Help! I kind of Fubared my Phone

Discussion in 'Android Roms' started by cpu77, May 12, 2010.

  1. cpu77
    Offline

    cpu77 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2010
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    So I decided to root my phone to run stock 2.1 rooted. So I down graded my OS to 2.01 using RSDLITE 4.6. Durring the flash I got a Failed at 97%. The phone would turn on but just a blank white screen. I then tried flashing again. This time the bootloader comes up with this message..........

    Bootloader 2C.6C
    Code Corrupt.


    So I figure maybe the image was bad. So went out and got another image and then reflashed. It makes it a 100% in rsdlite but says failed. Phone reboots with 2.01 on it appears fine except two things it won't login to google even over WIFI. When I try to use the phone. I get Not registered on network. I can't do *228. Any idea how to fix it I just want 2.1 back. I use the phone for business. I should know better. Please guys help me
     
    Last edited: May 12, 2010
  2. cpu77
    Offline

    cpu77 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2010
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I have my wifes phone running 2.1 can I backup her phone and restore it to mine. I am really lost here.


    I tried to follow these directions.........

    Droid 2.0.1 sbf file released!
     
  3. gavron
    Online

    gavron Guest

    Ratings:
    +0
    now that you have 2.01... even if some things don't work, you're FINE!

    1. follow the instructions to root 2.01. If the market doesn't work, use the update.zip method.

    2. install a new ROM. Pick one.

    You'll now have a fully functional rooted 2.1 system :)

    E
     
  4. cpu77
    Offline

    cpu77 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2010
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I should be able to activate my phone though right I can't. What if I don't want to root it now?

     
  5. JCo352
    Offline

    JCo352 Senior Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2010
    Messages:
    1,825
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    Texas
    Ratings:
    +0
    You might as well, you've gotten this far. But, just try logging into your Gmail again, sometimes it does that.
     
  6. cpu77
    Offline

    cpu77 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2010
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0

    Ever heard of it not giving you a option to reactivate service? When I dial *228 I get not registered on network.
     
  7. JCo352
    Offline

    JCo352 Senior Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2010
    Messages:
    1,825
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    Texas
    Ratings:
    +0
    No, but I'm guessing it has something to do with the baseband. Because in 2.0.1 we had the .01P baseband, and on 2.1 we have a .03P baseband.
     
  8. gavron
    Online

    gavron Guest

    Ratings:
    +0
    Dude. Your flashing didn't work. You're halfway to a useful phone.

    Flash a new ROM. It will work. Ideally you'll flash a 2.1 ROM with the new Baseband, but that's up to you.

    after that *22891 should be fine (same as *228 option 1)

    Also you want to sign into google (gmail) to get the market, etc. to work.

    E

    EDIT: JCO352 said pretty much the same thing while I was typing... go to a new ROM with 2.1 and the new Baseband and everything will be OK.

    RSDLITE is joke software. Unless you have a dedicated system with just the right config from Motorola it is flaky. If it wasn't you could just flash the 2.1 rooted stock ROM. (Although you could try that. Won't hurt anything).
     
  9. cpu77
    Offline

    cpu77 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2010
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    So after I have 2.01 is there a update.zip to upgrade me to 2.1? Know where I might find it? I really appreciate your quick replies:)
     
  10. gavron
    Online

    gavron Guest

    Ratings:
    +0
    If you want to use the "update.zip" method, you'll want to
    1. root your 2.01
    2. install any 2.1 ROM



    If you want to SBF/RSDLITE it, use the 2.1"stock"+root SBF.

    E
     
  11. cpu77
    Offline

    cpu77 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2010
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Well I want 2.1 Stock +root I am currently at 2.01. Where do I find the stock 2.1 SBF?

    Thanks alot for all the help!
     
  12. cpu77
    Offline

    cpu77 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2010
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    BTW how do I update baseband on a non rooted phone? Can it be a update.zip?
     
  13. gavron
    Online

    gavron Guest

    Ratings:
    +0
  14. governmentcheese
    Offline

    governmentcheese New Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2010
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Columbus, ohio
    Ratings:
    +0
    been thinking about rooting my moto droid, i like modding things but cant think of a good reason to do it? what are some of the kick ass benifits of rooting the droid?
     
  15. cpu77
    Offline

    cpu77 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2010
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thank you my issue is I can't get on the market place to get 2.1 update so where do I find it so sbf from 2.0.1 to to 2.1? Does that make sense?