1. You want that $100.00 in your pocket or an Amazon Fire TV don't you? Well here's the deal. With our new updated look we are in desperate need of an updated logo. The 'old' one has certainly served us well, but it's time. Find all the details here: bit.ly/1q0k6Wa
  2. DroidForums.net is currently undergoing a major software upgrade. If you are experiencing any problems logging in please: Contact Us

Help!! I Need to ROOT my droid but i get FAIL in RSD Lite

Discussion in 'Android Hacks and Help' started by baboulou, Jun 14, 2010.

  1. baboulou
    Offline

    baboulou New Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2010
    Messages:
    50
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    help me please, i am running windows xp home edition, i installed the 32-bit(because it was compatible to the system), followed every step but all i get is FAIL, failed flashing process, i google, went to youtube, and i get the same FAIL message, while others recieve success, i dont know if my phone is immu root, but please help, i have been trying for weeks, also i never see rsd lite go to 26% and pause for the phone to rebbot, the rsd lite goes straight to 100% in less than 45 seconds and then tells me it FAIL. I even tried to downgrade, but rsd give me FAIL message, and i tried to do sprecovery_ES81.SBF and rsd lite give the same FAIL message

    by the way, my droid(not gsm milestone) runs a non-rooted 2.1

    I followed this process: http://www.droid-life.com/2010/05/06/guide-to-rooting-android-2-1-on-a-motorola-droid/
    and many other exaples from other websites, and still no solution
    Last edited: Jun 14, 2010
  2. czerdrill
    Offline

    czerdrill New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2010
    Messages:
    4,828
    Likes Received:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    0
    it should still work even if it says fail...did you check your android version after rebooting your phone?
  3. mwhartman
    Offline

    mwhartman Super Moderator/RS Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2010
    Messages:
    10,739
    Likes Received:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    South FL
  4. dlwhtrose
    Offline

    dlwhtrose Super Moderator Premium Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2009
    Messages:
    2,790
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    God forsaken desert, wishing to be back in Dixie
    I have had RSD Lite say fail when in fact it worked. Manually reboot and check your "about phone" in settings to see what the build says.
  5. CrusoeCale
    Offline

    CrusoeCale New Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2010
    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Evans, GA
    I'm no expert, but this is my 2 cents. Make sure when you run RSD lite you have the phone in recovery mode (turn off then hold up button on d pad and power button while turning it on) and make sure the black screen looks like the one in that video. Also try a different USB port on your computer. I know back in my iTouch jailbreaking days, sometimes the programs would fail because of the USB port I was plugged in to. If RSD gets to the end, then says wait for phone to reboot and says failed, it doesn't mean it didn't work. Either turn it on or wait for it to finish booting.
  6. tcrews
    Offline

    tcrews Premium Member Premium Member Developer

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2010
    Messages:
    1,354
    Likes Received:
    22
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Lexington, SC
    What .sbf file are you trying to flash? Just sprecovery_ES81.SBF ? All that does is install SPRecovery and doesn't affect the phone any other way. You have to boot into recovery to do anything at that point (root or flash a ROM).

    So have you tried booting into recovery yet? (hold X when powering on).
  7. DroiDon
    Offline

    DroiDon New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2010
    Messages:
    57
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I had this problem and tried everything.. I had Win 7 64bit, and eventually the only way that ended up working for me was to use a 32 bit OS. I know it works for others on Win 7 64 bit but it didnt work for me... Here are a list of things that I tried that didn't end up working:

    -Made sure 64 bit drivers were installed, uninstalled/reinstalled numerous times
    -Reinstalled RSD Lite numerous times
    -Turned on USB Debugging
    -Tried putting the SPRecovery file EVERYWHERE... In the root of my c, d, subfolders, no matter where I'd put it the file would fail. If I put it in 'mydocuments', it wouldn't even run, start was greyed out.

    If you're on a 64bit OS and those things haven't worked for you, try a 32bit OS. Thats my recommendation

    Hope I helped in some capacity

    EDIT: By the way, if it failed instantly, it DID NOT flash the phone. You're phone isn't immune to root, you just probably need to try a different pc, as silly as it sounds. If it failed after running some of the script then yes, its possible it did flash and you should check in recovery.
    Last edited: Jun 15, 2010
  8. christim
    Offline

    christim Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2010
    Messages:
    5,112
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    New England
    Interesting tip. I'd be interested in knowing if that works for anyone, switching usb ports the phone is plugged into.

    The fail yet completed is an odd one and happens often. Not sure if it happens consistently to the same people or just randomly. I wouldn't think it would be a usb port issue because then I would expect a real failure to occur...but who knows. It's amazing enough these phones, the size of a deck of cards can do half of what they do!
  9. DroiDon
    Offline

    DroiDon New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2010
    Messages:
    57
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I knew I'd forget a few things, but in my case I did try all my usb ports and it didn't make a difference for me. Trying a different computer was probably the number one advice given to me in the thread I started, and I exhausted all my resources because I refused to think trying a different computer was the answer. It may just save some headaches to try it, it would have saved me some.
  10. christim
    Offline

    christim Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2010
    Messages:
    5,112
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    New England
    That one works often. I'm guilty of this myself, sometimes we try and fix things so hard a certain way we forget about other options and hours (days?) go by. Look at a fly and how it will slam against the window all day long until it dies, while the door is just right over there:)
  11. kevdog
    Offline

    kevdog New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2009
    Messages:
    722
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    It sometimes says fail when it actually succeeded. Just my 2 cents -- and this problem has been well documented.
  12. mwhartman
    Offline

    mwhartman Super Moderator/RS Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2010
    Messages:
    10,739
    Likes Received:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    South FL
    I rooted my phone in February. At that time, I had the 2.0.1 OS and there were a number of tutorials providing a manual process plus a few process that would root for you. When 2.1 was initially released, individuals who wanted to root reverted back to 2.0.1, rooted, and installed a 2.1 rom. Then, the "infamous" RSD process surfaced and that became the path (standard) to rooting.

    RSD has caused quite a bit of frustration for Windows box's. Mac users can't use it. For me, the pre RSD processes were less of a hassle, more efficient, and quicker.

    My two cents.

    Mike
  13. baboulou
    Offline

    baboulou New Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2010
    Messages:
    50
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    1) for czerdrill, when i boot up the phone, my phone is still 2.1

    2) for mwhartman, i still get the same failed error on rsd, and still no recovery

    3) for dlwhtrose and CrusoeCale , i understand when it say fail, that it still could work, but it still doesnt, even after it say fail, my phone stays on bootloader screen for hours, and even when i press the power button, nothing happens so i had to take the battery out for my droid to load up normally

    4) for tcrews, i tried using sprecovery and try downgrading to 2.0.1 and still get failed message and phone stays the same

    5) for christim, i have tried that, only 32-bit work on my computer

    6) for
  14. mwhartman
    Offline

    mwhartman Super Moderator/RS Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2010
    Messages:
    10,739
    Likes Received:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    South FL
  15. baboulou
    Offline

    baboulou New Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2010
    Messages:
    50
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    nope did not help