1. You want that $100.00 in your pocket or an Amazon Fire TV don't you? Well here's the deal. With our new updated look we are in desperate need of an updated logo. The 'old' one has certainly served us well, but it's time. Find all the details here: bit.ly/1q0k6Wa
  2. DroidForums.net is currently undergoing a major software upgrade. If you are experiencing any problems logging in please: Contact Us

HELP ...app has stopped unexpectedly

Discussion in 'Android Tech Support' started by Shepherd Jim, Dec 16, 2010.

  1. Shepherd Jim
    Offline

    Shepherd Jim New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2010
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Bristol, Maine USA
    Last night my Droid froze up with the screen black. I would up having to pull and re-insert the battery.

    Some of my important apps - Calendar, ToDo Task Manager -Pro are back to normal.

    But most of the installed apps will not start. I tap on their icon and they start to start but then a gray window opens:

    Sorry!
    The application noodle [for example] (process com.makeramen.noodles) has stopped unexpectedly. Please try again.
    ..and then there's a "Force close" button at the bottom of the little window.
    I don't have any idea what to do -- will appreciate any assistance!
    Jim
  2. Droid DOES!!
    Offline

    Droid DOES!! What iDoesn't Theme Developer Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2010
    Messages:
    6,321
    Likes Received:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    0
    You may need to go into the ones that are FC'ing and clear their data and cache.

    DroidForums junkie!!
  3. Shepherd Jim
    Offline

    Shepherd Jim New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2010
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Bristol, Maine USA
    I'm THAT dense: how?
  4. spaz33g
    Offline

    spaz33g Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2010
    Messages:
    6,379
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    orange county, ca
    Settings>apps>manage apps then find the offenders and clear the data and cache.

    tappin and a talkin
  5. Droid DOES!!
    Offline

    Droid DOES!! What iDoesn't Theme Developer Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2010
    Messages:
    6,321
    Likes Received:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Beat me to it!



    DroidForums junkie!!
  6. spaz33g
    Offline

    spaz33g Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2010
    Messages:
    6,379
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    orange county, ca
    Also it might help to diagnose the cause of the problem. Did you recently make any changes to the phone before it froze up on you. Also have you tried another reboot/battery pull?

    tappin and a talkin
  7. Shepherd Jim
    Offline

    Shepherd Jim New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2010
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Bristol, Maine USA
    okay, I've been doing the Settings/Applications/Manage Applications/ thing but nothing has changed. The apps that "close unexpectedly" -- I'm getting the sense you guys call this an "FC" (force close) are STILL not opening.

    I'd be REALLY FRANTIC except for the fact that most of the really important apps (to me at least): HanDBase, Google Contacts & Calendar, My Day and ToDo Task Manager -Pro arw working.

    GMail is okay. Yahoo Mail is NOT
  8. Shepherd Jim
    Offline

    Shepherd Jim New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2010
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Bristol, Maine USA
    Update:

    If I uninstall an app and then go to the Market and re-download and install it, that app then works fine.

    I've done that with ClipNote (purchased) and Color Timer (free) so far.
  9. Shepherd Jim
    Offline

    Shepherd Jim New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2010
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Bristol, Maine USA
    I continue to uninstall each app -- one by one. Then go to the Market and re-download and install each. They all seem to work again just fine. A couple have even "seen" that there was a backed up data set on the SD card and asked if I wanted to load same.

    Is there some mechanism (process? app?) which would automatically re-install all the apps I have installed?
Search tags for this page
com.mediatek.camera
,
com.mediatek.camera has stopped
,

pandora has stopped unexpectedly

,
process com pandora android has stopped
,

process com.mediatek.camera

,
process com.mediatek.camera stopped unexpectedly
,

process com.pandora.android

,
process com.pandora.android has stopped unexpectedly
,
process.com pandora.android
,
process.com.pandora
,

process.com.pandora.android

,
the application camera (process com.mediatek.camera) has sto
,
the application pandora (process com.pandora.android) has st
,

the application pandora has stopped unexpectedly

,
the application pandora process com.pandora.android has stop