Help.. Beats zip causing phone to reboot

Discussion in 'HTC Rezound' started by pmgreen, May 23, 2012.

  1. pmgreen
    Offline

    pmgreen New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2012
    Messages:
    56
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I tried flashing a zip that was supposed to all beats to be heard on all apps, but now whenever I open an app that has audio.. the phone reboots.
    Is there a way to revert back prior to the install?
  2. MrSmith317
    Offline

    MrSmith317 Moderator Premium Member

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2010
    Messages:
    1,577
    Likes Received:
    31
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Philadelphia
    That replaces libraries. I'd re-install the ROM you're using unless you have a nandroid to go back to.
  3. pmgreen
    Offline

    pmgreen New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2012
    Messages:
    56
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Damn and I didn't do a backup before trying it.. SHEEET!! Oh well thanks for the help once again..
  4. Droid-Xer
    Offline

    Droid-Xer DF Super Moderator Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2010
    Messages:
    2,414
    Likes Received:
    55
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    El Paso, TX
    Just reflash the rom no wipe needed.
  5. pmgreen
    Offline

    pmgreen New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2012
    Messages:
    56
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Thanks for the hint, appreciate it.
  6. pmgreen
    Offline

    pmgreen New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2012
    Messages:
    56
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I get home today, ready to flash. The phone boots up, gets to the home screen and reboots. This is a continues in a loop. I've taken the battery out but no luck. Help please!!!
  7. pmgreen
    Offline

    pmgreen New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2012
    Messages:
    56
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Somehow I got it to boot up somewhat normal again. However I think I flashed to a newer version of Scott's Rom than was originally on the phone.
    The audio issue still remain. Whenever I try to use iHeart or anything with audio, the phone freezes for a second and restarts. Any ideas?
  8. MrSmith317
    Offline

    MrSmith317 Moderator Premium Member

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2010
    Messages:
    1,577
    Likes Received:
    31
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Philadelphia
    Do a full wipe and re-install the ROM. It sounds like the offending files aren't being replaced. Either that or the beats DSP(hardware) is fried.
  9. pmgreen
    Offline

    pmgreen New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2012
    Messages:
    56
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I tried a factory reset yesterday no luck. Is that the same? If it is fried, anything I can do?
    I noticed during a restart it's looking for ph98img.zip.
    Last edited: May 24, 2012
  10. MrSmith317
    Offline

    MrSmith317 Moderator Premium Member

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2010
    Messages:
    1,577
    Likes Received:
    31
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Philadelphia
    If it's fried take it for warranty support(back to where you got it from) and get a new one. A factory reset only wipes the /data partition. It doesn't actually re-do the system. Wiping data/cache and re-flashing your ROM would be the true test.
  11. pmgreen
    Offline

    pmgreen New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2012
    Messages:
    56
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Should I wipe all the options individually or the first one? I got it from VZW but thought once you unlock, root and flash it voids the warranty. That not true?
  12. pmgreen
    Offline

    pmgreen New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2012
    Messages:
    56
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Don't really understand it, but I flashed to the original ROM and the phone is back to normal. Can I now flash from Scott's 4.4 standard to Scotts 4.5 pro?
  13. MrSmith317
    Offline

    MrSmith317 Moderator Premium Member

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2010
    Messages:
    1,577
    Likes Received:
    31
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Philadelphia
    Yes, flash away ;-)

    To your other post, unlocking only voids the warranty on things you break by unlocking. And really Verizon can't tell the difference anyway so flash away lol.