Help! I kind of Fubared my Phone

Discussion in 'Android Roms' started by cpu77, May 12, 2010.

  1. cpu77
    Offline

    cpu77 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2010
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    So I decided to root my phone to run stock 2.1 rooted. So I down graded my OS to 2.01 using RSDLITE 4.6. Durring the flash I got a Failed at 97%. The phone would turn on but just a blank white screen. I then tried flashing again. This time the bootloader comes up with this message..........

    Bootloader 2C.6C
    Code Corrupt.


    So I figure maybe the image was bad. So went out and got another image and then reflashed. It makes it a 100% in rsdlite but says failed. Phone reboots with 2.01 on it appears fine except two things it won't login to google even over WIFI. When I try to use the phone. I get Not registered on network. I can't do *228. Any idea how to fix it I just want 2.1 back. I use the phone for business. I should know better. Please guys help me
    Last edited: May 12, 2010
  2. cpu77
    Offline

    cpu77 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2010
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I have my wifes phone running 2.1 can I backup her phone and restore it to mine. I am really lost here.


    I tried to follow these directions.........

    Droid 2.0.1 sbf file released!
  3. gavron
    Offline

    gavron New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2010
    Messages:
    555
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    now that you have 2.01... even if some things don't work, you're FINE!

    1. follow the instructions to root 2.01. If the market doesn't work, use the update.zip method.

    2. install a new ROM. Pick one.

    You'll now have a fully functional rooted 2.1 system :)

    E
  4. cpu77
    Offline

    cpu77 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2010
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I should be able to activate my phone though right I can't. What if I don't want to root it now?

  5. JCo352
    Offline

    JCo352 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2010
    Messages:
    1,829
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Texas
    You might as well, you've gotten this far. But, just try logging into your Gmail again, sometimes it does that.
  6. cpu77
    Offline

    cpu77 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2010
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0

    Ever heard of it not giving you a option to reactivate service? When I dial *228 I get not registered on network.
  7. JCo352
    Offline

    JCo352 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2010
    Messages:
    1,829
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Texas
    No, but I'm guessing it has something to do with the baseband. Because in 2.0.1 we had the .01P baseband, and on 2.1 we have a .03P baseband.
  8. gavron
    Offline

    gavron New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2010
    Messages:
    555
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Dude. Your flashing didn't work. You're halfway to a useful phone.

    Flash a new ROM. It will work. Ideally you'll flash a 2.1 ROM with the new Baseband, but that's up to you.

    after that *22891 should be fine (same as *228 option 1)

    Also you want to sign into google (gmail) to get the market, etc. to work.

    E

    EDIT: JCO352 said pretty much the same thing while I was typing... go to a new ROM with 2.1 and the new Baseband and everything will be OK.

    RSDLITE is joke software. Unless you have a dedicated system with just the right config from Motorola it is flaky. If it wasn't you could just flash the 2.1 rooted stock ROM. (Although you could try that. Won't hurt anything).
  9. cpu77
    Offline

    cpu77 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2010
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    So after I have 2.01 is there a update.zip to upgrade me to 2.1? Know where I might find it? I really appreciate your quick replies:)
  10. gavron
    Offline

    gavron New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2010
    Messages:
    555
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    If you want to use the "update.zip" method, you'll want to
    1. root your 2.01
    2. install any 2.1 ROM



    If you want to SBF/RSDLITE it, use the 2.1"stock"+root SBF.

    E
  11. cpu77
    Offline

    cpu77 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2010
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Well I want 2.1 Stock +root I am currently at 2.01. Where do I find the stock 2.1 SBF?

    Thanks alot for all the help!
  12. cpu77
    Offline

    cpu77 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2010
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    BTW how do I update baseband on a non rooted phone? Can it be a update.zip?
  13. gavron
    Offline

    gavron New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2010
    Messages:
    555
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
  14. governmentcheese
    Offline

    governmentcheese New Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2010
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Columbus, ohio
    been thinking about rooting my moto droid, i like modding things but cant think of a good reason to do it? what are some of the kick ass benifits of rooting the droid?
  15. cpu77
    Offline

    cpu77 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2010
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Thank you my issue is I can't get on the market place to get 2.1 update so where do I find it so sbf from 2.0.1 to to 2.1? Does that make sense?
  16. cpu77
    Offline

    cpu77 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2010
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
  17. gavron
    Offline

    gavron New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2010
    Messages:
    555
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
  18. gavron
    Offline

    gavron New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2010
    Messages:
    555
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
  19. cpu77
    Offline

    cpu77 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2010
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0

    Seems my main issue is finding a way to upgrade to 2.1 in a format I know what to do something with.

    I find zip files which contain tar files and Img files but not sure how those work in this application. Sure I can open them look at them but do I rename a file to update.zip toss on my sd card and use the update function?
  20. cpu77
    Offline

    cpu77 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2010
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I really appreciate the help. I have to go to work in 4hrs:) I am tired:(