HELP-ADB Won't see phone (Can't Root-ICS)

Discussion in 'Droid RAZR Support' started by Spyder5157, Nov 5, 2012.

  1. Spyder5157

    Spyder5157 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2011
    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    THANKS GUYS !!!!!!! Actually, I made a mis-statement, I just tested again (BTW: Using the cable that came w/ the phone for this).

    When I plug it in to the PC...."Android Phone (W/ the adb)" does NOT appear in device mgr, UNLESS in fastboot. So, I'll be reporting back in a couple days when I get the new one...BUT:

    I still have the lingering question if I'll be able to run the "Root" option from Batman, while in fastboot? (Or I wonder if I connect in fastboot to get that stuff in the device mgr, although it appears to disappear when disconnected?).

    So, THANKS...And I'll update soon.....(If you know about rooting while in fastboot, let me know?)

    All my very best, and thanks for putting up w/ my babble.....S
     
  2. TisMyDroid

    TisMyDroid Super Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2011
    Messages:
    6,253
    Likes Received:
    1,799
    Trophy Points:
    393
    Location:
    Central New York
    Ratings:
    +2,018
    Current Phone Model:
    Samsung Note 3
    The babbling is perfectly fine and is actually helpful...the more info the better. I am going to come back to this a little later so I can take my time with it. Some of it I am learning as I'm going too.
     
  3. Spyder5157

    Spyder5157 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2011
    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Well.....I decided not to wait for the new phone, thinking it is on the way, it will be the last replacement I will be able to get, so I figured if I'm going to screw something up, this is a good phone to do, since I'll be sending it back.

    I put it in fastboot, and ran Matt's utility....Just like worked for flashing back to the regular OTA release.......

    Well, I was in fastboot, "Android Phone (W/adb)" was in the device manager, I selected "ROOT".

    The utility ran and continued to say "Waiting for device".........NOTHING

    SO, that does not work. I rebooted the phone (Since not fastboot now...FOR SOME REASON??? "ANDROID PHONE" disappears from device manager)...

    I then ran again, and got the same result "Waiting for device??.

    I also tried rooting via the "Droidrazrroot" method, which includes adb, etc. and claims to have everything, but NO LUCK.

    SO......JUST A WILD GUESS, BUT, I think that in device manager, IT MUST have that "Android Phone" and everything in there and ready WHEN THE PHONE IS IN IT"S REGULAR BOOT.

    This is all crazy, since as I mentioned, I waited and waited to root, and finally went for it, and NOTHING. (Just FYI, I have rooted and changed kernels, etc. on several phones in the past, so I'm not a total noob...lol).

    Also, in command prompt, running "adb devices" shows NOTHING. So, I can't do anything??

    Anyway, as in the title??? HELP?? THANKS VERY MUCH FOR YOUR HELP, I JUST HOPE I CAN FIGURE THIS OUT...

    Figured I would update, just to give the latest.....all the very best....S
     
  4. TisMyDroid

    TisMyDroid Super Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2011
    Messages:
    6,253
    Likes Received:
    1,799
    Trophy Points:
    393
    Location:
    Central New York
    Ratings:
    +2,018
    Current Phone Model:
    Samsung Note 3
    I am not familiar with the droidrazrroot utility so have no idea what process it uses to root. As long as you are playing with the phone, go back to my post with the lengthy step by steps and start from scratch again... using option 1 to bring it back to stock... Then using Mattlgroff's utility go through the steps to root. One word of caution, make sure you fully charge your battery.
     
  5. joshxdroid

    joshxdroid Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2012
    Messages:
    1,069
    Likes Received:
    56
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Minnesota
    Ratings:
    +56
    Tis, I've heard you mention making sure you are fully charged, does this effect anything beyond just making sure you don't die during the process? Cause I haven't found the rooting to take very long
     
  6. TisMyDroid

    TisMyDroid Super Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2011
    Messages:
    6,253
    Likes Received:
    1,799
    Trophy Points:
    393
    Location:
    Central New York
    Ratings:
    +2,018
    Current Phone Model:
    Samsung Note 3
    If you happen to get stuck in a boot loop (like I did) it can drain your battery fast and also be stuck where it is un-chargeable...so being fully charged allows you enough battery in case you make a mistake there is enough to get you to a point where you can charge.
     
  7. joshxdroid

    joshxdroid Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2012
    Messages:
    1,069
    Likes Received:
    56
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Minnesota
    Ratings:
    +56
    Ok. Understand. :) thanks
     
  8. Spyder5157

    Spyder5157 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2011
    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    I DID IT !!!!!!!

    Well...LOL....Right after I claimed to not be a total 'Noob' in my last post, I realized I made the Noob of all Noob mistakes on my last attempt.....

    I DID NOT Have 'USB Debugging' enabled for that last attempt (To root while the phone is in fastboot)......lol...So, sorry for that mis-information.

    Just to summarize what happened, the ongoing issues, and where I am right now:

    1. IT DOES HAVE "SU" INSTALLED, and running w/o apparant issue (Obviously, I just did it, so I have not had a chance to play around, but I busted open a couple "Root Required" apps, and the opened up w/o issue.....SO, THE ROOT WAS SUCCESSFUL

    2. HOW: I powered OFF the phone, hit Vol -/+/Pwr., to enter the menu. Selected "Fastboot"
    Left the phone in fastboot, and ran the "Batman" utility. At this point, I was concerned that the multiple 'Restarts' of the phone would hinder the process, as a
    a regular reboot, would bring it to it's regular status (Not in fastboot), and ?Mess up?(lack of a better word) the process, since the device mgr. drivers would be
    gone. BUT: All the restarts went w/o issue, and the Batman utility stated, 'Exploit completed successfully'

    3. Remaining Issue (Bug up my A$^): WHY?? WHY?? WHY?? When the phone is connected, MUST it be in "Fastboot" for the REQUIRED 'Stuff' to be put in the Device Mgr?
    This is a very sensitive area, there is NO WAY for the phone to communicate properly with the PC, it appears to me that right at the top of Device Mgr. you see:
    "Android Phone", and under that 'Android Composite ADB Interface'

    *** NOW FOR THE REAL CRAZY - TOTALLY UNEXPLAINABLE THING: NOW THAT IT'S ROOTED, When the phone boots normally (While connected to the PC, but NOT into fastboot)........NOW it puts that "Android Phone" into the Device Manager (Again, w/o going into fastboot)...LOL...What a kick in the A$%.
    Really it was a proverbial Catch 22: I needed it to boot and put that in Device Mgr to boot, in order for me to root.......BUT, it needed to be rooted to put that in there......LMAO....Explain that one, I think I'll put up a cash prize...lol.......

    SO: Right now: Rooted, Success, ADB Interface is installed during the standard boot process.

    Anyway, as I said, I decided to do this w/ this phone, BUT, I am going to get the refurb (This actually is a refurb, as I had an issue once before where it was TOTALLY JAMMED in fastboot, they did see it was rooted, BUT, guessed it was a false positive on their end, so I got the new one), so as mentioned the new is on the way, I figured, if I'm going to mess one up, it should be the one I'm sending back, so I have a day or two to really try some crazy stuff, w/o fear.

    Well everyone....Again, I SINCERELY APPRECIATE EVERYTHING, REALLY !!!!! It is times like this where I just LOVE the forums. I actually served as a MOD on another Android forum (A prepaid Android forum, before I went over to VZW I was on Cricket, but darn them w/o 4G, which is something I'm unwilling to sacrifice).

    IF there are any questions about what I did that I may have left out, I would be happy to answer, maybe help somebody in the future?

    Last thing about this: I am VERY curious if the new one will install the REQUIRED drivers, like this one did not......Since, clearly something is wrong w/ the firmware or something, since I'm getting that "Dead" Android guy (BTW: You were right that hitting Vol +/- DID bring up the blue menu.....BUT, still a Dead Android w/ a RED Triangle and !!!....SOMETHING IS UP???

    CONCLUSION: I know that I have a tendency to really go on and on....I apologize, but like said, better to give all the detail than too little.....that said, for those who needed to print my posts for a trip to the Shi#%$er THANK YOU.

    ONE LAST QUESTION: I could have sworn that I saw that there was an option w/ the new SuperUser, to do a "Full UN-ROOT"

    This is the first time I used the Batman utility to Root, I don't want to, but for the future, HOW DO I UNROOT?? I will look, I may just need to find the option? But figured I would toss this out there for now. Really it makes no difference now, not like a short time ago, where you could unroot to return the device, now they know the instant you do it (Moto had the capability for a long while, but did not report to VZW, only in the last couple months VZW announced that they would have the capability)

    Off topic, but since Moto cracked and is allowing unlocking of the bootloader, (although NOT for the original Razr (Mine)...crap....but for the Maxx HD, M, and several others)....VZW said that if found w/ unlocked you would be removed from the network...ugh....this is crazy, since they have other phones that have been unlocked from the start, and others that were easily unlocked...They claim due to the enabling of you to break FCC rules....(Changing radio stuff, etc...), stupid excuse.

    SO, THANKS AGAIN......I just leave w/ the FINAL question: How do you unroot ? No big deal here, I will play w/ it and probably figure it out, but just thought I would toss it in here since it's on my mind.

    THANK YOU ALL !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! I know I keep saying that, but I am sincere, and know from the other end how it is, so your time is greatly valued by me, and how fast you were willing to jump in really was great. I have been flipping between this and one other forum, trying to find a nice new home, after this, I am convinced I will be around here in the future.

    ALL MY BEST....S / Jeff
     
  9. TisMyDroid

    TisMyDroid Super Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2011
    Messages:
    6,253
    Likes Received:
    1,799
    Trophy Points:
    393
    Location:
    Central New York
    Ratings:
    +2,018
    Current Phone Model:
    Samsung Note 3
    Whoo goo, celebrate! Yes ha!

    To answer one of your questions. For me the easiest way to unroot is to use option 1 to put it back to stock. You can also use voodoo rootkeeper but that is more useful if you just want to temporarily go back to stock.
     
  10. Spyder5157

    Spyder5157 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2011
    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thanks.....It was just that the SU version that was used in the method from "DroidRazrRoot", had an option right in there...."Full UnRoot" and I was wondering if this had the same? Weird, I thought that SU was SU, but apparently, there are different versions, I guess depending on the dev?

    As far as this one from Batman, there appears to be a clone of VooDoo built in, as in the menu is a check box for temp unroot, or root save or something like that...

    About going back to option 1, thank you, and much appreciated....S/Jeff

    BTW: Since, I have tested out the latest (v3.05) version of Safestrap, and partitioned out 3 different ROM slots, and was amazed it really is a multi-boot tool. I was thinking it was going to have to do a flash for each, but it just simply boots right into your selection (Does eat quite a bit of your internal storage thou).

    Anyway.....THANKS AGAIN....I'll have to report back if the re-furb does in fact put those drivers into dev. mgr. w/o having to go to fastboot, like it does after rooted, but really no matter, since thanks to all the help, this method seems to work just fine.

    THANKS AGAIN.....Spyder/Jeff
     
  11. TisMyDroid

    TisMyDroid Super Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2011
    Messages:
    6,253
    Likes Received:
    1,799
    Trophy Points:
    393
    Location:
    Central New York
    Ratings:
    +2,018
    Current Phone Model:
    Samsung Note 3
    You're welcome! Have fun with it spyder :)
     
  12. Spyder5157

    Spyder5157 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2011
    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    TisMY......Just a quick msg to say Thank You, and that as I said, since I got the Droid, I have really been flipping on the Forums, and not found a "Home", as I like to really participate. As I mentioned, I've been a Mod on unleashedprepaids , I still play around there, but really I can help quite a bit, but honestly there isn't much for me there anymore...Really, I loved Cricket, never had any problems, but they don't have 4G here, and I was able to get onto VZW w/ my friend who has 5 phones on the account, so I only pay about what I was paying Cricket (apx $50), not the 100+, so it was a no-brainer.

    Anyway, all my flipping between the forums, I was never really able to 'settle' someplace, since this thread, I CLEARLY see that it's a great forum, and being specific to the Droid, makes it even better....SO...I thank you for that, and hope to be seeing you around..

    Let's just hope that the seeing around isn't always in your "Rescue" hat.....lol....

    Thanks again, and looking forward to really playing w/ this thing much more now.

    All my best, and you have a great day.....Jeff
     
Search tags for this page

adb won't find device

,
adb won't see my device
,
computer won't display phone as adb
,

droid razr m adb drivers

,

droid razr maxx adb driver

,
enable adb mode razr maxx
,
install adb usb driver for droid razr maxx
,
motorola razr maxx adb drivers
,
razr m adb
,

razr m adb drivers