Help install

Discussion in 'ShadowROM' started by ferrari3000, Nov 19, 2010.

1. ferrari3000

ferrari3000 New Member

Ratings:
    +0
    I am trying to install shadowRom v2.1 onto my droid eris and am having some technical difficulties. When it begins to install it is telling me it can't verify a signature and aborts installation. I tried toggling verification but that doesn't help either. Any help would be GREATLY appreciated. Also realize I am very very new to installing custom ROMs.

2. billygalbreath

Developer

Ratings:
    +0
    You get that error when you use a Recovery that checks signatures on install files (Amon's Recovery). We do not sign our installers, because, frankly, its not needed anymore. Here, we believe all custom Recoveries should NOT check for signatures, and thus we do not support the ones that do.

Our supported method of installation is via Rom Manager (free from Market) and ClockworkMod Recovery (installable from Rom Manager). This has been proven to be the easiest and most fool-proof way of installation on any device, for any Rom, and we highly recommend and urge our users to use it.

3. ferrari3000

ferrari3000 New Member

Ratings:
    +0
    Oddly enough, I installed shadowRom from ROM Manager. I figured out what I did wrong, and successfully installed it. However it won't go past the boot screen. It just keeps looping. Why is that? Is it not made for the Droid Eris or is it operator error?

4. billygalbreath

Developer

Ratings:
    +0
    That sucks - you are in the 10% of users that cannot load this rom on Eris. See, there are two versions of the Eris, with different types of screens, which require different types of drivers (i forget the names).

This "bug" on v0.2.1 also affects 10% of Incredible users for the same reason. v0.2.2 fixed the issue for Incredible, but that version had other major issues with the Eris which is why its not built for Eris right now.

Eris users will see a fix in v1.0.0

5. ferrari3000