and getting DroidRoot Helper working follow these steps:

    1. Open DroidRootHelper.
    2. Select: "Mount mtdblock3 System read/write
    3. Scoll down and select: "Install and chmod busybox(installs to /system/bin)
    4. Start up Terminal Emulator (It can be found on the marketplace one worked for the droid and one did not, both were named the same).
    5. Type: "su" minus the quotes and Press enter
    6. Type "ln -s /system/bin/busybox /system/bin/cp" Minus the quotes. That is Ln not "I"n make sure there is a SPACE between "-s" as well as ".../busybox"
    7. Start up MetaMorph.
    8. Go back to your DroidRootHelper and unmount what you did in step 2
    9. Reboot!

    :icon_ banana:I can attach screen shots or even a video if needed. :icon_ banana:
  9. alienware777
    Offline

    alienware777 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    614
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ok, so I did this. Everything seems to of worked until I try to load up Metamorph. It says that Busybox is not installed. I'm not sure what to do, however I think a safe bet would be to uninstall and reinstall busybox. How do I uninstal it?
  10. magman
    Offline

    magman New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2010
    Messages:
    138
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    ohio
    nope im having no luck still says busybox isnt installed when i try to run metamorph
  11. blue
    Offline

    blue New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2009
    Messages:
    118
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    indianapolis
    I'm having issues as well, I get a link failed file exist. But it still gives me the space error when trying to load metamorph.
  12. frodroid
    Offline

    frodroid New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2009
    Messages:
    147
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    San Diego
    thanks a million. i was having the same exact issues as in first post. following the step by step instructions here i officially have metamorph running. no more binary zip issues.
  13. frodroid
    Offline

    frodroid New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2009
    Messages:
    147
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    San Diego
    jesus saved me with the above steps lol
  14. magman
    Offline

    magman New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2010
    Messages:
    138
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    ohio
    i wanna be saved by jesus to lol.

    anyways i followed it word for word is there somthing i need to do before i start all this that im missing i rooted the phone already any other programe i need .

    now when i do step 6 it say link failed file exists??????
  15. young biz
    Offline

    young biz New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2010
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I need assistance

    I followed the step by step tutorial posted by Dandroid247 but cannot get step 6 installed. The screenshots and video would be highly appreciated.
  16. magman
    Offline

    magman New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2010
    Messages:
    138
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    ohio
    Yes please I know you. Are probably busy bit when you get some free time that would be great and thank you for all the help you been already cya :D
  17. gentlefury
    Offline

    gentlefury New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2009
    Messages:
    443
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I had this same problem....i kinda did a workaround. I went to root explorer and went into system/bin mounted it as r/w and renamed cp to cpbk

    then i went into termemupro and typed ln -s /system/bin/busybox /system/bin/cp

    and it worked just fine.
  18. scross8305
    Offline

    scross8305 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2010
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    thank you jesus,
  19. jesusishere
    Offline

    jesusishere New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2010
    Messages:
    99
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    So-Cal
    Sorry guys ive been really busy with my crappy job. I work 48 hours a week and it kinda drains me on top of that i've been trying to get this hot girl and all. Now thats a success (the girl), I can come back and make a video! It could be possibly tonight (of the phone not the girl, sorry), if not, this coming Thursday. Thanks for your patience! The only problem is that i need to change everything back to stock if I want to effectively show how to get this working.

    ***Update*** Video finished, I need to get to a computer using a reliable internet connection... :)
    *By the way: Be sure not to update your phone to 2.1 when the new OTA comes out. It could unroot your phone permanently.
  20. tackleberry
    Offline

    tackleberry New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2009
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0

    Thanks for the help jesus, worked perfect!!

    Just have to make sure you have the spaces right!!
Search tags for this page

/system could not be mounted as rw metamorph

,

chmod busybox

,
do i need busybox to use metamorph on my phone
,
how to fix metamorph rw error
,

how to install metamorph?

,
how to install right busybox
,

how to use busybox and metamorph

,

how to use metamorph and busybox

,
metamorph /system could not be mounted
,
metamorph busybox error
,
metamorph it does not look like busybox is installed
,
metamorph system could not be mounted
,

metamorph system could not be mounted as rw

,
metamorph themes droid 3 mavrom
,
other than busybox does metamorph need anything else to work