Help! Can't get into Recovery Mode - Droid 1

Discussion in 'New Member Introductions & Site Assistance' started by jpr122955, Jan 7, 2011.

  1. jpr122955
    Offline

    jpr122955 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2010
    Messages:
    33
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    INDY
    I have a rooted Droid 1, running CM 6.1. Downloaded Battery Icon Mod 1.0. When it went to reboot, The bootanimation froze halfway through and then goes into a loop over and over. Have tried everything to get into Recovery Mode, with no success. The only screen that I can get to is "bootloader". Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated.
  2. guidot
    Offline

    guidot Developer Relations Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2010
    Messages:
    7,350
    Likes Received:
    270
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Massachusetts
    can you boot normally?
  3. jpr122955
    Offline

    jpr122955 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2010
    Messages:
    33
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    INDY
    No. I am locked up in the boot animation, which loops over and over. Took it to VZW and they had no suggestions. No tech on the premises. As I indicated, the only screen that I can access is the "bootloader" screen. I have tried just about everything to get a factory or hard rest, but with no luck.
  4. CJM
    Offline

    CJM Developer Relations Staff Member Rescue Squad Premium Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2010
    Messages:
    9,310
    Likes Received:
    534
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Mississippi Gulf Coast
    If you can only get to the bootloader, you could try flashing a sbf with rsd lite.
  5. jpr122955
    Offline

    jpr122955 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2010
    Messages:
    33
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    INDY
    Ok, I have downloaded RSD Lite. Which .SBF file do I need. I currently have: VZW_A855_ESD56_QSC6085BP_C_01.3E01P_SW_UPDATE_03.sbf. If this is what's required, could you walk me through all of this??
  6. guidot
    Offline

    guidot Developer Relations Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2010
    Messages:
    7,350
    Likes Received:
    270
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Massachusetts
    You definitely want to flash an frg22d fullfile. That is e56 which is like 2.01. If you look for teddyearp he has some links with sbf's I believe.

    Which recovery? Sprecovery or clockworkmod? You might be able to sbf sprecovery on from the first link in my sig. Then flash a rom from there or use a backup. If you were using clockworkmod you would only be able to install a new rom. The two backups aren't compatible.

    Sent from my MetiCk/DavrosModded A855.
  7. CJM
    Offline

    CJM Developer Relations Staff Member Rescue Squad Premium Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2010
    Messages:
    9,310
    Likes Received:
    534
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Mississippi Gulf Coast
    Follow motocache1's guide here on the forum
  8. jpr122955
    Offline

    jpr122955 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2010
    Messages:
    33
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    INDY
    I used Clockworkmod for recovery.
  9. jpr122955
    Offline

    jpr122955 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2010
    Messages:
    33
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    INDY
    When I hold the "x" and Power on, it goes to the boot animation. I CAN'T get into any other recovery screen. Is the "x" on my keypad F#*!cked up?
  10. guidot
    Offline

    guidot Developer Relations Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2010
    Messages:
    7,350
    Likes Received:
    270
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Massachusetts
    Its possible. The best thing to do in that case is sbf the 2.2 fullfile on and see if you can get into stock recovery.

    Sent from my MetiCk/DavrosModded A855.
  11. jpr122955
    Offline

    jpr122955 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2010
    Messages:
    33
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    INDY
    I have read about 100 threads, and all of them indicate to "Hold the "X" key down while pressing the "Power" button". When I do this, it goes straight into boot animation. That's why I'm wondering if my "x" on the keypad isn't functioning correctly. I have no way of knowing. That's why I'm saying that the ONLY screen that I can get to is the "Bootloader" screen
  12. guidot
    Offline

    guidot Developer Relations Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2010
    Messages:
    7,350
    Likes Received:
    270
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Massachusetts
    I understand. The only thing you can do to make your phone functional is to flash an sbf from the BOOTLOADER.

    Sent from my MetiCk/DavrosModded A855.
  13. teddyearp
    Offline

    teddyearp Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2010
    Messages:
    1,800
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Randle, WA
    Please do not cross post. You are taking this up from the Droid 2 rom thread you started in last night. And judging from that, you MUST make SURE that whatever you are putting on your phone is for the A855 Droid 1 ONLY!

    Now I have a guide at my site that will give you everything you need to restore your phone:

    Restoring your phone when all else fails-LAST RESORT AND VERY RARE!!!

    good luck
  14. jpr122955
    Offline

    jpr122955 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2010
    Messages:
    33
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    INDY
    I'm sorry. I tried following your link, but it indicates that the website is no longer available.
  15. jpr122955
    Offline

    jpr122955 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2010
    Messages:
    33
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    INDY
    The following is what your link brought up:

    Below is the original error message

    Error 118 (net::ERR_CONNECTION_TIMED_OUT): The operation timed out.
  16. RW-1
    Offline

    RW-1 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    2,255
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Nazareth, PA
    Since you're testing to see if this is a recovery issue, or a BK one, just go ahead and use this SBF - MEGAUPLOAD - The leading online storage and file delivery service

    I believe it is 2.1, but the point is, if you get it flashed and have the ability to get back to recovery, you can then re-root your phone and flash whatever you want back onto it.

    Also, here is the page I got your DL link from, I like to provide this as just taking anyones word on an uploaded file could be hazardous to your health (not really on this BB, we're good guys but you get my point). How To: Install Android 2.2 Froyo On the Motorola Droid
  17. jpr122955
    Offline

    jpr122955 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2010
    Messages:
    33
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    INDY
    I've run some diagnostics on Motorola's website. One of which was to see if my keypad was working properly, because almost every solution that I've read required the use of the "X" button. Well, it turns out that the "X" ISN'T working. It still doesn't explain why it is getting stuck in the boot loop. So, if I understand all of this, no matter what I flash, I'm still required to get to that recovery screen, and can't without the use of the "X" button, correct?
  18. CJM
    Offline

    CJM Developer Relations Staff Member Rescue Squad Premium Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2010
    Messages:
    9,310
    Likes Received:
    534
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Mississippi Gulf Coast
    Thats the only way I know. Unless someone knows a way around it with ADB.
  19. guidot
    Offline

    guidot Developer Relations Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2010
    Messages:
    7,350
    Likes Received:
    270
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Massachusetts
    if you flash an sbf, you are not "required" to get to the recovery screen at all.

    There are ways to bypass the the x+power situation, as there is a program (quick boot) to overcome it.

    however, flashing an sbf is the only way to get you working, but you would have to root (if you wanted to again) using superoneclick (because you can't use your x key), and then use rom manager to flash recovery everytime you want to load a rom.

    A new phone sounds like a better plan right now.
  20. teddyearp
    Offline

    teddyearp Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2010
    Messages:
    1,800
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Randle, WA
    My server hiccupped sometime over night. It's working now.
Search tags for this page

boot into recovery droid a855

,

boot xt862 into recovery mode

,

cant get into recovery mode note 2

,

do i need to be rooted to acces recovery mode?

,

droid 1 enter into recovery mode

,

get into recovery mode droid 1

,

how to enter recovery i605

,

motorola droid 1 recovery mode how to