Help! Folders & Rooted question

JCalderon24

Reaction score
Okay I am new here and I was hoping someone can help me - First - In the app drawer I want to know how to make folders (or if you can) - like can I put all my games into a "games folder" in the app drawer? And also - I hear people talking about a "rooted" droid and such - what does that mean?? Thank you!!! I've had this phone for about 3 weeks and I am STILL learning all it can do - AMAZING!!

christim

Super Moderator
Rescue Squad
Reaction score
you can't make folders within the app drawer but you can long-press on a blank spot on one of your desktops and create a folder there. I have ones named games, tools, sysutils, maps, camera, and music.

to root your phone means to gain admin access to it. Once you have root powers you can change any file. Being able to change files means you can replace them. Folks have created roms which are all the files needed to run your phone...but with tweaks made. It might give you the ability to run the phone faster (overclock) or run apps you can't unrooted, such as wifi-tethering. you can modify the screens and get pretty deep into it all or just use other's work to update your phone.

There's also plenty of ways to modify your phone without rooting too. Poke around the forums here, read through the threads and ask questions like this one.

nerdbox08

Reaction score
Okay I am new here and I was hoping someone can help me - First - In the app drawer I want to know how to make folders (or if you can) - like can I put all my games into a "games folder" in the app drawer? And also - I hear people talking about a "rooted" droid and such - what does that mean?? Thank you!!! I've had this phone for about 3 weeks and I am STILL learning all it can do - AMAZING!!

You cannot put folders into the app drawer. That is for your installed applications.

You can however, make a folder on one of your homescreens and add whatever you want to them.