1. DroidForums.net is currently undergoing a major software upgrade. If you are experiencing any problems logging in please: Contact Us

Help can't SBF my Droid 2 - Linux/Windows

Discussion in 'Android Tech Support' started by 1up, Feb 14, 2011.

  1. 1up
    Offline

    1up New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2010
    Messages:
    104
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Los Angeles, CA
    Made a post over at XDA in light of some help.. Decided i'll try to post here as well. This is my problem:

    I can not for the life of me get my Droid 2 back to its original state. I've tried both the Windows (RSDLite) and Linux method. Both of them fail. I pray that someone can help me, since I do not have insurance on my device it would cost a pretty penny to get a new one.

    For Windows, these are the tools i've tried and FAILED:
    1. RSDLite

    • RSDLite 4.7 w/ patch


    • RSDLite 4.8


    • RSDLite 4.9


    • Moto Connect 4.7


    • Moto Connect 4.8


    • 10 different versions of the SBF file

    This is my output from FlashErrorLog02_10_16_45_02
    2. For Linux, these are the tools i've tried and FAILED:

    • sbf_flash v1.08


    • sbf_flash v1.11


    • 10 different versions of the Droid 2 SBF

    This is my error output:
    I am hoping someone here could help me. I've spent the last 3 days trying this and reading over 1000++ threads and different methods.

    ------------------------------------------

    My Droid 2 is currently using Bootloader D2.37. I've refreshed and reloaded the Bootloader.. I've also tried to downgrade it in attempt to see if it'd do anything, but it seems to not allow me to - says Failed. I followed a thread somewhere on this site.

    These are the problems i'm encountering which is leading to me wanting to restore my phone.

    About a week ago, my phone suddenly Force Closed on everything I attempted to open. At the moment, I was sending a text. I then rebooted my device, and oddly enough, all my "new" text I sent were gone. It only restored the last time my phone was in a usable state. Seems to not save anything I do on my phone prior to the reboot. I'm not sure what the heck the deal is. My phone still works, but every few hours I must reboot my phone.

    I've already tried multiple times to Wipe Data/Cache, Uninstall Apps (once I reboot, they all come back), and deleting Bootstrap through ADB/Terminal and reinstalling. I can't even get into Bootstrap.. I just can't seem to do anything with my device. Everytime I remove or delete something, the next reboot will bring them back.

    Has anyone ever heard of this weird issue? I've tried searching to see if this has happened to anyone elses Droid 2, but it seems i'm the first to encounter this [​IMG]
  2. nerdslogic
    Offline

    nerdslogic New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2010
    Messages:
    2,540
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Cybertron
    That's crazy....What about that TBH app on the market? Gives you SBF in a zip which requires no computer....have you tried that?
  3. spaz33g
    Offline

    spaz33g Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2010
    Messages:
    6,379
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    orange county, ca
    Were you running rsd as andministrator on the pc?
  4. hookbill
    Offline

    hookbill Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    19,545
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    N.E. Ohio
  5. 1up
    Offline

    1up New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2010
    Messages:
    104
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Los Angeles, CA
  6. furbearingmammal
    Offline

    furbearingmammal DF Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2010
    Messages:
    10,354
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    So far north in NY I smell maple syrup when the wi
    You need 4.8 or 4.9 to flash on the D2, so starting point is to use one of them.

    Are you running a ROM? If so, what? And which version?

    What version of Windows are you running? And why do you need to take it back to stock? Have you done a factory reset? :)
  7. nerdslogic
    Offline

    nerdslogic New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2010
    Messages:
    2,540
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Cybertron
    FYI....TBH is $2....search Team Black Hat.
  8. Droid DOES!!
    Offline

    Droid DOES!! What iDoesn't Theme Developer Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2010
    Messages:
    6,321
    Likes Received:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    0
    +1



    DroidForums Junkie!!
  9. 1up
    Offline

    1up New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2010
    Messages:
    104
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Los Angeles, CA
    @furbearingmammal:

    1. Yup, I've tried RSDLite 4.7 w/ patch, 4.8, and 4.9 respectively. All versions returned Failed results. I've tried to run it on all available versions of Windows accessible to me.

    2. Currently I am running Fission 2.2.1.

    3. My device is constantly Force Closing. It does not save anything I do. After every reboot, everything I did prior to the reboot disappears. THis is why i'm in the need of SBF'ing. Factory wipe does not go through from Recovery (Stock Recovery), and/or through my phone setting. I can not get into Bootstrap Recovery, otherwise I would wipe this ROM off and re-install a new ROM over it.
  10. furbearingmammal
    Offline

    furbearingmammal DF Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2010
    Messages:
    10,354
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    So far north in NY I smell maple syrup when the wi
    Can you reinstall Bootstrapper? Also, have you tried ROM Manager to flash Clockwork? You can sometimes force Clockwork to load by doing multiple battery pulls.

    Have you booted into safe mode?
  11. Droid DOES!!
    Offline

    Droid DOES!! What iDoesn't Theme Developer Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2010
    Messages:
    6,321
    Likes Received:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I was JUST thinking that :)



    DroidForums Junkie!!
  12. 1up
    Offline

    1up New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2010
    Messages:
    104
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Los Angeles, CA
    I've tried to reinstall BootStrapper, it did no good. I even went as far as purchasing the App directly from the market, along with TBH's app. Problem is, the App does not stick, so after rebooting it restores everything back to how it was prior to the installation of any app. This problem is driving me crazy. I'm in the process of closing a deal off a Craigslist seller for a D2G. I hope I can get it tomorrow. I still want to fix this phone :\

    I still want to fix this phone though, so I could possibly resell it or give it to



    Edit: Yea PC was helping me, we've tried different methods to no avail. What is this Safe Mode? Is it X+Power, Camera+Vol Up/Down+Power?
  13. furbearingmammal
    Offline

    furbearingmammal DF Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2010
    Messages:
    10,354
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    So far north in NY I smell maple syrup when the wi
    How to start your Motorola Droid 2 smartphone in Safe Mode. This will boot the device with the default software and settings. It is used for those occasions when you have installed something on your phone that has caused it to malfunction to a point where you can’t undo it.

    1. Power the Droid 2 off.

    2. Slide the keyboard open.

    3. Press and hold the OK key while powering the device back on.

    4. Keep holding the OK key until you see the Home screen load. It should say Safe Mode in the bottom-left corner of the screen.

    To take the device out of Safe Mode, simply power the device off, then back on.

    Taken from here: Droid 2: Enable Safe Mode

    See if that even works. If it does, you might be able to make some changes and be able to fix things.
  14. 1up
    Offline

    1up New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2010
    Messages:
    104
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Los Angeles, CA
    I was able to get into Safe Mode, i'm not exactly sure what I could do in here. My App Drawer only shows the default apps. What do you suggest I do in here?
  15. furbearingmammal
    Offline

    furbearingmammal DF Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2010
    Messages:
    10,354
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    So far north in NY I smell maple syrup when the wi
    Try doing a few things. If you don't get all those FC issues then you know it's probably an app screwing things up in normal mode.

    Does the Market work in Safe Mode? If so, try installing Bootstrapper again.
  16. 1up
    Offline

    1up New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2010
    Messages:
    104
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Los Angeles, CA
    Upon booting up my device in safe mode, first thing I noticed is I get a Force Close on the app 'Sweet Notes'. Market works, I am able to download - but not able to open the app after the download and installation is complete.

    I'm going to mess wit it a bit more to see if I come up with anything.
  17. furbearingmammal
    Offline

    furbearingmammal DF Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2010
    Messages:
    10,354
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    So far north in NY I smell maple syrup when the wi
    Any luck? I hope so. :)
  18. 1up
    Offline

    1up New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2010
    Messages:
    104
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Los Angeles, CA
    I gave up. I'm just gonna let it rest, and recover from my lost brain cells the past week trying to fix it. I got a new phone now. I bought a Droid 2 Global. Kinda digging it.. just not the price I paid for it :| Going to stay stock for awhile, then see what's out there when i'm ready to flash.

    Thanks for the help. I just wish I was able to get it fixed! LoL
  19. furbearingmammal
    Offline

    furbearingmammal DF Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2010
    Messages:
    10,354
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    So far north in NY I smell maple syrup when the wi
    Unfortunately these phones sometimes just break. :(
  20. 1up
    Offline

    1up New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2010
    Messages:
    104
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Los Angeles, CA
    I just don't understand what happened. I want to know if it's hardware related, or just some files totally jacked up on the device. Oh wells. Maybe when i'm ready to give it another try it will have a better turnout
Search tags for this page

windows device has malfunctioned droid x sbf