Help - can't root replacement phone

Discussion in 'Android Hacks and Help' started by Mac Attack, Jan 16, 2011.

  1. Mac Attack

    Mac Attack Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2010
    Messages:
    52
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    I had to replace my Droid 1 today and when I tried to root my new phone using Easy Root. It says I rooted successfully but I do not see the Super User app and when I tried to install a ROM through Rom Manager it says I am not rooted.

    What do I do to reroot my phone?
     
  2. Oats

    Oats New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2010
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0

    I am in the same boat. The new replacement phones have 2.2.1 on them and can not be rooted with the one click aps. You need to use Superoneclickroot on your computer and I cant get that to work on my mac!
     
  3. dfuser312553

    dfuser312553 Silver Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2010
    Messages:
    2,078
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    101
    Ratings:
    +0
    Don't know how Macs work with RSD (if at all) but couldn't you sbf back to 2.0.1, 2.1, or 2.2?
     
  4. Johnly

    Johnly Guest

    Ratings:
    +0
    I see you have begun to post in the correct threads...you are on your way:icon_ banana:
     
  5. Oats

    Oats New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2010
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    How can I flash a recovery without a rooted phone? I dont think SBF will work.
     
  6. dfuser312553

    dfuser312553 Silver Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2010
    Messages:
    2,078
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    101
    Ratings:
    +0
  7. Mac Attack

    Mac Attack Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2010
    Messages:
    52
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Update - I was able to root my phone using MotoCache1's thread. However, when I installed LFY v1.96 my system hangs on reboot. So I installed LFY v1.95 and the same thing happens, I never make it past the blue screen.

    What do I need to do to get LFY installed on my phone? I hate to think that I just bricked a brand new phone. Any help would be greatly appreciated.
     
  8. dbst

    dbst Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2010
    Messages:
    447
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Indiana
    Ratings:
    +0
    You're in a bootloop, did you wipe before you installed?

    Sent from my DROID2 using DroidForums App
     
  9. furbearingmammal

    furbearingmammal Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2010
    Messages:
    11,162
    Likes Received:
    372
    Trophy Points:
    513
    Location:
    Anywhere you're not
    Ratings:
    +455
    Current Phone Model:
    32GB Moto X Developers Edition
    Twitter:
    furryvarmint
    Wipe the phone, from recovery, 2x each system/cache/factory reset.

    Oh, and Easy Root hasn't worked since FRG01B. That's WAY out of date. Suggestion -- start reading again. :) The last thing you want to do is do something that turns your $500-retail/replacement value phone into an interesting paperweight. :D
     
  10. mobile_sensei

    mobile_sensei Team Liberty
    Theme Developer Premium Member

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2010
    Messages:
    917
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Land of Liberty
    Ratings:
    +1
    z4 root is your friend ...

    DROID X Rolling On £IBERTY ROM 1.0 // TapaTalk Pro
     
  11. dfuser312553

    dfuser312553 Silver Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2010
    Messages:
    2,078
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    101
    Ratings:
    +0
    ^Wouldn't work on FRG83D
     
  12. Mac Attack

    Mac Attack Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2010
    Messages:
    52
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    FINALLY! I ended up having to install the ROM several times and it finally stuck.

    Thanks guys for the advice.