1. You want that $100.00 in your pocket or an Amazon Fire TV don't you? Well here's the deal. With our new updated look we are in desperate need of an updated logo. The 'old' one has certainly served us well, but it's time. Find all the details here: bit.ly/1q0k6Wa
  2. DroidForums.net is currently undergoing a major software upgrade. If you are experiencing any problems logging in please: Contact Us

HELP!!! baseband killed my phone ;(

Discussion in 'Android Hacks and Help' started by kinfolk248, Sep 27, 2010.

  1. kinfolk248
    Offline

    kinfolk248 New Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2010
    Messages:
    663
    Likes Received:
    9
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Jackson, Ms
    i just flashed the latest baseband ( C_1.43.01P) now droid activate at all. well it says its activated but when i go to call it asks if im making a collect call, no texts either, and theirs no 3g to log into gmail account which i do still have cus i checked it on the computer ;(

    tried on both BBv.05 and UD8 by the way...someone please help me...
  2. furbearingmammal
    Offline

    furbearingmammal Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2010
    Messages:
    10,354
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    So far north in NY I smell maple syrup when the wi
    Try reflashing the baseband and then see if you can get it to work. If not, try *288 from the dialer. That should allow you to activate without having to go through all the steps on bootup. Also, make ABSOLUTELY sure you have mobile data turned on in the wireless and network settings. Sometimes that gets turned off -- and if it's turned on already, try toggling it a couple times.
  3. kinfolk248
    Offline

    kinfolk248 New Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2010
    Messages:
    663
    Likes Received:
    9
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Jackson, Ms
    just did that still nothing tho ;( reflashed and this time theres a triangle in the 3g spot. so i tried to call same thing, *228 says its activated but still nothing no call no text no nothing...sad day for KinFolk, guess ill go to class with my head hanging low... ;( tragic ;(
  4. Droid DOES!!
    Offline

    Droid DOES!! What iDoesn't Theme Developer Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2010
    Messages:
    6,321
    Likes Received:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    0
    You can try flashing the stock baseband back if nothing changes. Peter Alfonso
  5. kinfolk248
    Offline

    kinfolk248 New Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2010
    Messages:
    663
    Likes Received:
    9
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Jackson, Ms
    you wouldnt happen to have that zip file would u...?
  6. furbearingmammal
    Offline

    furbearingmammal Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2010
    Messages:
    10,354
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    So far north in NY I smell maple syrup when the wi
  7. Droid DOES!!
    Offline

    Droid DOES!! What iDoesn't Theme Developer Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2010
    Messages:
    6,321
    Likes Received:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Agreed! The new baseband made ALOT of difference on MY phone (and most of the others)! The .zip to the 2.1 baseband is on Pete's site that I linked on my last comment.
  8. tcrews
    Offline

    tcrews Premium Member Premium Member Developer

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2010
    Messages:
    1,354
    Likes Received:
    22
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Lexington, SC
    Dial *228 option 1. Typically when the baseband gets updated this way you have to reactivate the phone.
  9. Droid DOES!!
    Offline

    Droid DOES!! What iDoesn't Theme Developer Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2010
    Messages:
    6,321
    Likes Received:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    0
    He's tried that already. You DID select option 1 right???
  10. furbearingmammal
    Offline

    furbearingmammal Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2010
    Messages:
    10,354
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    So far north in NY I smell maple syrup when the wi
    We'll find out when he gets back from class. :blink:
  11. kinfolk248
    Offline

    kinfolk248 New Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2010
    Messages:
    663
    Likes Received:
    9
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Jackson, Ms
    still no luck... ;(
    my life sux hard...
  12. Droid DOES!!
    Offline

    Droid DOES!! What iDoesn't Theme Developer Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2010
    Messages:
    6,321
    Likes Received:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Hahaha!!!! This is true!
  13. furbearingmammal
    Offline

    furbearingmammal Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2010
    Messages:
    10,354
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    So far north in NY I smell maple syrup when the wi
    Okay, here's a quick question or two. Did you do a system/data wipe? Do you have a backup you could restore of the working baseband?
  14. Droid DOES!!
    Offline

    Droid DOES!! What iDoesn't Theme Developer Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2010
    Messages:
    6,321
    Likes Received:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Does it say 43 in the baseband under Settings > About Phone? Thinking outside of the box..
  15. kinfolk248
    Offline

    kinfolk248 New Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2010
    Messages:
    663
    Likes Received:
    9
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Jackson, Ms
    yes i have tried to go back to a backup...no connectivity and under settings it says C_01.43.01P as baseband version
  16. furbearingmammal
    Offline

    furbearingmammal Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2010
    Messages:
    10,354
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    So far north in NY I smell maple syrup when the wi
    Okay. At this point I'm going to say you should back up all the stuff you want to keep and try SBFing your phone back to stock.

    Do you have insurance? It sounds like there's a possibility your phone has developed a hardware fault.
  17. kinfolk248
    Offline

    kinfolk248 New Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2010
    Messages:
    663
    Likes Received:
    9
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Jackson, Ms
    damn i was afraid of that! thought i could flash my way outta this situation. this week sux major already, damnitttttttttttt!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
  18. furbearingmammal
    Offline

    furbearingmammal Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2010
    Messages:
    10,354
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    So far north in NY I smell maple syrup when the wi
    We're trying that, and nearing the end of what we can do that way, but just to be safe... back it up. :)
  19. Droid DOES!!
    Offline

    Droid DOES!! What iDoesn't Theme Developer Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2010
    Messages:
    6,321
    Likes Received:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Backups do not affect the baseband. Basebands have to be flashed.
  20. kinfolk248
    Offline

    kinfolk248 New Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2010
    Messages:
    663
    Likes Received:
    9
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Jackson, Ms
    anyone know why when i try to flash the older basebands, they have no effect either?
Search tags for this page

baseband missing droid x

,

how to change a855 baseband