HELP! Can't get passed boot 'M' logo on Droid 2

Discussion in 'Droid 2 Tech Issues' started by nckmh, Apr 6, 2011.

  1. nckmh
    Offline

    nckmh New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2011
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    HELP! I Can't get passed the boot 'M' logo on my Droid 2!

    I was in the process of installing a new ROM (using ClockWorkMod), and when I went to restart, it just gets stuck on the Moto logo boot screen. I can get to the factory recovery menu (holding 'x'), but I don't know what to do from there. Any help would be greatly appreciated, thanks in advance!
  2. spaz33g
    Offline

    spaz33g Rescue Squad Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2010
    Messages:
    6,379
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    orange county, ca
    when you get to the stock recovery by holding x, and you get to te exclamation point, press the magnifying glass on the keyboard and that will get you in. once inside navigate (using the volume rocker) to the factory reset option and select it using the camera button.
  3. nckmh
    Offline

    nckmh New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2011
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I've done that, formated data and the cache, but when I reboot, it still doesn't move past the moto logo boot screen...

    Is there something I can do by using the "install update.zip" option? I've tried downloading several SBF's and renaming them to 'update.zip' and saving them to the SD card and trying to install, but they are all resulting in an error...
  4. spaz33g
    Offline

    spaz33g Rescue Squad Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2010
    Messages:
    6,379
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    orange county, ca
    that won't work because they would have to be signed by moto/verizon

    your next step is going to be flashing a full sbf from your pc
  5. nckmh
    Offline

    nckmh New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2011
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
  6. spaz33g
    Offline

    spaz33g Rescue Squad Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2010
    Messages:
    6,379
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    orange county, ca
    did you ever install the drivers for your phone on to the comuter?
  7. nckmh
    Offline

    nckmh New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2011
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I do have RSDLite 4.8 and the Moto Connect 4.71 USB Drivers installed, as mentioned in that post as well...
  8. nckmh
    Offline

    nckmh New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2011
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    F, what did I do...now I can't even get to the 'M' logo boot screen...I let it sit at that screen for awhile to see if it might do something, then it turned off and I can't get it back...did I brick it? or is the battery just dead?
  9. spaz33g
    Offline

    spaz33g Rescue Squad Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2010
    Messages:
    6,379
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    orange county, ca
    the battery might be dead and that would be unfortunate. you don't want to get to the moto boot screen though, you want to get to the bootloader.
  10. nckmh
    Offline

    nckmh New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2011
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ok, yeah, the battery must've been dead...i was able to get the moto logo screen again...i guess I'm in bootloader now, it says "Android system recovery" (I've been here before, held 'x', then hour glass)...what do I do from here?
  11. nckmh
    Offline

    nckmh New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2011
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    There is an error at the bottom that states "E:Can't open /cache/recovery/command" as well...
  12. nckmh
    Offline

    nckmh New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2011
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    What's my next course of action from here?
  13. spaz33g
    Offline

    spaz33g Rescue Squad Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2010
    Messages:
    6,379
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    orange county, ca
    Well if you already wiped data in there then your next course of action would be to boot the phone in to bootloader mode by presssing the up arrow on the keyboard and the power button at the same time. Then use rsd lite to flash the sbf.

    tappin and a talkin
  14. nckmh
    Offline

    nckmh New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2011
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Right now, it's saying "Battery Low Cannot Program", so I figure I should just let it charge awhile? It's plugged in now, but the light is not on on the side...is it still charging?
  15. spaz33g
    Offline

    spaz33g Rescue Squad Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2010
    Messages:
    6,379
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    orange county, ca
    i don't think it will charge in the state that it's in. do you have a friend with a droid 2?
  16. nckmh
    Offline

    nckmh New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2011
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Yes, but not readily available...I'll give it a few hours and see if it charges, if not, I'll see if I can track down another battery...are there any other models that you know of that use the same battery?
  17. spaz33g
    Offline

    spaz33g Rescue Squad Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2010
    Messages:
    6,379
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    orange county, ca
    droid 1 is the only one that i know of. but yeah i would leave it plugged in from a totally off state like not in bootloader or recovery. stranger things have happened. in the event that it doesn't charge or you can't find a spare charged battery, there is a way you can charge it by tearing apart a usb cable.
  18. dfuser312553
    Offline

    dfuser312553 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2010
    Messages:
    2,084
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Or just walk into Verizon & awkwardly tell them you need to charge your battery for an hour while you mess with phones. They made me sign in & thought it was funny when I did that.
  19. spaz33g
    Offline

    spaz33g Rescue Squad Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2010
    Messages:
    6,379
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    orange county, ca
    lol that works. i know someone else did the same thing a while back and he said he was pacing around and they were looking at him like he was a nut job.
  20. nckmh
    Offline

    nckmh New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2011
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    haha...yeah, I thought about going in and just swapping my battery out with one of the displays, but who knows what condition those are in, being plugged in all the time...
Search tags for this page
cant get my motorola milestone x to go past the motorola scr
,
cant get passed the main screen in my motorola droid razr m
,
contact gologopro.com
,
droid x won't reboot past the m logo
,
droid2 wont boot passed att logo
,
droidx verizon wont boot passed motarola
,
i have a did x2 i can't get passed the logo
,

motorola g cannot get passed the reboot

,
motorola milestone wont pass m logo
,
motorola smart phone only showing symbol will not boot
,

my droid x2 cant get through the m logo

,
when i plug in my droid x all i get is an m logo