Help before I do a Full Data Reset ...

Discussion in 'Droid RAZR Support' started by ripper2860, Aug 17, 2012.

  1. ripper2860

    ripper2860 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2011
    Messages:
    467
    Likes Received:
    11
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +11
    Weird problem. Lately if I am on a call and another call comes in, the phone rings loudly, rudely interrupting my call and nearly deafening me. Used to be that if a call came in while I was on an other it would just beep and show me who is calling allowing me to accept or ignore. Now while it does allow me to accept or ignore the inbound call, it rings loudly instead of beeps until I accept it, ignore it, or hang-up. It is quite disruptive. Any thoughts on why and how to fix it??

    Thx!!
     
    Last edited: Aug 20, 2012
  2. TisMyDroid

    TisMyDroid Silver Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2011
    Messages:
    4,451
    Likes Received:
    354
    Trophy Points:
    198
    Location:
    Central New York
    Ratings:
    +354
    Whoa ripper, that's a new one. This just started happening? I don't think an fdr is necessary (unless, of course, you haven't done one since ICS). Is it if you are on speaker, headset, always? Custom ringtone? Stock phone app? Not that you have to answer all these questions but it may help pinpoint the solution. You have probably already tried all these things but just in case... restart, reboot (hold volume and power til it restarts), clear cache in any related apps, go through settings in phone, ringtone, sound... see if there is anything that may work.

    Sent from my DROID RAZR Maxx using Droid Forums
     
  3. ripper2860

    ripper2860 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2011
    Messages:
    467
    Likes Received:
    11
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +11
    It is a head scratcher...

    Been on ICS and running smoothly since it officially dropped and it just started happening about 2 weeks ago. Happens on speaker or bluetooth and it ALWAYS happens when I'm on a call and another call comes in. I have rebooted and also done a hard restart via volume and power buttons. I've also cleared cache via recovery, as well. I do use exDailer instead of the stock phone dialer, though, so I may try uninstalling to see if that helps. I also never did an FDR after receiving ICS. Never felt compelled as everything was working fine. This is a weird one.

    Edit: Uninstalled exDialer and still the same thing. Formatted cache partition again (did that previously) and wiped Dalvik cache as well this time. Everything seems back to normal now -- even after re-installing exDialer.

    YES!!! Avoided an FDR.
     
    Last edited: Aug 18, 2012
  4. ripper2860

    ripper2860 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2011
    Messages:
    467
    Likes Received:
    11
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +11
    It's back ..... :(

    Guess, I'll re-do the steps and leave exDialer off for an extended time to see what happens.
     
  5. FoxKat

    FoxKat Resident Novelist...LOL! Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2010
    Messages:
    10,146
    Likes Received:
    1,654
    Trophy Points:
    558
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    Ratings:
    +1,719
    Current Phone Model:
    Droid Turbo, and Nexus 6!
    Ripper, I would suggest moving to the .215 version of ICS rather than staying with the OTA .211. .215 has been basically flawless for me and most everyone else. I don't recall the problem you are reporting as one that was experienced by others as Tis mentioned, but I know there were all kinds of problems, so it's quite possible that new problems are still yet to be discovered. Jump on into http://www.droidforums.net/forum/droid-razr-support/217843-mattyps-215-leak-classroom.html and get familiar with the process, post that you are about to take the plunge, and I'm sure one of my disciples will take you by the "hand" and walk you through the upgrade. You won't be disappointed. :biggrin:
     
  6. 94lt1

    94lt1 DF Super Moderator Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2012
    Messages:
    12,583
    Likes Received:
    1,311
    Trophy Points:
    558
    Location:
    SE TX
    Ratings:
    +1,401
    Current Phone Model:
    Droid Turbo
    Agreed...215 is awesome... only one issue that I've found.. keyboard issue.. and it doesn't affect everybody... if it does affect you... go apps, all,Motorola input, clear cache, clear data, force close and reboot.. set up your keyboard again.. and its fixed.
     
  7. ripper2860

    ripper2860 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2011
    Messages:
    467
    Likes Received:
    11
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +11
    Thanks folks. I think 2.15 is beckoning and will be installed this weekend. I have been hesitant given the trouble I had getting my Bionic back on the upgrade path. Heck - what is life without taking a few chances along the way. :D
     
  8. ripper2860

    ripper2860 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2011
    Messages:
    467
    Likes Received:
    11
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +11
    OK. Tried updating to 2.15 and no luck. I've done 2 FDR's and several attempts at installing 2.15 from several files. I get an error 7 and message indicating an issue with MusicFX. I suspect it is due to my installing Beats Audio hack. Anyone know how to manually uninstall or can someone lead me to a full 2.11 Razr SBF file I can flash and refresher instructions? :/



    EDIT: or is this it?: http://www.droidforums.net/forum/droid-razr-hacks/216562-droid-razr-utility-1-8-a.html

     
    Last edited: Aug 23, 2012
  9. TisMyDroid

    TisMyDroid Silver Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2011
    Messages:
    4,451
    Likes Received:
    354
    Trophy Points:
    198
    Location:
    Central New York
    Ratings:
    +354
    Are you on stock ics? You can't be rooted to install the .215. How did you install the beats audio? Is the .215 on the root of your SD card. It can not be in any folders. There are several possibilities why it might not work but the biggest would be not being stock .211.

    Sent from my DROID RAZR Maxx using Droid Forums
     
  10. ripper2860

    ripper2860 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2011
    Messages:
    467
    Likes Received:
    11
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +11
    Almost stock 2.11 and file is in root if SD-EXT. Temp unroot via Rootkeeper. I really believe it is the Beats Audio hack as it does replace stock sound files and there is no uninstall. :/
     
  11. TisMyDroid

    TisMyDroid Silver Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2011
    Messages:
    4,451
    Likes Received:
    354
    Trophy Points:
    198
    Location:
    Central New York
    Ratings:
    +354
  12. TisMyDroid

    TisMyDroid Silver Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2011
    Messages:
    4,451
    Likes Received:
    354
    Trophy Points:
    198
    Location:
    Central New York
    Ratings:
    +354
  13. ripper2860

    ripper2860 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2011
    Messages:
    467
    Likes Received:
    11
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +11
    Last edited: Aug 26, 2012
  14. FoxKat

    FoxKat Resident Novelist...LOL! Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2010
    Messages:
    10,146
    Likes Received:
    1,654
    Trophy Points:
    558
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    Ratings:
    +1,719
    Current Phone Model:
    Droid Turbo, and Nexus 6!
    Just to clarify, it's not 2.11 & 2.15, it's .211 & .215 (note the placement of the dot . ). :)

    Sent from my DROID RAZR using Tapatalk 2
     
  15. TisMyDroid

    TisMyDroid Silver Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2011
    Messages:
    4,451
    Likes Received:
    354
    Trophy Points:
    198
    Location:
    Central New York
    Ratings:
    +354
    But we knew what you meant by 2.15, lol! Glad it worked for you Ripper... Super!

    Sent from my DROID RAZR Maxx using Droid Forums
     
Search tags for this page

beats audio droid razr maxx no sound

,

eclipse rom for razor maxx data fix

,

full reset maxx msd smarty hard reset

,

what to save before resetting droid razr