1. DroidForums.net is currently undergoing a major software upgrade. If you are experiencing any problems logging in please: Contact Us

HELP! Bionic Bootloop

Discussion in 'Droid Bionic Tech Support' started by markwebb, Feb 11, 2012.

  1. markwebb
    Offline

    markwebb New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2010
    Messages:
    810
    Likes Received:
    9
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    CT
    Ok, I made a huge mistake. I use Bionic Bootstrap. I had installed Eclipse ROM and was happy and backed it up using Boostrap to get into Clockwork Mod. However, dummy me wasn't fully awake and I did an immediate restore to my stock system w/o wiping and realized it shortly after. I didn't wipe before I restored to the stock 902 backup.

    Now, it is in a bootloop with Droid logo. Yes, I pulled the battery numerous times. HOW DO I GET OUT OF IT! :( I need my phone today as I live in a very rural area.

    Can I go into Stock Recovery? What do I need to do once I am in there?
    Last edited: Feb 11, 2012
  2. BayouFlyFisher
    Offline

    BayouFlyFisher Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2009
    Messages:
    4,966
    Likes Received:
    17
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Baton Rouge, LA
    xda-developers - View Single Post - [FXZ] Droid Bionic Stock 5.5.1_84_DBN-55


    Unbrick Your Bionic Here /windows/mac/linux support - RootzWiki
  3. markwebb
    Offline

    markwebb New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2010
    Messages:
    810
    Likes Received:
    9
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    CT
    Thank you. but OMG..you've got to be kidding. :( Sigh. This looks rather daunting but I will try it. Any words of advice other than "reading" the post as instructed? LOL

    So, I do I use your first link or both links? I am confused. How do I use first link?

    Also, the rootzwiki guide has few links down! I can't download some of the files. :(
    Last edited: Feb 11, 2012
  4. BayouFlyFisher
    Offline

    BayouFlyFisher Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2009
    Messages:
    4,966
    Likes Received:
    17
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Baton Rouge, LA
    [FONT=&quot]To Get Into Stock Recovery:[/FONT]


    [FONT=&quot]1. With phone powered off
    2. Hold both volume up and down then press the power
    3. Volume down moves, volume up selects the highlighted choice
    4. when you get to the exclamation point press both volume buttons [/FONT]
  5. markwebb
    Offline

    markwebb New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2010
    Messages:
    810
    Likes Received:
    9
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    CT
    Thanks, I did that but once I am there can I do anything? I am sooo confused now. That thread from rootzwiki is as clear as mud to me.

    Can I do anything from Stock recovery? Do I do a restore?
    Again, thanks so much for your help but I am in a panic.
  6. BayouFlyFisher
    Offline

    BayouFlyFisher Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2009
    Messages:
    4,966
    Likes Received:
    17
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Baton Rouge, LA
  7. markwebb
    Offline

    markwebb New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2010
    Messages:
    810
    Likes Received:
    9
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    CT
  8. BayouFlyFisher
    Offline

    BayouFlyFisher Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2009
    Messages:
    4,966
    Likes Received:
    17
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Baton Rouge, LA
    Bet they were on the Mega site that the Feds closed down. Did not know that.

    I've totally restored the Bionic about 3-4 times. Unfortunately a bootloop requires some drastic steps as there is no way to get back into CWR if the phone will not boot. I used RSD Lite 5.6 on my most recent adventure and reflashed to stock Google image.

    I don't recall if I provided this link or not already, but it looks like a good one: http://www.droidforums.net/forum/mo...-5-893-fxz-901-902-compatible-902-update.html

    Good luck.
  9. markwebb
    Offline

    markwebb New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2010
    Messages:
    810
    Likes Received:
    9
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    CT
    Thanks. I tried the released root flash method but am now stuck in AP fastboot..it said preflash validation failed. Now what do I do? I pull the battery and it stays in that mode and I can't get out.

    Getting there! Got out of fastboot and rebooted! I need to complete released root process.

    VERY STRANGE: it booted backup and it has me on stock 902 with root!! I don't know what is going on. LOL
    Last edited: Feb 11, 2012
  10. BayouFlyFisher
    Offline

    BayouFlyFisher Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2009
    Messages:
    4,966
    Likes Received:
    17
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Baton Rouge, LA

    Unplug it, plug the battery, put it in ap fastboot and plug in the USB. And then try one of the other methods/files I linked. I think the newer Path Savers are worth trying.

    Good luck
  11. markwebb
    Offline

    markwebb New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2010
    Messages:
    810
    Likes Received:
    9
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    CT
    See my updated note above. When it rebooted I came back into 902 with root. I am now so confused as to what happened but I have a working phone.

    I need to reinstall some previous apps including bootstrap.

    Thanks again for your help. It seems releseroot did something w/o taking me all the way back.
  12. markwebb
    Offline

    markwebb New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2010
    Messages:
    810
    Likes Received:
    9
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    CT
    False positive. I rebooted phone and it brings me back into AP Fastboot. I managed to get out and got back into recovery menu mode and rebooted into 902. Updating apps with titanium. I will let it finish and reboot and see if it still brings me back into ap fastboot. I may just restore a good backup in clockwork.
    Last edited: Feb 11, 2012
  13. Mbk
    Offline

    Mbk Android For Life Theme Developer Premium Member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2010
    Messages:
    4,169
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    0
    On the fastboot menu what exactly is the error displayed?...flash failure or invalid CDT?
  14. markwebb
    Offline

    markwebb New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2010
    Messages:
    810
    Likes Received:
    9
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    CT
    No error..see my updated note above yours.
  15. Mbk
    Offline

    Mbk Android For Life Theme Developer Premium Member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2010
    Messages:
    4,169
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    0
    If you restroed a nandroid without wiping then you are likely still gonna have occasional issues so if you can indeed get into CWM recovery then by all means restore your Eclipse ROM, wiping this time of course lol, then you will have Eclipse with the .902 radio...
  16. markwebb
    Offline

    markwebb New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2010
    Messages:
    810
    Likes Received:
    9
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    CT
    Understood..but as I said, it rebooted back into 902 rooted stock. I may try and restore to my first 902 backup which I made the day I updated to 902. Of course I would wipe this current one.

    Ok, here is the issue. Every time I reboot phone it goes back into AP fastboot. I back out to recovery mode menu and phone boots up with 902 rooted stock.

    What do you think I should do? Should I try to restore my original 902 backup or eclipse?
  17. Mbk
    Offline

    Mbk Android For Life Theme Developer Premium Member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2010
    Messages:
    4,169
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Restore back to the stock .902 nandroid, but I'm not sure that would alleviate the fastboot menu issue...but worth a try...once you get to a clean .902 build, from there you can do whatever
  18. markwebb
    Offline

    markwebb New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2010
    Messages:
    810
    Likes Received:
    9
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    CT
    Your fears were confirmed. It always boots up into fastboot and then I have to back out to recovery menu and then reboot. Now, another issue: the 902 original update which I thought was good was NOT. I used my prior 901 backup. Now it wants to push that smaller 902 update file. Should I accept it?

    Now, I can use Bionic Bootstrap obviously to get into Clockwork, but the phone always goes into fastboot and then I back out and then it boots into Clockwork.

    So, I have a working phone but that AP fastboot creates an extra step.

    I don't want to waste too much time on this today, but moving forward, what is the remedy? Is it that restore process by sargentmajor?
    Last edited: Feb 11, 2012
  19. Mbk
    Offline

    Mbk Android For Life Theme Developer Premium Member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2010
    Messages:
    4,169
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    0
    The .902 OTA is likely to fail if you have fastboot issues, but I would go ahead and atleast attempt to recieve it... not sure what process sargeantmajor linked to but you will likely need to do either the back to OTA pathsaver or RSDLite and get back to stock 5.5.893, forever root, then accept the (or manually) the .893 to .902 OTA update...
  20. markwebb
    Offline

    markwebb New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2010
    Messages:
    810
    Likes Received:
    9
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    CT
    Correct. I pulled the 902 update and tried to install but it goes back into AP fastboot and then I have to back out and then reboot.

    A new wrinkle: the phone reboots but then after a few seconds reboots again into fastboot. It is probably trying to install the 902 update. I should have left it alone when I had the working 901. :(

    I do have the saved 902 smaller update file; should I manually install it?
Search tags for this page

bionic boot loop

,
bionic boot loop fix
,
bionic boot looping fix
,

bionic bootloop

,
boot loop bionic
,
bootloop droid bionic fix mac
,

droid bionic boot loop

,
droid bionic boot loop fix
,
droid bionic boot looping
,
droid bionic bootloop
,
droid bionic reboot loop
,
fix droid bionic boot loop
,

how to fix droid bionic boot loop

,
how to fix the droid bionic constant reboot cycle
,
upgrade path for bionic on macintosh ap boot menu