1. You want that $100.00 in your pocket or an Amazon Fire TV don't you? Well here's the deal. With our new updated look we are in desperate need of an updated logo. The 'old' one has certainly served us well, but it's time. Find all the details here: bit.ly/1q0k6Wa
  2. DroidForums.net is currently undergoing a major software upgrade. If you are experiencing any problems logging in please: Contact Us

Help! Can't boot recovery!

Discussion in 'Droid 2 Roms' started by havens1515, Mar 30, 2011.

  1. havens1515
    Offline

    havens1515 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2011
    Messages:
    612
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Rochester, NY
    OK, so here's the deal:

    I loaded Gingerbread, decided I wanted to go back to Liberty. Wiped data/cache, loaded backup for Liberty. It wouldn't load, it stayed at the white Motorola symbol, never even got to the boot animation.

    Booted into recovery, tried to follow instructions to sbf, loaded "Droid 2 (2.3.20) Odexed Update.zip" from the sbf forum. When that was loading, it tried to delete the factory recovery and install clockwork recovery. It froze at this screen for roughly 20 mins, so I ended up pulling the battery.



    THE IMPORTANT PART:

    Now I have no recovery, I can only get to the ! screen. From there, I tried to re-install clockwork from the recovery-update.zip included in the clockwork mod folder. (I found somewhere else on this forum that told me to do so.) When I try to do that, I get an error: "error in /tmp/sideload/package.zip"

    /tmp/sideload folder doesn't even exist on my SD card. Can someone get me this file so I can reload clockwork and get an OS back on my phone? (Or otherwise help me to get back to normal!?)

    PS - no matter what I did, it never got past the white motorola boot thing to the normal boot animation.
  2. spaz33g
    Offline

    spaz33g Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2010
    Messages:
    6,379
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    orange county, ca
    I think it's time to sbf. Are you familiar with the process?

    tappin and a talkin
  3. havens1515
    Offline

    havens1515 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2011
    Messages:
    612
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Rochester, NY
    How do i sbf directly from the ! screen? I downloaded the .zip file with the .sbf file in it, and when I tried to do that, it gave me an error.
  4. spaz33g
    Offline

    spaz33g Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2010
    Messages:
    6,379
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    orange county, ca
    sorry i should have been more clear, you're going to have to do a full sbf from the pc using rsd lite. i may be mistaken but i think that's the only way to get back from gingerbread. so just to be clear right now you can't fully boot and you can't get in to stock recovery right?
  5. havens1515
    Offline

    havens1515 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2011
    Messages:
    612
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Rochester, NY
    It says

    "E:signature verification failed
    installation aborted"

    when I tried to load the VRZ_A955_2.3.20.zip
  6. havens1515
    Offline

    havens1515 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2011
    Messages:
    612
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Rochester, NY
    right, I can't fully boot OR get into ANY recovery except the ! screen (idk what that screen is called, or if it's considered a recovery screen)
  7. spaz33g
    Offline

    spaz33g Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2010
    Messages:
    6,379
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    orange county, ca
    that is the first part of stock recovery. try pressing both volume buttons simultaneously at that screen to see if you can get in and from there do a data wipe but at this point i'm pretty sure the full sbf is the only thing to save you. but it should save you so that's a plus. you just don't want to waste too much time trying other stuff. don't want your battery to drain to the point that you cant do the sbf.
  8. havens1515
    Offline

    havens1515 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2011
    Messages:
    612
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Rochester, NY
    I've done that, still won't boot after deleting data/cache. Still stuck at white moto screen. (The only plus with the battery thing is that my battery was at 100% when I started this whole thing)
  9. havens1515
    Offline

    havens1515 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2011
    Messages:
    612
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Rochester, NY
    I think I'm going to need to get some sort of recovery on there before doing anything.
  10. spaz33g
    Offline

    spaz33g Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2010
    Messages:
    6,379
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    orange county, ca
    i would highly suggest the full sbf at this point. do you have a computer handy?
  11. havens1515
    Offline

    havens1515 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2011
    Messages:
    612
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Rochester, NY
    How can I full sbf when I can't get into an operating system OR a recovery? The computer isn't going to recognize my phone.
  12. spaz33g
    Offline

    spaz33g Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2010
    Messages:
    6,379
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    orange county, ca
    you don't need recovery you need bootloader mode. and if you cant get in to a recovery then there isn't any way you could try to flash a new recovery. that's why i'm saying the sbf is your only option. do you know how to get in to the bootloader?
  13. havens1515
    Offline

    havens1515 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2011
    Messages:
    612
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Rochester, NY
    I only know how to get into the ! screen (and there is supposed to be a way to load the recovery from there, but get me to the bootloader and we can do it that way.)
  14. spaz33g
    Offline

    spaz33g Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2010
    Messages:
    6,379
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    orange county, ca
    from a phone off state, slide the phone open and press and hold the up button on the dpad (the one that points toward the screen) and then while still holding the up button, press and hold the power button. hold both of them untill you see a black screen with white writing. that's the bootloader, and that's where you want to be to flash the sbf from the computer.
  15. havens1515
    Offline

    havens1515 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2011
    Messages:
    612
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Rochester, NY
    K sweet, I got there. Now what? I loaded RSD Lite and clicked "Show Device" and nothing happened.
  16. spaz33g
    Offline

    spaz33g Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2010
    Messages:
    6,379
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    orange county, ca
    i don't use windows so i've never used rsd. read through post #3 in link #3 of my signature and see if that doesn't help. it even has a handy video tutorial.
  17. spaz33g
    Offline

    spaz33g Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2010
    Messages:
    6,379
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    orange county, ca
    i just installed rsd in a virtual machine so if you have any questions i should be able to help.
  18. havens1515
    Offline

    havens1515 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2011
    Messages:
    612
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Rochester, NY
    OMG thank you so much. I don't know why, but RSD Lite wasn't working on my Windows 7 machine. I booted up my Windows XP virtual machine, and it seems to be working. I'll update later to let you know how it works out.
  19. spaz33g
    Offline

    spaz33g Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2010
    Messages:
    6,379
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    orange county, ca
    ok cool and if it wasn't working in win 7 it was probably because you need to run as administrator.
  20. havens1515
    Offline

    havens1515 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2011
    Messages:
    612
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Rochester, NY
    tried that, still didn't work. Had some issues with the VM too, but it seems to have worked. Thank you again, I love the android community! So glad to have a phone back!
Search tags for this page
cannot load temp slideload package
,
clockwork recovery error in /tmp/sideload/package.zip
,
e:error in tmp/sideload/package.zip (status 7)
,

error in /tmp/sideload/package.zip (status 7)

,
gingerbread cant boot in recovery mood
,
how to do sideload zip package in clockwork module