HELP! droid reboot loop

Discussion in 'Android Tech Support' started by captkras, Oct 23, 2010.

  1. captkras
    Offline

    captkras New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2009
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hey all,

    I have a Moto Droid, running Froyo 2.2. I decided to brave the water and root my phone. That went well. Then I went to start installing the cyanogenMod. However, when I got th toe install SPRecovery step found on the wiki site

    Full Update Guide - Motorola Droid - CyanogenMod Wiki

    My phone no longer saw that I was plugged in via USB, it says I have 0% power on my battery, and I am getting the following two messages...

    "This feature does not support the current system version"

    and

    "Process sytem is not responding"

    RSD Lite says for status "Please manually power up this phone".

    HELP!!!!!
     
  2. captkras
    Offline

    captkras New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2009
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I powered my droid down, and left it connected all night. I then found

    VZW_A855_ESD56_QSC6085BP_C_01.3E.01P_SW_UPDATE_03. sbf

    and reverted to 2.0.1. At least it's seeing the USB connection and is powering the battery, and is no longer rebooting.

    Next step is to get it to 2.2 again.
     
  3. DF Smod
    Offline

    DF Smod Silver Member

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2010
    Messages:
    11,457
    Likes Received:
    92
    Trophy Points:
    163
    Ratings:
    +92
    Glad you got it :happy:

    Let us know if you get stuck

    Sent from my Original Droid using the Exclusive Droid Forums App (Available Free in the Market) :wink:
     
  4. hookbill
    Offline

    hookbill Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    19,502
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    168
    Location:
    N.E. Ohio
    Ratings:
    +7
    Usually a boot loop means you need to wipe both cache and data. In your case since you are not rooted, or I don't believe you are you may want to initiate a Factory Data Reset our of your privacy section in your settings. Only do this is you get the boot loop again.
     
  5. captkras
    Offline

    captkras New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2009
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I have it back to 2.0.1 now. cleared the cache, and it appears to be factory reset (had to re-enter my google account). Thankfully, I used astro to backup my apps, and was able to get them reinstalled.

    It isn't updating to 2.2 though. Got the update file, but am getting the following:

    E: Can't open /cache/recovery/command

    -- Install from sdcard...
    Finding update package...
    Opening update package...
    Verifying update package...
    Installing update...
    assert failed: file_getprop("/system/build.prop", "ro.build.fingerprint") == "verizon/voles/sholes/sholes:2.1-update/ESE81/29593:user/release-keys" || file_getprop("/system/build.prop", "ro.build.fingerprint") == "verizon/voles/sholes/sholes:2.2-update/FRG01B/45394:user/release-keys"
    E:Error in /sdcard/update.zip
    (Status 7)
    Installation aborted

    Any thoughts on this?
     
  6. DF Smod
    Offline

    DF Smod Silver Member

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2010
    Messages:
    11,457
    Likes Received:
    92
    Trophy Points:
    163
    Ratings:
    +92
    Are you Stock 2.0.1 or Rooted 2.0.1

    Sent from my Original Droid using the Exclusive Droid Forums App (Available Free in the Market) :wink:
     
  7. captkras
    Offline

    captkras New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2009
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Stock I believe, as I don't get a root prompt.

    Used the VZW_A855_ESD56_QSC6085BP_C_01.3E.01P_SW_UPDATE_03. sbf

    file.
     
  8. captkras
    Offline

    captkras New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2009
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Oh yeah, cleared both data and cache, still got the same error.

    I WAS running 2.2 stock, prior to my root attempt.
     
  9. captkras
    Offline

    captkras New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2009
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I just answered my own question.... (see this thread http://www.droidforums.net/forum/droid-stock-help/91607-update-2-0-1-2-2-issues.html#post935260 )

    the answer is YES! If you are on stock 2.0.1 and want to get to 2.2, it looks like you need to first go to 2.1.

    I thought that might be the case as the asert is looking to see if you are at on 2.1, and not below. That was the part that was failing.

    I got my 2.1 image ( signed-voles-ESE81-from-ESD56.fa406da6.zip ) from

    signed-voles-ESE81-from-ESD56.fa406da6.zip

    copied it to my SD card, renamed it to update.zip, went to recovery mode, and installed it, just like any other manual update, and then I was on 2.1.

    Grabbed the stock 2.2 update.zip image, rebooted to recovery a second time, and now back to stock 2.2.

    Now do I dare trying to root and install a custom ROM, which got me farked in the first place....
     
  10. harrellj
    Offline

    harrellj Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2010
    Messages:
    1,058
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Ratings:
    +0
    How were you rooting your phone in the first place?
     
  11. captkras
    Offline

    captkras New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2009
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
Search tags for this page

droid google account recovery loop

,

droid razr infinite loop

,

kuyadroid reboot loop