Hello, i'm looking to get into a new rom here is what i need.

Discussion in 'Droid X Roms' started by vancouverbluz, Nov 16, 2011.

  1. vancouverbluz
    Offline

    vancouverbluz New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2011
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I want to eliminate the bloat that my 605 had, but i want to be able to import all of my settings including verizon contacts that i store on their cloud, and my sdcard saved call logs and text messeges and calender data. I tried cyanogen7 and it was a total nightmare. I loved the the speed as well as the power longevity, but i hated that i couldn't import my contacts! I also disliked that i wasn't able to sync up and browse my sdcard from my pc. I sbfed back to froyo, but I don't want to ota 605. I want something better without compromising what i had, my kindle book saves for instance. Another thing i disliked about cyanomod was that it was a nightly, I want something final and stable. I disliked that the notifications didn't show specific email info etc like 605 did. Please advise. Thanks
  2. leftspin
    Offline

    leftspin New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2011
    Messages:
    1,128
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    New Jersey
    SBF to .602 and give Liberty 3 a try, I think it would be perfect for you
  3. Nemo Aeternamn
    Offline

    Nemo Aeternamn Droid X Rescue Squad Rescue Squad Premium Member

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2011
    Messages:
    793
    Likes Received:
    13
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Mo-ab
    +1 to liberty... it's a great blur based rom... great battery life and just enough blur to keep what you want
  4. vancouverbluz
    Offline

    vancouverbluz New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2011
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Thanks, i appreciate it, i will be installing Lib3. I really liked the idea of gps working only when needed without my intervention - cyanomod. But i didn't like the social networking apps that stay resident in your memory-605 gb. Shouldn't i be able to install a boot loader and then load lib3 from froyo without having to sbf 602?
  5. leftspin
    Offline

    leftspin New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2011
    Messages:
    1,128
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    New Jersey
    Install a bootloader? Not sure what you mean by that..

    Since you're on .340 you have two options, SBF or all-in-one updater. You can flash the all-in-one in CWR and it will bring you up to the proper kernel but in my experience the cleanest and easiest way to do it in the long run is just flash the SBF
  6. Nemo Aeternamn
    Offline

    Nemo Aeternamn Droid X Rescue Squad Rescue Squad Premium Member

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2011
    Messages:
    793
    Likes Received:
    13
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Mo-ab
    No... No bootloader or kernel... Sadly the x has a locked bootloader... So we are unable to do fun things like that

    Post script: like left said.. Sbf is the cleanest and best (in my option)

    We have nothing to fear but running out of beer
  7. vancouverbluz
    Offline

    vancouverbluz New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2011
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Once again thanks for the valued info but couldn't I just do the ota605, root it and then install lib3?
  8. Nemo Aeternamn
    Offline

    Nemo Aeternamn Droid X Rescue Squad Rescue Squad Premium Member

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2011
    Messages:
    793
    Likes Received:
    13
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Mo-ab
    Yup.. You can.. The Droid 3 one click root will get ya rooted

    We have nothing to fear but running out of beer
  9. leftspin
    Offline

    leftspin New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2011
    Messages:
    1,128
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    New Jersey
    if you're on rooted froyo or have removed any bloatware you need to unroot and put those applications back or the OTA update will fail
  10. vancouverbluz
    Offline

    vancouverbluz New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2011
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Yea, i found that out the hard way, i sbfed to 602. Now i root and then bootload to liberty3v1.0.zip?
  11. leftspin
    Offline

    leftspin New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2011
    Messages:
    1,128
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    New Jersey
    root using the D3 One Click (you need a computer), then bootstrap using the Droid 2 bootstrapper, reboot into CWR and flash liberty3v1.0.zip
  12. vancouverbluz
    Offline

    vancouverbluz New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2011
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    When I do that it says(bad) installation aborted in recovery mode. That is after I've whiled cache and data factory reset. I also tried dovrak whipe
  13. leftspin
    Offline

    leftspin New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2011
    Messages:
    1,128
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    New Jersey
    sounds like you got a bad download then. Try downloading it again, make sure you wipe data, cache, and dalvik before you try to install (and doing it afterward doesn't hurt), and make sure you're downloading the right Liberty
  14. vancouverbluz
    Offline

    vancouverbluz New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2011
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Thanks! It runs great,this is the rom for life. One question,the 3g mobile hotspots in the applications menu is the one Verizon charges you for or is it the free one? When I entered it I didn't get any charge warning popups.
    Last edited: Nov 18, 2011