Hello, I'm New to the Droid

BTRay

Reaction score
I ordered a Droid X from Verizon this morning. I have been using a Pantech 820 that was probably made before most of you were born. I've heard many good things about the Android system. My family has been using Verizon for at least a decade. I'm retired but I still use Outlook as though I was working. Now I have the REALLY important things in my calendar such as meet wife for lunch, take out the trash, unload dishwasher, etc. I have been using Outlook Notes for a long time as well, though I'd like to switch to OneNote 2010. I have everything in notes from the shopping list at the local hardware store, to the books I have from my favorite authors (so I don't by a second copy), to jazz wanted, 60s rock wanted, etc. I still have maybe 3000 contacts, mostly my former engineering students. My greatest fear is how to sync this stuff to the Droid. A younger friend with a Droid suggested that I will need to become more "Google-ized" to sync my stuff.

All help would be appreciated,

Bill

Wuzz Ranger

Reaction score
First, welcome Bill, you have come to the right spot. Google and Android are a beautiful thing together. You will need to get "Google-ized" though. Outlook will not sync with the Droid X.

furbearingmammal

Super Moderator
Reaction score
Website
swdouglas.blogspot.com
Current Phone Model
32GB Moto X Developers Edition
Twitter
furryvarmint
:welcome: to the forum!

Standard rules apply:

Play nice. No flames. Keep it clean. Keep it family friendly. Don’t double-post. Don't feed the Mods, SMods, or Admins. They'll follow you home if you do, so really, it's for your own protection. (And do you really want to explain to your loved ones that, no matter how cute he or she is, you really want to keep them?)

So, glad to have you on board! Have fun! :)