HELP! 2.2 Clockwork Recovery

Discussion in 'Android Tech Support' started by JonTX311, Jul 21, 2010.

  1. JonTX311

    JonTX311 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2010
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hey guys I installed 2.2 today, eveything was working fine.. using the droid-life instructions. Well I had SPreovery install with nandroid backup, i ended up downloading ROM manager to install and ROM and its totally jacked me up, i am stuck on the motorola screen. If i can get a SPrecover i can do a nandroid recovery, i have it on my SD card but its saying in clockworkmod recovery that there are no nandroid recoveries.

    i've tried doing wipe/data and factory reset and it doesnt work :(
     
  2. JonTX311

    JonTX311 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2010
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I try to reinstall the sapphire 2.2 file and it says Wlecome to Sapphire 0.7.0 Droid, assert fail: !less than_int
    error in /sdcard/update.zip status 7 installatoin aborted.
     
  3. JP 5.56

    JP 5.56 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2010
    Messages:
    592
    Likes Received:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +10
    As far as I can tell, the nandroid backups you make in Sprecovery wont work in clockwork recovery.

    From what I understand, there is some issue installing Sapphire using the latest version of clockwork. You didn't happen to make a backup using Rom manager did you? That would be the easiest way to get back into a working condition.

    I'm pretty new to all this but the only thing I can think of is using RSD/ and an .sbf file to get back to a 2.1 with Sprecovery, then you can flash your nandroid backup through that, or rename your sapphire zip to update.zip and install it using sprecovery
     
  4. mwhartman

    mwhartman Super Moderator/RS
    Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2010
    Messages:
    10,737
    Likes Received:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    453
    Location:
    South FL
    Ratings:
    +12
    I'm unclear so let me see this is the status of your phone

    1. You installed a 2.2 rom
    2. You had SPRecovery flashed and made a backup
    3. You downloaded RM
    4. You used RM to download and install a rom
    5. Now you're stuck in a boot loop
    6. You want to boot into SPRecovery
    7. Clockwork says there are no nandroid recoveries.


    Is the above correct?

    Lets go in reverse order.

    Clockwork will not look in your Nandroid folder for backups. Backups created with Clockwork are stored on your SD card in a folder named clcokworkmod.

    In the last sentence of you post you indicate that Clockwork recovery is indicating. What I'm unclear on is how you are getting to Clockwork while stuck in a boot loop.

    Since you made a backup with SPR you need to boot into SPRecovery. Power off, pull your battery and wait for a minute before reinserting. Try to power on by opening your slider and pressing your "X" key and power at the same time.

    Let us know if you are successful

    Mike
     
  5. JP 5.56

    JP 5.56 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2010
    Messages:
    592
    Likes Received:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +10
    If he has clockwork recovery installed on the phone how can he boot into Sprecovery with out flashing it first? Am I missing something?
     
  6. mwhartman

    mwhartman Super Moderator/RS
    Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2010
    Messages:
    10,737
    Likes Received:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    453
    Location:
    South FL
    Ratings:
    +12
    I reacted to this sentence in the OP
    "Hey guys I installed 2.2 today, eveything was working fine.. using the droid-life instructions. Well I had SPreovery install with nandroid backup"

    If he had flashed it is still there, unless he deleted it!
     
  7. JP 5.56

    JP 5.56 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2010
    Messages:
    592
    Likes Received:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +10
    I think the issue is that his phone wont boot but he can get into Clockwork Recovery, but since it does not see his nandroid files from Sprecovery, he can't recover to a working phone.

    I think we need to get him from Clockwork back to Sprecovery...

    I guess we wait until he posts again to find out for sure.
     
  8. mwhartman

    mwhartman Super Moderator/RS
    Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2010
    Messages:
    10,737
    Likes Received:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    453
    Location:
    South FL
    Ratings:
    +12
    That is what I'm trying to clarify and assess so I apologize if I did a poor job of asking the status of his phone.

    I may be wrong but I believe that the first time you flash CW and do anything with it it automatically makes a backup. Hopefully that is the case.

    If he is unable to boot into SPR but able to boot into Clockwork then he should be able to restore that initial backup. If, however, I'm incorrect and there are no backups in the clockworkmod file I believe the next may be to use SBF and start over.

    We do need to wait for the OP to reply.

    Mike
     
  9. JonTX311

    JonTX311 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2010
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    that is correct i am in boot looop.

    when i hold X and power it goes into clockwork recovery.

    i didnt create an RM backup :(
     
  10. mwhartman

    mwhartman Super Moderator/RS
    Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2010
    Messages:
    10,737
    Likes Received:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    453
    Location:
    South FL
    Ratings:
    +12
    Thanks for the clarification. I use SPR not CW so my reply and question may be off center.

    So you used CW to look at our clockworkmod file and there are no backups in that folder?

    Mike
     
  11. JP 5.56

    JP 5.56 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2010
    Messages:
    592
    Likes Received:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +10
    I don't remember CW making an automatic backup the first time, pretty sure you have to manually tell it to make a backup, both in recovery and in Rom Manager.
     
  12. mwhartman

    mwhartman Super Moderator/RS
    Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2010
    Messages:
    10,737
    Likes Received:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    453
    Location:
    South FL
    Ratings:
    +12
    Yes the OP confirmed I was wrong. Sorry for the misstatement.
     
Search tags for this page

clockworkmod recovery 2.2.2

,

droid 2 clockwork recovery