1. DroidForums.net is currently undergoing a major software upgrade. If you are experiencing any problems logging in please: Contact Us

Help!! I can open clockwork recovery but I can't boot Droid 1

Discussion in 'Droid Rooted Help' started by Biggerdave, Jan 13, 2011.

  1. Biggerdave
    Offline

    Biggerdave New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2011
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Yesterday I flashed a custom rom and now when I turn the phone on all I get is the M for a second and then a black screen forever. I can open clockwork mod recovery by pressing Power and X at the same time but I don't know what to do next. Somebody please help
  2. hookbill
    Offline

    hookbill Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    19,545
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    N.E. Ohio
    Well, if you can get into recovery you should be able to restore your back up.

    You did make a back up, right?
  3. coondogg97
    Offline

    coondogg97 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009
    Messages:
    378
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Philly Burbs
    If you can still get into Clockwork Recovery you should be able to just reflash another rom. Just download the ROM you want to use and put it on your SD card. Then you can install the ROM directly from your phone.

    Good luck!
  4. Biggerdave
    Offline

    Biggerdave New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2011
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Yep. I made a backup using Rom Manager before I ran into this problem. How do I go about restoring my back up?
  5. kylo77
    Offline

    kylo77 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2009
    Messages:
    133
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    If you did a backup then once you are in clockwork recovery scroll down to Nandroid (use the volume rocker) and then press the camera button to select. Once in there press restore (again with the camera button), you should then see a list of your backups. Select the backup and let it go. Once it's done select reboot phone.
  6. em1
    Offline

    em1 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2011
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Virginia
    If that doesn't work, there's always sbf. You can flash it back to its original out of the box state

    Sent from the Milestone
  7. Biggerdave
    Offline

    Biggerdave New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2011
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    My phone started doing this when I was flashing a ROM. I'm worried that it wasn't compatible. I have Froyo FRG22D. Any recommendations? And how do I flash them with clockwork recovery after I get them on the SD card?
  8. kylo77
    Offline

    kylo77 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2009
    Messages:
    133
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Your phone started doing what? At this point you should restore your backup to stabilize the phone they try a custom ROM all over again.
  9. Biggerdave
    Offline

    Biggerdave New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2011
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Sorry for the confusion Kylo77. Didn't see your first post haha Im trying that right now.
  10. em1
    Offline

    em1 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2011
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Virginia
    If he has a backup. If not, you will.need a tool called RSD Lite an a compatible SBF file that you'll.have to flash in bootloader mode. There's a full how to on XDA Forums

    Sent from the Milestone
  11. Biggerdave
    Offline

    Biggerdave New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2011
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Alrighty I got the back up to work. Thanks a lot. I REALLY appreciate it :icon_ banana:
  12. kylo77
    Offline

    kylo77 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2009
    Messages:
    133
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I've been in your shoes...happy flashing!
  13. teddyearp
    Offline

    teddyearp New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2010
    Messages:
    1,800
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Randle, WA
    @ em1, flashing a full .sbf file with RSD Lite 4.6 should ALWAYS be considered as a totally last resort. If the op couldn't have fixed with a backup, there were still many, many, many different ways to fix the phone without RSD Lite.
  14. em1
    Offline

    em1 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2011
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Virginia
    If it wasn't responding to ANYTHING past recovery, RSD Lite would've fixed it. I'm sorry if you don't see it this way, but sometimes it's easier to wipe and restart than mess with something and make it completely useless am unfixable.

    Sent from the Milestone
  15. teddyearp
    Offline

    teddyearp New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2010
    Messages:
    1,800
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Randle, WA
    Are you basing this on your knowledge with the Milestone? Because that is the only way that it is totally true. I am not saying that RSD Lite wouldn't fix it, but considering that RSD Lite is Motorola proprietary software as are the leaked .sbf files, if anything goes wrong there, then you can brick your phone to total useless state in a hurry and that is why IMHO it should be the last resort.

    For the A855 Droid, if you can boot into recovery, there's tons of things you can do there to restore your phone, and NONE of them will leave a A855 Droid phone "completely useless and unfixable". Factory data rest, restore a backup, flash a different kernel, flash a different rom, just to name a few.
    Last edited: Jan 21, 2011
  16. em1
    Offline

    em1 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2011
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Virginia
    I am basing my knowledge off of a CDMA A854 (Which is a rebranded A855). I apologize, thought you were trolling me. But the reason why I said to sbf is because I tried all of your fix options on my Milestone when it bit the dirt. Unfortunately for me, even an sbf flash proved to not work. I'm not on the vzw network, I'm on ntelos. After flashing, my milestone would only recognize the Verizon network and I had to get it flashed back to the default software at ntelos. Thanks for not trolling :)

    Sent from the Milestone
  17. teddyearp
    Offline

    teddyearp New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2010
    Messages:
    1,800
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Randle, WA
    No I am not trolling and I hope you haven't taken my posts as any kind of attack on you. I just like to think that the person who comes later is going to read the whole thing and therefore hope to put out the most complete and accurate information as I can.

    As I understand it the A854 and the A855 are still different in that the A854 has the hardware bootloader authentication (locked bootloader), therefore preventing a 'true' install of a custom recovery system, therefore the options are fewer with the A854 as opposed to the A855.
  18. em1
    Offline

    em1 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2011
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Virginia
    True. Didn't think of that.

    In most cases an A854 is different. But that's only the GSM versions. I have what they called an A854 but it's a rebranded vzw Droid. I'm on a CDMA network, running clockwork recovery, and installed bugless beast. It does not have a locked bootloader. As far as I know, all cdma milestones are "unlocked" at the bootloader allowing custom recoveries to be installed.


    Sent from the Milestone
  19. teddyearp
    Offline

    teddyearp New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2010
    Messages:
    1,800
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Randle, WA
    Well, if you don't have to use koush's boostrap program and could in theory install ANY custom recovery image, then I guess it is virtually the same as the A855.
Search tags for this page

can't reboot into recovery a855

,

cannot recovery boot droid a855

,

cant open clockworkmod and cant boot

,

clockwork recovery recovery.bat uable to open

,

how to boot in clockwork rooted s4

,

how to open clockworkmod