help all my old contacts are copied 10 times!

Discussion in 'Android General Discussions' started by doctordoctor, Sep 10, 2010.

  1. doctordoctor

    doctordoctor Member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2010
    Messages:
    585
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    erie, Pa sniffle sniffle
    Ratings:
    +2
    so I can't handle it anymore, all of my contacts are copied 10 times!!! so if I open up a contact I have the same information entered 10 times! so if if a contact has 2 numbers I will have the same 2 numbers repeated 10 times each. Any one have a solution other than going 1 by 1 to delete the duplicates???
     
  2. sharondet

    sharondet Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2009
    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Fredericksburg, VA
    Ratings:
    +0
    There is a way in gmail to merge contacts. I did that when I got my contacts in 3 times (by restoring them from backups multiple times, I think)

    Go into gmail/contacts. Then there is a "More Actions" drop down box. One of the selections is "Find and merge duplicates".
     
    #2 sharondet, Sep 10, 2010
    Last edited: Sep 10, 2010
  3. BayouFlyFisher

    BayouFlyFisher Rescue Squad
    Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2009
    Messages:
    4,959
    Likes Received:
    17
    Trophy Points:
    168
    Location:
    Baton Rouge, LA
    Ratings:
    +17
    Great catch SD!!!

    DoctorDoctor (boy that was a great!!! show), is this a terrific forum??? I mean, weird problem and still a very, very specific answer.
     
  4. doctordoctor

    doctordoctor Member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2010
    Messages:
    585
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    erie, Pa sniffle sniffle
    Ratings:
    +2
    can't find option to merge contacts? where is it???
     
  5. doctordoctor

    doctordoctor Member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2010
    Messages:
    585
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    erie, Pa sniffle sniffle
    Ratings:
    +2
    further clarification it seems to be resolved in the actual contact... but when I want to add a direct dial on my front page each contact is duplicated 10 times!!!! so it takes forever to scroll down and find a name
     
  6. Deuel

    Deuel Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2009
    Messages:
    178
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    SoCal
    Ratings:
    +0
    SharonDet is correct, but this needs to be done from your PC. The option is not available on your phone.
     
Search tags for this page
android contact repeat 10 times
,

contacts copied 5 times

,
each contact duplicated 10 times
,
my android phone has 3 copys of each contact
,
my contacts are copy three and four different times why is t
,
my galaxy s4 repeated each contact 3 times
,
why are my contacts displayed numerous times
,
why do i have the contact multiple times z10
,

why does the same contact show up in my list several times o

,
why i have contacts copied a few times onmy phone