Help a n00bie out? :)

Discussion in 'Liberty ROM D2' started by itsmontoya, Jan 29, 2011.

  1. itsmontoya

    itsmontoya New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2011
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi all! I've been looking into installing a rom on my Droid2 for quite some time now. I'm absolutely sick of the bloatware!

    Could someone direct me to a tutorial on the process of installing Liberty ROM?

    I'm sure this has been asked before, I greatly apologize if you read this a lot! I'll be searching around in the meantime.
     
  2. itsmontoya

    itsmontoya New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2011
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Rut roh! Might have done something wrong here.

    - I rooted my phone
    - Used the Droid2 Bootstrapper
    - Installed from the ZIP file using the Droid2 Bootstrapper Bootloader
    - It said that the Liberty2 Rom installed successfully so I chose the "Reboot option"
    - Now I'm stuck at the Liberty Logo, which occasionally does a 360.

    Any ideas?
     
  3. trook

    trook Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2010
    Messages:
    616
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Lake Elsinore Ca
    Ratings:
    +0
    The instructions are on the liberty rom thread. If you need button by button and step by step instructions go to the hacking rom install class thread located in the droid 2 hacks section, links to boostrap and instructions are there. Happy flashing!

    Sent from my DROID2 using DroidForums App
     
  4. trook

    trook Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2010
    Messages:
    616
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Lake Elsinore Ca
    Ratings:
    +0
    Give it about 5 whole minutes before freaking out. Its very hard to permanently damage your phone. All you can really do is create more work for yourself.

    Sent from my DROID2 using DroidForums App
     
  5. itsmontoya

    itsmontoya New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2011
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thanks for the advise. I'm pretty calm at the moment, just started laughing when I noticed it was acting funky. I'll let it sit here for another 5 min and see if anything changes.
     
  6. trook

    trook Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2010
    Messages:
    616
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Lake Elsinore Ca
    Ratings:
    +0
    Did you wipe cache / data and more importantly did you mount system?

    Sent from my DROID2 using DroidForums App
     
  7. itsmontoya

    itsmontoya New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2011
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I think I forgot this step:
    "-select "wipe data/factory reset"

    :| woops
     
  8. trook

    trook Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2010
    Messages:
    616
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Lake Elsinore Ca
    Ratings:
    +0
    Well we'll see, if it just keeps looping we'll figure it out from there.

    Sent from my DROID2 using DroidForums App
     
  9. itsmontoya

    itsmontoya New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2011
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I booted to the recovery mode (X+Power ON) and cleared the cache. When I rebooted, the Liberty logo did a 360 once and then went to an "Android" simple animation.

    30 seconds later I was logging into my google account :].

    thanks for the help!
     
  10. trook

    trook Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2010
    Messages:
    616
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Lake Elsinore Ca
    Ratings:
    +0
    no problem, once you get going go to the market and download the newest version of liberty toolbox. You'll like it.
     
  11. jeagolf

    jeagolf Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2010
    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    I have the same problem of the liberty logo just going in circles, but I did do the clear data prior, and I can not get it to boot now into recover mode?? thoughts??
     
  12. itsmontoya

    itsmontoya New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2011
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Holding down the 'X' on the physical keyboard and the power button until the Android logo with an exclamation point appears doesn't work?

    I had to take out my battery to get the phone to turn off during the looping process.

    I'll be checking in on this thread throughout the day to help you out as best I can buddy.