HELP - Home key and others not working

droidheadache

Reaction score
I'm brand new to this, so please go easy. My phone is completely stock (original Moto Droid, running Android ver 2.2.3, build FRK76).
Recently it's been acting up more than normal (which is saying something). Two days ago it erased all my text messages. As of yesterday, the Home key (along with several areas on the virtual portrait keyboard and virtual landscape keyboard stopped responding).
Not working:
Home
Browser (from hotkey and also from app list)
several letters in virtual keyboard (portrait... u, i, o, j, b, n; landscape... some parts of XT9 suggested word bar)

I've already tried all the basic stuff (pull the battery, hard reset, uninstall apps).
I just did a hard reset (using Privacy / Factory data reset), and it didn't fix it.

If anyone has any suggestions, please let me know. I need to make this thing last until June or July, and it won't make it if I can't use some of the virtual keys.

BTW - I'm not so Android literate, so I wasn't planning to root it.

Thanks for your help!

Last edited:

nickmind

Reaction score
I'm brand new to this, so please go easy. My phone is completely stock (original Moto Droid, running Android ver 2.2.3, build FRK76).
Recently it's been acting up more than normal (which is saying something). Two days ago it erased all my text messages. As of yesterday, the Home key (along with several areas on the virtual portrait keyboard and virtual landscape keyboard stopped responding).
Not working:
Home
Browser (from hotkey and also from app list)
several letters in virtual keyboard (portrait... u, i, o, j, b, n; landscape... some parts of XT9 suggested word bar)

I've already tried all the basic stuff (pull the battery, hard reset, uninstall apps).
I just did a hard reset (using Privacy / Factory data reset), and it didn't fix it.